We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay”
Review of Kihei Kai Nani

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kihei Kai Nani
Ranked #48 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
Reviewed December 22, 2013

We rented directly from the owner, though I'm sure working through the website is fine too. We love the Kihei area, so we were thrilled to rent a condo here. It's centrally located to everything we love.

I understand units vary but the unit we rented, #318, was excellent. It was stocked with lots of towels and beach toys (if you have kids) and even some beach chairs! It was so much more comfortable than staying in hotel. When we return to Maui this will be the first place we look.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Megan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    91
    24
    21
    13
See reviews for
57
100
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bellevue, WA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

Have stayed at Kihei Kai Nani every year for the past 6-7 yrs and have always found it to be a perfect base for exploring Maui. The complex itself is quiet at night. This is NOT your party-hearty site! Amenities vary by unit -some have been updated more recently than others so check the photos on the website. (In my experience, buildings 7 & 8 have some of the best breezes so stay cooler without having to turn on any AC.) Location of this complex is great: right across the street from one of the best swimming beaches on Maui, a good restaurant than offers two-for-one breakfasts right next door & a fabulous cinnamon roll place right next the other door. Staff are always pleasant & really helpful. Make you feel like part of the family, whether you book thru them or thru the individual owners. Best news: The whole complex is now non-smoking (yay!) and they just installed new wifi in all units and down next to the pool. Compared to other more expensive condos in Kihei, KKN is a sweetheart of a deal.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank Cedars2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

Updated condo with Murphy bed instead of a pullout couch!!

Fairly clean unit (carpet needs cleaning), great location behind office & near pool, quiet, and rock star air conditioning.

Pros: Perfect for handicap because it's a first floor unit with no tub to climb into & grab bar in the shower.
Blow dryer, flat iron, ironing board & iron available.
Fully stocked kitchen with everything you could possibly need.
Comfortable firm Murphy Bed.
Plenty of snorkel gear, boogie boards, chairs, noodles, toys, etc for beach play.
Beautiful homey decor.


Cons: not enough available outlets so bring a strip outlet or two.
Bedroom stays fairly warm but ceiling & tabletop fan help.
Not enough beach towels (only 2), so bring your own.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wenonah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rainbow, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

My wife and I just returned from a 5 week stay on Maui at the Kihei Kai Nani. We rented #274 in Building 9 and what a great place....clean, bright, air conditioned and newly remodeled. The owner was very easy to work with and the value cannot be beat. The location is quiet, except for the birds, and the green belt view off the very private lani gives you the feel of being in a different world. Everything was fantastic.

Room Tip: Check out the owners website at ownersmaui.com and view #274 pics.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Awholesaler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, BC Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We were very pleased with our stay in Unit #215 at Kihei Kai Nani. This unit was newly renovated & beautifully furnished with a modern tropical theme & open concept. It is a 1 bedroom/1 bath condo. The bedroom is spacious with a king size bed & the living room has a queen sofa sleeper. Perfect for a family or couple to stay in. There is a flat screen tv in the living room and a 2nd flat screen tv in the bedroom. The large lanai/patio faces a lovely garden courtyard which was nice to relax on. We found our stay to be very quiet. The complex has a large swimming pool & BBQ facilities. Directly across the street is Kamaole Beach 2 where you can have long walks on the beach, play in the water and watch the amazing sunsets in the evening. The location is excellent with several shops and restaurants within in walking distance & it is only a 20 min drive from Kahului airport. This is central Kihei where everyone wants to stay. We can’t wait to book this unit again the next time we visit Maui.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Barb P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We spent a huge amount of time researching which unit to stay in and while there were some nice aspects of our stay we found the bedroom of this unit to be almost unbearably hot. It was not air conditioned and the promised trade winds that were supposed to cool the space died down by the time we were ready for sleep. So we had to use both the ceiling fan, box fan, and a table fan and were still hot. You could feel a rise in temperature that was palpable as you walked from living room to bedroom.

The place was stocked with everything that one could need. We found that the fridge was broken on the first day. The condo management company allowed us to put our food in the fridge in another unit overnight and had it fixed the next day. I was upset that the owners didn't contact us about this problem which was a huge inconvinience but it was acceptable.

The grounds were pleasant and the beach across the street was beautiful.

Room Tip: Pick a lower floor for a cooler room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank SaraBeth8446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

#253 is by far the dirtiest and most disgusting place I have ever stayed in my life. I took my wife and kids here and was horrified at the condition of the place. We had to pay a cleaning deposit but it was obvious this place hadn't been cleaned in a long time. The entire place is very outdated and just plain broken. There was dirt and dust all over the floor and built up on the molding (what little molding there was). There were large dust balls that rolled out from under the bed when you walk past. There was even an old pair of socks and a old bag of clothes under the bed! Who knows how long those have been there? One of the pillows on the bed had a giant rip in it with stuffing coming out. The clean "pillow cases" given were actually just dust covers. I guess someone doesn't know what pillow cases are. The entire floor is old tile with different colors of grout and in some places...No grout at all. Lots of the floor doesn't have molding at the side and this makes for a wonderful home to the native bugs.

The shower had grime on every surface it could have. You have to wash your feet after standing in the shower. It had more stains in the shower than you could imagine.

We had to wear socks on our feet the entire time because of the filthy floors. We were even constantly wiping our socks off on the rugs so we wouldn't have to "feel" the dirt constantly.

One of the windows in the bedroom doesn't close all the way (maybe because it's older than my whole family put together) and one of the screens on the living room window was ripped very badly. When we finally dared to go back into the condo to sleep one night we had just laid down when a termite decided to visit. That's right...a termite. I guess I should take the time to mention one good thing about this condo...there was a magazine on the table to kill all the bugs with. So I killed the termite and decided to pretend it never happend so I could try to get some sleep.

This condo is rented out by Violet Schimd. We called her to notify her of the condition of her condo which is supposedly her "second home." She asked for details from my wife about how dirty it was. When my wife started giving her details she became very defensive and started attacking my wife's character and insinuated she was a liar and said she was "being way too picky." We simply wanted our cleaning deposit back because it wasn't clean and she went nuts. I can honestly say she had the worst customer service I have ever experienced and had no people skills. Instead of listening to her client's concerns and complaints she shot back at us each time we said something. Wasn't only rude but just plain mean to my wife. She has a magnet on the fridge that says she loves referrals and it's probably because she nevers gets them. She says she has been in this business for 39 years but truely has yet to learn the customer service aspect of it. I would never consider renting from her again and keep in mind that units 200, 201, and 253 are all hers.

On the positive side of things we have stayed in Kihei Kai Nani in the past and the grounds, pool, staff, and other room we have seen are all excellent. It's too bad that one bad apple can ruin an otherwise wonderful trip.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Will A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kihei hotels
0.1 mi away
Kihei Akahi
Kihei Akahi
#28 of 62 in Kihei
304 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hale Kamaole
Hale Kamaole
#26 of 62 in Kihei
188 reviews
0.2 mi away
Maui Banyan Condos
Maui Banyan Condos
#29 of 62 in Kihei
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Kihei Kai Oceanfront Condos
0.6 mi away
Maui Vista Resort
Maui Vista Resort
#20 of 62 in Kihei
295 reviews
0.6 mi away
Maui Kamaole
Maui Kamaole
#4 of 62 in Kihei
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kihei Kai Nani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kihei Kai Nani

Property: Kihei Kai Nani
Address: 2495 S Kihei Rd, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-8625
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kihei Kai Nani 3.5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you arrive to Maui you deserve the best and pay the least for the best deal.........Kihei Kai Nani is just that, Best location, best deal out there for this gem in South Kihei Join our stimulus plan from $89 a night The famous book Maui Revealed has given us a gold bar value......that tells you something right there! Call us anytime, we are open 7 days a week 1 877 628 4482 Maui Hawaii Vacations or Maui Coast Condo ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Kihei Kai Nani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kihei Kai Nani Hotel Kihei
Kihei Kai Nani Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing