We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect except for lack of AC”
Review of The Hale Pau Hana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Hale Pau Hana
Ranked #1 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect except for lack of AC”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We (2 kids, 2 30-somethings, and 2 50-somethings) stayed in a two bedroom condo over the July 4th week. We actually stayed in two different units--unit 207 for 3 nights, and unit 307 for 4 nights. The hotel location, right on one of the best beaches in the world and close to rental shops, restaurants, etc, is amazing. The grounds are nice and the management and front office people are extremely nice and helpful. The pool is decent if a bit small (we're usually pretty down on people who hang out by the pool when the ocean is just a few steps away, but the kids did enjoy swimming in the relative calm of the pool from time to time.) The 4th of July hula performance on the lawn was a nice touch.

The big negative for us was the fact that only the master bedroom had AC in it (and it's configured to automatically turn off if the door to the room is opened or if no one is in the room.) With the air temperature outside in the high 80s during the day, we had to keep the windows open at night to cool the room down, and the roar of the ocean, and to lesser extent the road, made for less than ideal sleeping conditions. Neither my wife nor I slept very well, alternating between opening and closing the balcony doors throughout the night, and we're usually not very picky sleepers. Units with an AC in every room (one bedroom units?) would probably get 5 stars from me.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Silicon_Valley_MU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    79
    12
    7
    4
See reviews for
65
153
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

The view is breathtaking! Great location on best beach in Kehei. A/c in bedroom was loud, but I was so tired every night - who cares? I wish I could have had coffee provided in the room... And more beach towels! Cooking there was easy and fun- all tools you needed we're there. Snorkel right there and see sea turtles and lots of fish!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MommaBK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed at Hale Pau Hana Resort in May 2013 for 1 week and it was the best vacation! Beautiful resort right on the water, beautiful rooms, we loved every minute. Try eating at the 808 deli across the street awesome sandwiches for lunch. Cafe Olai doesn't look like much on the outside but the food and mai tais are perfect. We went with 16 family member and, golfed, snorkeled, hiked, boogie board, and spent most evenings bbqing on the resort. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stacerss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

The unit is exactly like the picture online. Amazing location and grounds. We thought the unit could be cleaner if you care about corners, but we can't claim our house is any cleaner. The air conditioner could be a little quieter but it took away any traffic noise and wasn't terrible. The bed seemed bran new and was perfectly fine for the one of us with the bad back. The office staff was friendly and helpful for all questions. We did not find the unit hot at all with the afternoon winds and mild nights during the time we were there in mid-May. We snorkled right off the beach and could not believe what is under the surface, it looks like an aquarium. The lanai and beach were so wonderful we could have never left the grounds. We liked Foodland better than Safeway. 808 Deli and Bistro across the street were good, and we liked Stella Blue for breakfast and dinner. We would stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carol Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We rented a ground floor apartment for a few days while visiting Maui. The Hale Pau Hana Resort is right on the beach. It has very nice facilities, and great views of the water, the coastline along Maalaea Bay, Kaho'Olawe, and (on a clear day) Lanai. Kamaole Beach Park is a few doors down, and from there you can walk the coast a long way.

There are a number of shops and restaurants nearby, some within walking distance. Foodland and Safeway are within a short drive if you missed out on hitting Costco on the way in from the airport.

The apartment itself was nice and well equipped. We had a one bedroom two bath unit. It had a nice big living room that opened up on a grassy area and the beach. The only thing that was slightly challenging was occasionally the parking lot was jammed, though this only happened twice.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Have been visiting Hawaii since 1955 (got married on Oahu, Aina Hina.) Been making regular trips to Maui since 1974, but have been to all five of the major islands more than once and to the HPH perhaps 20 times in last 25 years. Most all units are well equipped and tastefully decorated. Kamaole Beach must rank in top ten in world. Softest sand, level for walks or runs, both gentle and wild surfs. Steps away from fun snorkeling. Pool is clean. Luscious trade winds. Sunsets divine from every lanai. (Even seen the blue-green flash at least twice from here.)

The grounds and parking areas are first class. The housekeeping service, while not daily, is more than adequate and they always do their best with a smile. Reception and office staff are a joy to work with and can provide good advice for almost every request or occasion. Every room has a safe and is stocked with a good supply of dishes, glasses, and cookware...yes, and a few spices. Laundry facilities are available for guests at a small cost. There is even a selection of books there, free, donated by past guests. It's up to speed for the electronic world. The aloha spirit abounds from the maintenance staff to the guests. A perfect place to collapse and recuperate OR get revved up and do the town. Can hardly wait till next year!

Room Tip: I like the fourth floor or higher. For the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

A great location to see the rest of the island from or a great place to just park it and relax. All units are ocean front fully equipped condos with maid service. Air conditioning in the bedrooms only. Their location is right in Kihei with all the convienences on the street side and paradise on the ocean side (and I think less rain). There is a very nice lawn / pool area with outdoor shower, chaise lounges and tables with steps right down to Kama'ole II. You can snorkle right there in a small area and see as many fish or turtles as nearly any other snorkle spot I've been to. A long beach trail passes through here and you can walk it for about a mile or more. Views of Molokini, Kaho'olawe and Lana'i. The sunsets are always stunning though they are into Lana'i and not into the ocean. The front desk is well run and grounds well kept with Kaspar doing morning rounds. There is a pay laundry next to the office. This place really is a "Gem" and we plan to return as often as we can.

Room Tip: Web tours of the rooms on their web site provide accurate descriptions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Daniel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kihei
0.4 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,134 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mana Kai Maui
Mana Kai Maui
#5 of 62 in Kihei
528 reviews
1.8 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Maui Kamaole
Maui Kamaole
#3 of 62 in Kihei
682 reviews
2.1 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
0.8 mi away
Aston Maui Hill
Aston Maui Hill
#2 of 62 in Kihei
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hale Pau Hana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hale Pau Hana

Property: The Hale Pau Hana
Address: 2480 South Kihei Road, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-8630
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hale Pau Hana 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome Home... You’re not just meant to visit — make it your home while you’re here. Cook eggs and bacon in the morning, BBQ fresh fish and mix drinks in the evening, dine on the lawn, blow the conch at sunset. Best Beach on Maui We’re uniquely situated on Kamaole II, the best beach on all of Maui (ask around). Don’t haul everything across the street or pack up and drive — just walk over the lawn to get there. A Family Experience For many, Hale Pau Hana is a family experience. Grandparents watch grandkids swim for the first time, couples get married on the beach, then bring the kids, have family reunions. We have guests and owners who have literally been returning to Hale Pau Hana for five generations. We’re honored to be more than a place to vacation — to be a part of their family and the memories they make together. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Hale Pau Hana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hale Pau Hana Hotel Kihei
Hale Pau Hana Kihei
The Hale Pau Hana Maui/Kihei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing