We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost perfect”
Review of The Hale Pau Hana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Hale Pau Hana
Ranked #1 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
Yucca Valley, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Almost perfect”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

This was the second time I've stayed at this property. I was sad that the pineapple that greeted me in the refrig the first time wasn't there this visit. However,f that did not take away from the stay. HPH is excellent. If you do find a problem, a quick word to the office has it fixed immediately. Kasper is wonderful, as is all the office staff. I'll be going back this summer. My only problem? Which unit do I want? Do I want the one with the palm trees and ocean view that you can see from your balcony, or do I want the ocean and palm trees view from the balcony? There isn't a bad unit in the complex - worth every penny you spend.

Room Tip: All rooms are good. The 2 level units only have steps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank onagasmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    77
    12
    7
    4
See reviews for
61
151
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
116 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Stayed in unit 404 for the past week. Fantastic location and directly on a great beach! This is my second time staying in this building and the one downfall is having only one air conditioner, located in the bedroom, as the unit tends to get quite warm even with the trade winds. Unit was comfortably furnished and well supplied with things needed throughout your time there. Very reasonably priced. One issue we had, which is difficult for the owner as they have no say in the matter, is that we had to put up with renovation noise(jackhammer) from another unit four of our seven days. The people staying in the building are friendly and easy to chat with.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chirop99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We have stayed at the HPH 3 years now and Iwe wouldn't stay anywhere else! Best ocean view from your room, great rooms, great property, great crew (Kasper and Melissa), and great location! Can't wait for next years trip!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pete M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
København, Staden Kobenhavn, Denmark
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

If you are planning to go to Hawaii, I Can only give my warmest recomendation for this resort. It's location is perfect. A nice Beach just in front of the main lawn where you Can make your bbq on some Nice grills allowing you to have a sunset dinner every Day. The management ón the resort, is just so nice and the manager gave us such a memorable vacation, that if we were suppose to go go back to Hawaii, we deffinately Would choose this resort once again. They don't have a fitness center though, and that is the reason for my low grade for this categori. Did i miss it.... No :-) so maybe Tripadvisor should allow us to grade issues as not relevant.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicolai R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marysville, Ohio, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Absolute best place we stayed at on the Island. The view was amazing! You could sit in your room and enjoy the sunrise or set over the ocean and listen to the waves. It had everything we needed from coffee filters to beach umbrellas. Snorkeling was amazing right off the beach. We will definitely stay here again. Small town feel, great place to get away from the city life! Cleaning/towel service only on Mon, wed, fri, but you can get towels from the main office if needed.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carolyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We love the Hale Pau Hana. This was our second stay at this property. The location is perfect. There are not many properties with units this close to the ocean. Our home on this visit was unit #401. Very nice. The bedroom was cool enough at night that we did not need to use the A/C. Breezes and fan was sufficient. Having two bathrooms turns out to be a real treat. If I had a wish list, it might include a couch I could really stretch out on(or two), and a larger tv. My favorite feature is always the lanai. I can spend hours out there (and often do), having my morning coffee, watching the surf, looking for whales, and of course, the sunsets. Shopping is nearby and convenient. If you are price conscious, you may want to check a bit further, depending on the items. Traffic seems to have gotten much heavier over the last 10 years, but I suppose that is to be expected. I must say Island drivers seem to be very courteous to pedestrians and drivers trying to make left-hand turns. Thank you! All in all, a terrific holiday. Our thanks to all staff and residents and other visitors who made it sol!

Room Tip: All available units are a bit different. Use the photos and info available on the internet to help y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rons324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

We had a wonderful time at Hale Pau Hana. Our room was very clean and it was nice to find a fresh, ripe Maui pineapple in our fridge when we checked in. We could see that the room decor was dated from the internet, but we wanted to stay here because of the location and did not spend too much time inside anyway. The grounds were very well maintained and the beach access was perfect - couldn't get any closer. We got some great whale pictures right from our lanai. We would definitely stay here again.
Love Kihei in general - everyone is friendly and all amenities close at hand.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Rick_Doreen_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kihei
0.4 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,114 reviews
3.0 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
0.9 mi away
Mana Kai Maui
Mana Kai Maui
#5 of 62 in Kihei
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
0.7 mi away
Maui Kamaole
Maui Kamaole
#3 of 62 in Kihei
672 reviews
0.8 mi away
Aston Maui Hill
Aston Maui Hill
#2 of 62 in Kihei
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hale Pau Hana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hale Pau Hana

Property: The Hale Pau Hana
Address: 2480 South Kihei Road, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-8630
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hale Pau Hana 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maui Condos on the Beach: No other south Maui condo offers vacation rentals that are right on the beach. Unlike other Maui vacation rentals in south Maui, our condo has direct access to the Kihei beach. Hale Pau Hana Beach Resort is right on Kamaole Beach Park II in south Maui. Every condo rental unit is beachfront and has an ocean view. Only a few steps over the manicured lawn to the soft sandy beach and blue ocean. We combine all the comforts of home and the services of a hotel to make Hale Pau Hana Beach Resort the best "Home away from Home" in paradise. Individually decorated, each condominium offers a complete kitchen, free WiFi, free cable TV and free domestic telephone calls. Vacation paradise on Maui! Experience why guests return year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Hale Pau Hana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hale Pau Hana Hotel Kihei
Hale Pau Hana Kihei
The Hale Pau Hana Maui/Kihei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing