We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The views were awesome!”
Review of The Hale Pau Hana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Hale Pau Hana
Ranked #2 of 61 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 13, 2006

We stayed at the Hale Pau Hana from July 12-18, 2006 and found it to be most enjoyable. We were in unit 503 and had fantastic views from our lanai. The room was clean and was decorated very nicely (the carpet could have used a cleaning though) but everything else was great. We were just steps away from a very nice uncrowded beach that doesn't stink like seaweed like San Diego beaches. Everything is close by for shopping, and a couple of cozy restaurants--Moose Mcgillicuddy's and Fred's Mexican restaurant is within a block of Hale Pau Hana. The staff was great and friendly, especially Kaspar, who makes you feel at home the minute you get there. You can't miss with the Hale Pau Hana !!!

Stayed: July 2006
6  Thank ddfatcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (291)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

233 - 239 of 291 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2006

Just got back from Maui this morning after spending 7 days at the Hale Pau Hana. I found it to be a very clean and well taken care of place with a location that is as perfect as you can get. We stayed in unit 701 in the tower and loved having meals out on the balcony (Lanai) It's the sunset view that all the resturants advertise but don't really have. The sounds of the ocean were there all day and night. The beach was clean and the surf was milder there than a lot of the other beaches we checked out in south Maui. The snorkeling around the rocks right in front of the place was in my opinion better than Molokini crater. It had more and a greater varity of fish. The rocks on the south end of Kamaole II were even better. It was wonderful.

They had some coin washers available in a room downstairs. Also in that room was a shelf with a bunch of used paperback books that had been left behind by others.See somthing you like go ahead and read it. If this sort of thing seems tacky to you then you would probably be happier someplace in Wailea or Ka'anapalii. I felt very comfortable there, everyone on the staff was very frendly and helpful.

I recommend it

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Brad019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2006

I would not recommend staying at this property...especially Unit 11. My husband and I were just in Maui this June 2006 and had booked a room at Hale Pau Hana. When we got to our hotel we were disappointed to see how run down the entire property was and the grounds were not well kept. Upon entering our room we found a 5 inch dead cockroach in the middle of the living room! As well, there was a large hole in the wall behind the television and the appliances had not been replaced since the building was built in the 1960's. We had read one bad review before we booked and we should have listened! We then proceeded to call the condo rental office to see if we could stay somewhere else. They took us to show us a room at the Hale Kamaole.....we found 2 dead cockroaches!!! We have visited Maui a few times previously and never had this problem. We usually stay at Maui Kamaole which is a much nicer place! We would also recommend checking out the Marriot in Wailea or the Elua Villiage in Wailea.

11  Thank Kolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2006

We stayed at the Hale Pau Hana Resort, Kihei Maui in May of 2006.
We have made over 20 trips to the Hawaiian Islands and enjoy Maui the most. We have rented directly from resorts and from private owners. We have stayed in Hotels, Condos and Homes. Our recent trip was most enjoyable, however...we were disapointed in the condo unit we rented. We located the rental through the internet and worked with the owner directly. We paid just $10 under the nightly going rate. Upon arriving we discovered old food in the refrigerator, dirty and stained carpets, mold in the bathroom, torn furniture and un cleaned linens on one of the beds. Also, the owner had boasted about ample supplies and no need for anything. There was only one complete set of towels - not even enough for two people. Since the owner did not participate in the front office rental pool, we could not ask for more towels, or have the cleaning staff make a return trip. As we enjoyed our "outside" time at the Hale Pau Hana, we witnessed the attention to detail and the pride that the staff showed in all areas - especially the cleaning staff. All of the other units recieved a very good cleaning, including windows, railings, outside floors, etc. We also witnessed everyone enjoying their nice new large blue beach towels and matching towels in their units and around the pool.
We will most likely stay at the Hale Pau Hana again, however, will make sure not to rent unit # 28 and book directly through the front office or a legitimate rental agency.

21  Thank lovemauigoingback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
runmaui, Owner of Unit #28 at The Hale Pau Hana, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2008

Aloha,
This is in response to the bad review for our unit #28. We are sorry our guest had a bad experience 2 years ago. It was unfortunate that our maid forgot to clean the unit before our guests arrived. She has been replaced with an excellent housekeeper. Our unit has individual private WiFi to connect to the internent and a 44" Sony flat screen TV that provides high definition programs and expanded cable programming. We have a new kitchen counter, new pillowtop bed, and rolldown blinds that maximize our ocean view. Our end unit location is the closest to the beach without any obstructions to the view of the ocean and has a bonus side window with another view down the beach and out to Molokini.

Our unit is very individualized, without a cookie-cutter ambiance, and is very attractive to our repeat visitors. Our maid is instructed to leave the leftover beer, sodas, spices, rum, mayo, butter, etc., in the unit for the next guests to decide if they want them, as opposed to each guest having to restock the unit upon arrival.

Our unit is usually $20-25 less per night than the units rented through the resort, as we do not provide towel service like they do on Monday-Wednesday-Friday. The resort staff does a top notch job on all of their units and provides entertainment for all guests and residents of Hale Pau Hana on Tuesday at sunset. In short, you cannot go wrong staying at Hale Pau Hana.

In regards to the grumping old people criticism mentioned in another negative posting and the burglary incident, each unit is provided with a safe and the grumpy old folks are drifting away or mellowing with age.
Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2006

We spent another fabulous vacation at Hale Pau Hana. What a wonderful complex located right on the ocean. We had a gorgeous completely renovated unit with a stainless and granite kitchen, beautiful furnishings, and all the little extras you might want including DVD player and CD player. The weekly hula show is wonderful at sunset right on the lawn, the grounds are impecable and the staff is helpful and friendly. Please remember this is a condominium complex so all units are individually owned and decorated. You can view the interiors at the website. There is no room service or restaurants so if you want that you need to stay in a hotel instead. We love it there and will return again next spring.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank hula40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
San Diego, CA
19
Reviewed June 10, 2006

We just returned from vacation at the Hale Pau Hana Resort and were very happy with our stay. As the hotel claims it really is right on the beach. It was really nice to be able to walk right out of the condo and onto the beach. If you stayed at one of the other places in South Kehei crossing the road would not be that big of a deal, but it was really great to be able to look out the window directly onto the beach. The pool is not a fancy pool like some of the big resorts, but if you're staying at a condo in Kehei none of the places have really fancy pools. There are a lot of resturants and shops directly across the street from Hale Pau Hana so it was easy to go pick up anything you wanted. Also two bars are in close walking distance. As for the condos, they were a lot larger than we expected. We had a party of 6 in 3 adjacent condos and everyone was happy with their room/condo.

My only complaint was not about the Hale Pau Hana Resort, but about south maui in general. We did not realize the afternoon winds kick up quite a bit in south maui. When we were in the Lahaina area the winds in the afternoon did not seem to be as strong. In Kehei, however, they could be pretty strong. The way the Hale Pau Hana Resort is angled the building tends to block a lot of the winds, but if you were in the ocean in front of the resort it did not.

If you want to go to Maui and explore the whole island I think the Hale Pau Hana Resort in kehei is a great place to stay because the condos are great, you're right on the beach, and it's easy to get around the island from there. If you want to go to Maui and just lay on the beach at your hotel all day I'd recommend looking into staying in the Kanapali area were the winds weren't as bad in the afternoon.

Two other tips I'd recommend are getting the guidebook Maui Revealed...it was great and the maps were really easy to read (they have every hotel on them...not just a selected few) and stopping at Costco just outside the airport to pick up food for your condo on your way to your hotel. The prices at Costco weren't that bad and it was really easy to find (you'll drive past it leaving the airport)...the prices at the local supermarkets were a lot higher.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2005

Happy Hale Pau Hana!! This resort is the best in Kihei! We have stayed there for over 10yrs. and look forward each year to visit this wonderful place. The scenery is so beautiful and ofcourse the sea and the gorgeous tropical flowers. The staff is friendly and helpful. One cannot but feel so happy and content at this great resort. Mahalo, Kathleen Moylett

5  Thank Seiko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kihei hotels
0.4 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,176 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mana Kai Maui
Mana Kai Maui
#3 of 61 in Kihei
538 reviews
0.8 mi away
Aston Maui Hill
Aston Maui Hill
#1 of 61 in Kihei
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Aston at the Maui Banyan
4.8 mi away
Sugar Beach Resort
Sugar Beach Resort
#4 of 61 in Kihei
631 reviews
3.6 mi away
Kohea Kai Resort Maui,
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hale Pau Hana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hale Pau Hana

Address: 2480 South Kihei Road, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-8630
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 61 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Price Range: $185 - $450 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hale Pau Hana 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome Home... You’re not just meant to visit — make it your home while you’re here. Cook eggs and bacon in the morning, BBQ fresh fish and mix drinks in the evening, dine on the lawn, blow the conch at sunset. Best Beach on Maui We’re uniquely situated on Kamaole II, the best beach on all of Maui (ask around). Don’t haul everything across the street or pack up and drive — just walk over the lawn to get there. A Family Experience For many, Hale Pau Hana is a family experience. Grandparents watch grandkids swim for the first time, couples get married on the beach, then bring the kids, have family reunions. We have guests and owners who have literally been returning to Hale Pau Hana for five generations. We’re honored to be more than a place to vacation — to be a part of their family and the memories they make together. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your The Hale Pau Hana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hale Pau Hana Hotel Kihei
Hale Pau Hana Kihei
The Hale Pau Hana Maui/Kihei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing