We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HPH IS THE BEST”
Review of The Hale Pau Hana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Hale Pau Hana
Ranked #2 of 61 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We have stayed at the HPH 3 years now and Iwe wouldn't stay anywhere else! Best ocean view from your room, great rooms, great property, great crew (Kasper and Melissa), and great location! Can't wait for next years trip!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pete M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (290)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

155 - 161 of 290 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2013

If you are planning to go to Hawaii, I Can only give my warmest recomendation for this resort. It's location is perfect. A nice Beach just in front of the main lawn where you Can make your bbq on some Nice grills allowing you to have a sunset dinner every Day. The management ón the resort, is just so nice and the manager gave us such a memorable vacation, that if we were suppose to go go back to Hawaii, we deffinately Would choose this resort once again. They don't have a fitness center though, and that is the reason for my low grade for this categori. Did i miss it.... No :-) so maybe Tripadvisor should allow us to grade issues as not relevant.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicolai R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Absolute best place we stayed at on the Island. The view was amazing! You could sit in your room and enjoy the sunrise or set over the ocean and listen to the waves. It had everything we needed from coffee filters to beach umbrellas. Snorkeling was amazing right off the beach. We will definitely stay here again. Small town feel, great place to get away from the city life! Cleaning/towel service only on Mon, wed, fri, but you can get towels from the main office if needed.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carolyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We love the Hale Pau Hana. This was our second stay at this property. The location is perfect. There are not many properties with units this close to the ocean. Our home on this visit was unit #401. Very nice. The bedroom was cool enough at night that we did not need to use the A/C. Breezes and fan was sufficient. Having two bathrooms turns out to be a real treat. If I had a wish list, it might include a couch I could really stretch out on(or two), and a larger tv. My favorite feature is always the lanai. I can spend hours out there (and often do), having my morning coffee, watching the surf, looking for whales, and of course, the sunsets. Shopping is nearby and convenient. If you are price conscious, you may want to check a bit further, depending on the items. Traffic seems to have gotten much heavier over the last 10 years, but I suppose that is to be expected. I must say Island drivers seem to be very courteous to pedestrians and drivers trying to make left-hand turns. Thank you! All in all, a terrific holiday. Our thanks to all staff and residents and other visitors who made it sol!

Room Tip: All available units are a bit different. Use the photos and info available on the internet to help y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rons324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

We had a wonderful time at Hale Pau Hana. Our room was very clean and it was nice to find a fresh, ripe Maui pineapple in our fridge when we checked in. We could see that the room decor was dated from the internet, but we wanted to stay here because of the location and did not spend too much time inside anyway. The grounds were very well maintained and the beach access was perfect - couldn't get any closer. We got some great whale pictures right from our lanai. We would definitely stay here again.
Love Kihei in general - everyone is friendly and all amenities close at hand.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Rick_Doreen_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

First, let me say that we had a great stay here and will definitely return in the future.

We stayed in one of the ground floor low-rise units, #14 to be specific.

The location is awesome. Directly on a very nice beach, right across the street from various shopping necessities. Nicely maintained property with numerous amenities. Pleasant staff and friendly neighbors. Rooms are typical of a Maui condotel of its era.

We had two kids with us. Not all the units allow kids. Be sure to check this when you reserve.

Kitchen was basic but pretty well-stocked. Grocery stores are nearby, including a pretty nice "natural foods" store if you're health nuts like us.

Master bed was OK, pullout sofa pretty saggy. Acceptable but not great, be warned if you're picky about your bedding.

Decor was OK. I had a look into a few of the other units, and I think our #14 was on the low end as far as style. But still OK.

You should definitely be aware that A/C is available only in the master bedroom, and it's pretty weak even at that. Took me a while to figure out how to turn it on, what with the necessity to keep the door and windows closed and activate a motion sensor. Didn't bother with it the rest of the week. Trying to keep the window open will greatly increase traffic noise from the fairly busy S. Kihei Rd.

The lack of A/C may be a serious issue for the heat-sensitive. The low-rise living rooms generally face directly west, and the direct sun can heat things up quite a bit in the late afternoon. Cross-ventilation is pretty poor unless you keep the front door propped open. It'll easily hit 90+ inside a closed room late afternoons. A simple sunshade on the patio would have been very helpful but is not provided. We were generally outside anyway, but if you like to sit in your room and prefer to stay cool, you will not be happy.

If you're in a ground-floor unit, be aware people will be regularly walking past your room on the lawn outside. We didn't have any problems with this, but if you like your privacy don't stay on the ground floor.

Again, the downsides were not of importance to us. We had a great stay, and look forward to coming again. Might switch rooms, though.

Room Tip: Be aware it'll be fairly warm most of the day. The bedroom faces a fairly noisy street if you wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kbluck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

We stayed 305 and would definitely stay here again! Its not the cheapest place in Kihei but you are paying to be right on the beach and to watch amazing sunsets each night.

Its also nice to be able to sunbathe on the chairs on the grass and then go into the sea without having to drive/walk/drag stuff to the beach every day.

We rented through the main office and had no issues.

We also liked having two bathrooms. There is only air con in the bedroom, not in the kitchen/lougne but this does not matter because you can just open the doors and let the breeze through and switch a fan on, and there was always a breeze. And listen to the waves at the same time..

We had a great time in Maui, (even though we spent half of one night in a car park due to a tsunami!) and would like to stay at this unit again.

We were close enough to walk to things like Stand up paddle boarding lessons, restaurants and shops. Yes the condos are near the road - where isnt in Kihei? but we never heard any road noise at all and I am a really light sleeper.

Also nice to have a condo with every other day maid service for bin collections and new towels.

Room Tip: Unit 305 is excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank claire16c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kihei hotels
0.4 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,171 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mana Kai Maui
Mana Kai Maui
#3 of 61 in Kihei
538 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aston at the Maui Banyan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Aston Maui Hill
Aston Maui Hill
#1 of 61 in Kihei
651 reviews
4.8 mi away
Sugar Beach Resort
Sugar Beach Resort
#4 of 61 in Kihei
630 reviews
3.6 mi away
Kohea Kai Resort Maui,
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hale Pau Hana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hale Pau Hana

Address: 2480 South Kihei Road, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-8630
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 61 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Price Range: $185 - $450 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hale Pau Hana 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome Home... You’re not just meant to visit — make it your home while you’re here. Cook eggs and bacon in the morning, BBQ fresh fish and mix drinks in the evening, dine on the lawn, blow the conch at sunset. Best Beach on Maui We’re uniquely situated on Kamaole II, the best beach on all of Maui (ask around). Don’t haul everything across the street or pack up and drive — just walk over the lawn to get there. A Family Experience For many, Hale Pau Hana is a family experience. Grandparents watch grandkids swim for the first time, couples get married on the beach, then bring the kids, have family reunions. We have guests and owners who have literally been returning to Hale Pau Hana for five generations. We’re honored to be more than a place to vacation — to be a part of their family and the memories they make together. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Hale Pau Hana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hale Pau Hana Hotel Kihei
Hale Pau Hana Kihei
The Hale Pau Hana Maui/Kihei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing