We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Hale Pau Hana
Nearby Hotels
$332
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$228
$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kamaole Sands(Kihei)(Great Value!)
$213
$178
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$294
AscendHotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mana Kai Maui(Kihei)
$570
$214
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$193
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$225
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$174
Hotelpower.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (301)
Filter reviews
301 results
Traveler rating
191
84
13
8
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
191
84
13
8
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsacross the streetthe kitchenamazing fishliving roomlawn chairsbedroom doorbeautiful beachamazing locationwouldn't stay anywhere elsekam iicondo resortfirst floorsliderssound of the waveskihei areaproperty managementgrassy area
Filter
Updating list...
238 - 243 of 301 reviews
Reviewed June 3, 2007

We just returned from our third visit to Hale Pau Hana and have already booked another visit. We have found it to be a wonderful place to stay every visit. Love the convenience of choosing which unit we want by viewing them online. Again we had an immaculate, upscale, updated unit. We found it very clean and well equipted with everything we needed including a boogie board and beach chairs.

The grounds are so well kept and we enjoyed the Hawaiian entertainment on Tuesday nights. You cannot get any closer to the ocean, just steps to a wonderful beach. The sunsets were wonderful. We will return again and again...

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank ebenjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2007

The positives are Housekeeping (very sweet & hardworking), outside grounds are beautiful and of course having an ocean front room. But it's a BIG trade off.
The property managers had us staying in one room and moving to another the second day. I would have been ok with this however we couldn't move until 11AM and had to be out of the old room by 2PM so we lost a good portion of our second day. They didn't offer to help us move and worse yet moved us from a nice room unit #15 to #19 which was horrible. All units are separately owned.
All of the bedrooms have a motion detector timer on their air conditioners which turn off after 10 mins. Don't plan on sleeping with it on or cooling off the room. Besides the humidity, the bedroom had a lot of road noise so we slept in the living which made the quarters a little cramped.
The room was is in poor condition; desperate need of a paint job, ironically there is paint in the musty smelling closet. The wallpaper was dirty and stained and separating from the wall. The wood vanity in the bathroom is splintered and cracked in several places. Bathroom tub looks rusty and there's no fan.
The property has 3 grills 1 (closest to us) was broken the entire time the other 2 in constant use.
For what we paid, we could have gotten a lot more bang for our buck. I gave a 2 because the grounds deserve something.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank jcssugar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2006

This was our first visit to Hale Pau Hana, and I cannot say enough wonderful things about the condo. Our specific unit, 302, was fabulous--all tile, clean, comfortable. The view from the lanai was gorgeous. We sat out on the lawn every afternoon and relaxed, watched the ocean, had a drink, and it was our favorite part of the trip. The beach is good for swimming, snorkeling, and walking. The sunsets are out of this world. We saw a wedding out on the beach at sunset last Sunday. The barbecue grills out on the lawn were big and clean. You can just see how much effort is put into maintaining this property every day. Lawn is mowed, hedges trimmed, sidewalks swept. We would never stay anywhere else in Maui. Loved it, loved it, loved it.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank arkpam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2006

We stayed at the Hale Pau Hana from July 12-18, 2006 and found it to be most enjoyable. We were in unit 503 and had fantastic views from our lanai. The room was clean and was decorated very nicely (the carpet could have used a cleaning though) but everything else was great. We were just steps away from a very nice uncrowded beach that doesn't stink like seaweed like San Diego beaches. Everything is close by for shopping, and a couple of cozy restaurants--Moose Mcgillicuddy's and Fred's Mexican restaurant is within a block of Hale Pau Hana. The staff was great and friendly, especially Kaspar, who makes you feel at home the minute you get there. You can't miss with the Hale Pau Hana !!!

Stayed: July 2006
6  Thank ddfatcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2006

Just got back from Maui this morning after spending 7 days at the Hale Pau Hana. I found it to be a very clean and well taken care of place with a location that is as perfect as you can get. We stayed in unit 701 in the tower and loved having meals out on the balcony (Lanai) It's the sunset view that all the resturants advertise but don't really have. The sounds of the ocean were there all day and night. The beach was clean and the surf was milder there than a lot of the other beaches we checked out in south Maui. The snorkeling around the rocks right in front of the place was in my opinion better than Molokini crater. It had more and a greater varity of fish. The rocks on the south end of Kamaole II were even better. It was wonderful.

They had some coin washers available in a room downstairs. Also in that room was a shelf with a bunch of used paperback books that had been left behind by others.See somthing you like go ahead and read it. If this sort of thing seems tacky to you then you would probably be happier someplace in Wailea or Ka'anapalii. I felt very comfortable there, everyone on the staff was very frendly and helpful.

I recommend it

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Brad019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews