We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Spot”
Review of The Hale Pau Hana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Hale Pau Hana
Ranked #2 of 60 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 5, 2008

We stayed at Hale Pau Hana for a week this March. This was our second trip to Maui but first at this condo. The location simply can't be beat. Beach is beautiful, grounds are well kept and chairs are placed at the beach edge for wonderful ocean views. Snorkling was not bad off the rocks at the end of the beach. Sitting on the grass watching the whales everyday was amazing! Our unit was a bit older and needed a reno but it was very clean and comfortable and the view more than made up for anything else. Lots of places to eat nearby from Moose Mcgillicudy's 3.00 Happy Hour to Cafe O'Lei across the street. If you like a stress free vacation then come to Kihei and relax. Took us over an hour in bumper to bumper traffic to get to Lahaina and Kaanapali. Once there had to fight crowds on sidewalks and shops. Glad we went but glad we didn't stay there. Wailea is ony 5 minutes drive south and is also beautiful. Hale Pau Hana is simply a wonderful place to spend your Hawaiian vacation.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laurelie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (292)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

225 - 231 of 292 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2008

Just returned from a great trip to the Hale Pau Hana, It was our 15th trip to the islands,but 1st time back to maui in 10 years.

We have always stayed at Hale Pau Hana in previous years and it never disappoints us.

The rooms are great and would recomend a bottom floor unit in the low rise buildings , they make you feel like you are right on the Beach .

Just open the large sliding door and let the fresh Ocean Breeze in......

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank CanadianCapt.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2007

booked direct with hph on a recommend from a friend

would have liked a bigger bathroom and a/c in the living room but we managed just fine as it is

great condo --- in excellent shape-- the office and the grounds staff go out of their way to make the place wonderful for your vacation--------the ocean front condos are worth their weight in gold -- will be booking again for next year within the week

also- have read about the a/c s that have timers on them -- ours did not --you had a remote control and you set the temp and the fan speed and it ran til you shut it off

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank lougee1043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2007

Stayed in unit 703 for a week. It had everything we needed, even good quality snorkel gear. Didn't do any cooking (I was on vacation!), but the kitchen seemed to be well supplied. Fresh towels, soap, etc. and garbage removed every other day. Tuesday evening entertainment was great. Very nice beach, not crowded at all. Only saw one cockroach the whole week, our fault, we left the door open. The room was exactly as depicted on web site. Would definitely recommend Hale Pau Hana.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Laurie3cats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2007

We booked this based on the reviews it received here and on Expedia, and they were spot on. We stayed in unit #603 and can't say enough good things about it, the unit was spotless, really modern and has obviously been VERY well taken care of, it was the most complete condo I have ever stayed in, it had EVERYTHING we could ever need, including beach stuff!!

Hale Pau Hana resort itself is extremely well maintained, the grounds were spotless, and the BBQ grills cleaned daily, as were the pool and the outside showers where everyone washes off their sand. The location is beyond what we were expecting, every unit is ocean front, and the beach is about 10 steps away from the building, you have the joy of lying in the garden on the lawn chairs etc.. and then 10 steps and you are in the ocean.

There are plenty of restaurants well within walking distance, or you can cook at home, Foodland is about 1.5 miles away and you get a discount card when you check in.

The staff were extremely friendly, the hawaiin entertainment was excellent and the housekeeping was very un-intrusive which I loved. I can make my own bed and prefer not to be invaded daily, they did empty the bins and give us clean towels every other day and changed the bed linen once while we were there - some wouldn't think that was enough, I thought it was perfect!!

I totally recommend this as a place to stay, it was convenient for everything and Kihei lacked the BIG HUGE resorts that seem to be taking over the rest of the coastline, Kihei gets my vote everytime!! The resorts are ruining the Wailea and Lahania coastlines - IMO!!

The beach was great - snorkelling in the morning and body boarding in the afternoon - you have to snorkel at the Ahihi Kinau Reserve, it was GREAT and very accessible, also a trip to Molokini is a must!!

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Burn1911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2007

We just returned from our third visit to Hale Pau Hana and have already booked another visit. We have found it to be a wonderful place to stay every visit. Love the convenience of choosing which unit we want by viewing them online. Again we had an immaculate, upscale, updated unit. We found it very clean and well equipted with everything we needed including a boogie board and beach chairs.

The grounds are so well kept and we enjoyed the Hawaiian entertainment on Tuesday nights. You cannot get any closer to the ocean, just steps to a wonderful beach. The sunsets were wonderful. We will return again and again...

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank ebenjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2007

The positives are Housekeeping (very sweet & hardworking), outside grounds are beautiful and of course having an ocean front room. But it's a BIG trade off.
The property managers had us staying in one room and moving to another the second day. I would have been ok with this however we couldn't move until 11AM and had to be out of the old room by 2PM so we lost a good portion of our second day. They didn't offer to help us move and worse yet moved us from a nice room unit #15 to #19 which was horrible. All units are separately owned.
All of the bedrooms have a motion detector timer on their air conditioners which turn off after 10 mins. Don't plan on sleeping with it on or cooling off the room. Besides the humidity, the bedroom had a lot of road noise so we slept in the living which made the quarters a little cramped.
The room was is in poor condition; desperate need of a paint job, ironically there is paint in the musty smelling closet. The wallpaper was dirty and stained and separating from the wall. The wood vanity in the bathroom is splintered and cracked in several places. Bathroom tub looks rusty and there's no fan.
The property has 3 grills 1 (closest to us) was broken the entire time the other 2 in constant use.
For what we paid, we could have gotten a lot more bang for our buck. I gave a 2 because the grounds deserve something.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank jcssugar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kihei
0.4 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,180 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mana Kai Maui
Mana Kai Maui
#3 of 60 in Kihei
540 reviews
0.8 mi away
Aston Maui Hill
Aston Maui Hill
#1 of 60 in Kihei
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
0.3 mi away
Aston at the Maui Banyan
4.8 mi away
Sugar Beach Resort
Sugar Beach Resort
#4 of 60 in Kihei
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hale Pau Hana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hale Pau Hana

Address: 2480 South Kihei Road, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-8630
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 60 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Price Range: $185 - $450 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hale Pau Hana 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome Home... You’re not just meant to visit — make it your home while you’re here. Cook eggs and bacon in the morning, BBQ fresh fish and mix drinks in the evening, dine on the lawn, blow the conch at sunset. Best Beach on Maui We’re uniquely situated on Kamaole II, the best beach on all of Maui (ask around). Don’t haul everything across the street or pack up and drive — just walk over the lawn to get there. A Family Experience For many, Hale Pau Hana is a family experience. Grandparents watch grandkids swim for the first time, couples get married on the beach, then bring the kids, have family reunions. We have guests and owners who have literally been returning to Hale Pau Hana for five generations. We’re honored to be more than a place to vacation — to be a part of their family and the memories they make together. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your The Hale Pau Hana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hale Pau Hana Hotel Kihei
Hale Pau Hana Kihei
The Hale Pau Hana Maui/Kihei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing