We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go enough to get the 6th one free!”

Surfing Monkey Shave Ice
Ranked #11 of 20 Dessert in Kihei
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Description: Located right next to FoodlandShave Ice Flavors:Wild Cherry * Pineapple * Tigers Blood * Blue Rasberry * Coconut * Root BeerStrawberry * Mango * Pink Bubble Gum * Banana * Guava * Blue VanillaGrape * Passionfruit * Malona * Lemon Lime * Pina Colada * Lychee * Watermelon * Li Hing Mui Small $4.00Large $6.00All syrups are made locally using raw sugar canefreeEXTRAS:Vanilla Ice Cream * Azuki Beans * Sweet Cream * Li Hing Powder * Chocolate Syrup
Kansas City, MO
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Go enough to get the 6th one free!”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

This Shave Ice stand is located next to the Foodland in Kihei. $4 for a small, $6 for an enormously large shave ice and you can have ice cream and the other free extras with it if you desire. If you sit to eat there, they have a handy little stand for the shave ice containers so you aren't trying to juggle the ice while you eat it. They make their syrups there, with local sugar cane syrup. I recommend the Surfing Monkey, which is Wild Cherry, Pina Colada, and Banana. Had time allowed for a return trip, I would have tried the Kona flavor. Best of all, they have a loyalty card, so after 5 purchases, you get the next one free. Sweet! As with most of these stands, bring cash because they don't take plastic.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jk_in_kc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    18
    6
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Rancho Palos Verdes, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our favorite place in Maui!!!”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

This place is the best!! All of their flavors are great and they have a lot of free extras. They have a buy 5 get one free card which is really nice!! Alison (who works evenings) is very friendly.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rollerbladechic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
allen
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Best shaved ice ever”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Oh my. We visited twice on our trip. These are huge first of all but you will want your own. They have a bunch of extras at no charge. All three kids ordered the exact same thing both times. They loved it. I decided to try the root beer with a free scoop of vanilla ice cream. Yummy. Tasted just like a root beer float. Don't forget your punch card.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank slkallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Shaved Ice!”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We saw a bunch of shaved ice places, including those from trucks on the side of the road. We decided to try the Surfing Monkey. It was well worth our visit. We loved the shaved ice and highly recommend it!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank langaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Real shaved ice”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We tried a couple of "shaved ice" places before finding this gem. Surfing Monkey impressed our whole group and we came back multiple times throughout our trip. The owner was even hanging out and chatting with people (awesome british accent) and he took our picture for the Facebook page which was cool. We'll be back whenever we're in town!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank kdb22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Surfing Monkey Shave Ice also viewed

 

Been to Surfing Monkey Shave Ice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing