We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Hale Pau Hana
Nearby Hotels
$335
$322
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kamaole Sands(Kihei)(Great Value!)
$213
$178
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$193
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$177
$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$178
$159
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$294
AscendHotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mana Kai Maui(Kihei)
$570
$214
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (301)
Filter reviews
301 results
Traveler rating
191
84
13
8
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
191
84
13
8
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsacross the streetthe kitchenamazing fishliving roomlawn chairsbedroom doorbeautiful beachamazing locationwouldn't stay anywhere elsekam iicondo resortfirst floorsliderssound of the waveskihei areaproperty managementgrassy area
Filter
Updating list...
228 - 233 of 301 reviews
Reviewed May 17, 2009

This was our third time to stay here. My brother and his wife were staying here for their 7th time. Our parents were staying her eas well for at least their 20th time. On a positive note, the Hale Pau Hana has a fantastic location, directly on a clean, lava free beach. The grounds are immaculate. Considering there are resorts just down the road in Wailea charging three times the price and are not just steps from the beach, the Hale Pau Hana is a great place to stay.

Now for the negative. The units are all individually owned. As such, the quality of furnishings, age of the electronics, and overall condition of the units are up to the owners, not the management of the Hale Pau Hana. As the previous reviewer mentioned, Unit #204 is a great unit and my parents stayed there for three weeks. We however were not so lucky with Unit #302. Our unit seemed tired and dated and in need of an upgrade. It was clean but the kitchen appliances dated back to the early 80's and the electronics were antiquated by current standards.

Unit 701 should also be avoided at all costs. We stayed in that one two years ago and it still hasn't been updated.

Bottom line is this is a great place to stay. Just make sure you get a unit that has recently been updated. It is sometimes hard to tell by the photos.

The swimming pool is also in need of repairs. The pool is completly lined with ceramic tiles rather than gunite. That makes the pool look great. However, there are some sections with loose tiles that need attention. Some tiles on the pool steps have come off completely and could potentially present a hazzard for kids cutting themselves.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank UsaTravelsalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2009

We stayed 2 weeks in #204. It had recently been totally renovated and was spectacular. When I say renovated, I do not mean some new paint and counter tops, but this unit had been completely gutted and is brand new throughout. Wonderful furnishings and king sized bed. I estimate over $100k went into the remodel. A minor issue was the big flat screen TV's - owners do not provide HD service, so you get low definition pictures on HD TV's. Probably a minor issue since the local TV service stinks.
And now the not so good: One week after our arrival people moved into unit #104 directly below and began heavy smoking. Well smoke rises and invaded out unit to the point you felt like you were there with them. UGH. Managers told us that #104 was one of the few designated smoking units in the entire complex. After our complaint to the ladies at the front desk they talked to the person in #104 and they immediately ceased smoking. Nice to get this level of cooperation.
Other guests told us that some of the un-refurbished units were in pretty shabby condition since this is a old property. So if you are going to stay here, be sure to inquire about condition of the unit and presence of the smokers. By all means chose #204 if the smokers are not going to be there during your stay. A negative is the unit we rented was through the rental pool. While the owners installed 5 star furnishings, the rental pool uses fairly low end sheets and towels. Sheets did not fit the extra thick mattress and came lose every night. Towels are what you would get at Holiday Inn.
Great staff and nice grounds. Check out their web site. It looks exactly as represented. There are no bad views. Plenty of lawn furniture. Kids in pool can become a bit annoying since parents are not concerned about their kids noise. You do get traffic noise from the busy street, and I do mean busy street. Kihei is over built and traffic is non-stop. But they stop for pedestrians to cross the street.
If I was coming back with my grandkids I would stay at Kamaole Sands. It is across the street and does not have the spectacular views, but is 1/2 the price and units are much larger. We have stayed there several times. We have been to Maui many times and after some bad experiences with weather in other locations always stay in Kihei.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mr_Del
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2009

We had the best week staying at Hale Pau on our honeymoon. Waking up every morning and eating pancakes with fresh fruit on the balcony overlooking the small private beach...this place was idyllic.

The apartment we stayed in was fantastically well provisioned with an excellent kitchen with a huge fridge freezer. Plus not only that the view was like something out of an advert for the Hawaiian tourist board. But not only was it quiet with a beautiful view, but there were three shopping plazas within a ten minute walk and some fun bars. We liked the Sansei restaurant which had the most delicious mango and crab californian roll which was five minutes from the apartment, although cooking there was really fun. We bought 5 star fruit for $2 accross the street for our breakfast.

I woudl love to go back here, it was a fantastic place to stay

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vongole23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Hale Pau Hana for 4 nights in early December while celebrating our 20th Anniversary. The property is more lovely than the pictures. The grounds are perfectly maintained and the unit was very clean and in great repair. We stayed in an upper unit in the low rise building. The view from the balcony was breathtaking and we were able to watch wales from there with binoculars provided by the thoughtful owners. The beach is gorgeous and the lawn provides a shady oasis when you are tired of the sun. There is also great snorkeling right from the beach at both the north and south end. The location is perfect, across the street from our favorite Kihei restaurant Cafe O Lei. I only wish they had more 2 bedroom units so we could return with our kids.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sisholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2008

Absolutely the best. The staff, the facility, the beach, the view...all of it. If your looking for a relaxed vacation, this is the place. All of the units are owned by individuals and most are rented out until the owners are in town. It's clean and neat, the grounds are in great shape. The beach is county run but who cares with the view that you'll have. The reefs are 100 yards from the property so you can actually walk right up to them to snorkel. The sunsets are amazing, if fact, we where here when the owners were planning their annual meeting, they all would come down with a glass of wine or whatever, sit and talk with everone and watch the sun go down. That was every night. Great places to eat within walking distance in both directions. They have a laundry facility right on the property which comes in handy- no running in the car to find a place to wash clothes.

Of all the places my wife and I have stayed around the world, this is in fact a top 3- one of the best vacations we've had in years. Make sure you stay for more than a week to enjoy the whole package. We'll be back next year for sure! Thank you Hale Pau Hana for a great stay!

Stayed: October 2008
1  Thank ral05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews