We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Resort”
Review of The Hale Pau Hana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Hale Pau Hana
Ranked #1 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
Assens, Denmark
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Nice Resort”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Lovely Resort, large well-appointed apartments. We stayed 2 couples in a 2 bedrooms resort. Balcony overlooking the sea. 100 meters from a sandy beach. Shops near the hotel.
Free parking and internet.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OVEJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    77
    12
    7
    4
See reviews for
61
150
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Peoria, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed in #603 for 8 nights - July 16 to 24, 2012. I did a lot of research and it was worth the effort. Was perfect for us. The main decision we made was to stay away from the big resorts. Just not us. So Kihei was the best location and Hale Pau Hana is one of the few places that is right on the beach - ocean and sunset views. All units face the ocean - an immaculate lawn area, then Kam. II beach. Never crowded. No surfing here, calm waters on a shallow beach.
Many restaurants within easy walk. Cafe O'lei and 808 Bistro are great. Kihei has a bit of that beach town atmosphere. The HPH is an older property (like most others in Kihei) but most units have been upgraded and are comfortable and clean. We picked the high rise section. These units have a full kitchen, living room bedroom and 2 bathrooms and are slightly larger than the the low rise units. We decided on an upper floor to be a little quieter. For families the bottom level might be best. Look at the HPH Resort website to get the details. Some units will have only 2 showers and no tub - some have a king bed while others have a queen. Recommend checking all this out to see what will work for you. Another factor is the air conditioning. I was amazed to find out that many complexes do not have any a/c. You might think that it would not matter - but that was not our experience. HPH has a/c in the bedroom only but we found that it was essential to us for sleeping.
Reading the reviews on this website is a big help. I suggest that all reviewers indicate the unit # they stayed in - a big help. Our unit 603 was excellent.... clean with all things working.... but there may a few not up to same standard. The units are individually owned. Majority of units are rented through HPH resorts website, but some may use VRBO or Craigslist. I prefered to use HPH. Our vacation trip could not have been better and we would come back here in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: High rise units that lower number (e.g. 601, 602, 603) may have a better sunset view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 169JohnH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
193 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

We stayed in Hale Pau Hana unit 406 and loved it. This resort is right on Kamaole Beach II. Most of the resorts in this area are across the street from the beaches or are on a rocky point with a walk to the beach. There was great snorkeling right off the beach and the water was crystal clear and calm enough for beginner stand up paddle boarding. The pool and grounds were clean and well kept. It never felt crowded and there were plenty of chairs on the lawn area overlooking the beach. BBQ grills were available too. Our unit was clean, simply decorated and well-stocked. Clean towels were provided and garbage collected from our unit three times a week. The view from our lanai was ocean front. The only issue we had was the bedroom was on the street side of the unit so it was a bit noisy, however this allowed the living room, kitchen and small dining area to be in prime ocean viewing position. This resort is great for families.

Room Tip: Check the website for photos and unit layouts. We were in the tower but thought the two lower buildi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank babobear1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights in unit #24, which was nicely modernised, although the A/C in the bedroom wasn't particularly effective.

The view overlooking the beach and the ocean was just stunning - the most beautiful sunsets.

Well located with plenty of shops and restaurants nearby. Cafe O'Lei across the road was fabulous, and it was a short 5 min drive/20 min walk to Kihei market place which had lots of little stalls and places to eat.

Why pay $400 for a room overlooking a car park when you can be just 15 steps from the ocean?!

Room Tip: You can view all the rooms on their website and request the one you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank scottiepaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2012

We stayed in room 303 (1bdrm/2bath) from Wednesday 05/09-Sunday 05/13. Perfect view from this room-not blocked by trees or anything. The room was well stocked with EVERYTHING you could need for cooking and cleaning up the kitchen afterwards (There were also NO bugs anywhere in the kitchen). Nice set up of furnishings and decorations. Nice deck with table and chairs. Room came with an abundance of books to read, music CD's to play, iphone compatible stereo, couple of movies to watch, beach chairs, floaties and cooler. There was also a scale in the bathroom which helped with packing on the last day to get the weight of our luggage right to avoid the extra fee's. Parts of the room, esp the bathrooms, look like there were recently updated. There was also a nice quite indoor aircondition in the bedroom. Not a wall/window mounted airconditioner like some units had.
They come replace your towels and remove your garbage on Monday, Wednesday and Friday if I remember right.
Complex had nice lawn area (which felt less windy then the beach) for lounging with plenty of chairs for everybody so there was no mad scramble to get one in the morning. 4 BBQ's on site for your own use that we saw. The whole place is very well maintained and manicured. Smaller oval shaped swimming pool that was heated. No hot tub. You are right on the beach. You can walk right down to it from the lawn. All people staying there/?living? there were very nice.
You can walk to many shops and resturants from here. Denny's is directly accross the street and Moose's and Fred's are a 1 minute walk away. We didn't really need a car while we were here, although we had one anyway. The main grocery store is about a 3-5 minute drive from the hotel.
The hotel does not store your bags for you if you arrive early before check in time or if you have a late flight that is after check out time. I also did not see/notice any bathrooms for changing or showering or going to the bathroom in general anywhere in the common ground area. - You need to go back to your room to do any of that.
They have laundry facilities on site for fee. No washer and dryer in the room.
The rooms on the bottom floor are nice if you want to be able to walk right out onto the grass and down to the beach (or if you have children), but if you are looking for "privacy" you probably don't want a ground floor unit because unless your curtains are closed the whole time, you can see directly into each person's room if you are outside of it. (They have stairs and 1 elevator.)
On the beach to the right is some very good snorkeling. Very easy, even for beginners. Lots of places close by to rent stand up paddle boards and other water activity related items. The morning is the busiest time on the beach. It gets windy between noon-2pm everyday like clockwork, so if you are going to do any water activities - do it in the morning before the wind. The waves on this beach never get that big. Very calm in the morning and some waves in the afternoon. At no point was the water unswimmable.
I would stay here again in a heart beat! Wish that I could live here!

Room Tip: The website has pictures of the rooms for rent. Look through the pictures and request the room you l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LW88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2012

The HPH could not have been a more perfect place to stay for our week long trip to Maui. Located just south of the busiest part of Kihei, the HPH is located right on Kamaole Beach #2. In fact, it's at the north end of Kam 2, and there is decent snorkeling right outside the complex at the point between Kam 1 and Kam 2. Nice to be able to just walk downstairs and be able to lie on the beach, do some swimming, or snorkeling, all within earshot of your room. We stayed on the 7th floor of the high rise, which had awesome views all around. If you are staying in the high rise, you may as well either try for the top floor (no one above you), or the first floor (you can walk right out onto the beach from your living room.)

Our unit was a 1 BR, 2 BA unit, which was nice when we each wanted to shower at the same time. Each unit is different, in different stages of update, some not at all, some completely renovated. Use their website to pick the one you want, and see photos. It's hard to review the specific unit we were in, since each one can be so different. Overall, it's a very nice complex. There is a lawn area right outside, above the beach, if you don't want to get sand in all your nooks and crannies. We didn't use the pool, but it's rather small. Why go swimming in a chlorinated pool when you have the ocean 200' away, anyway? The beach was very nice, with soft sand, and very mild waves. The winds can pick up in the afternoon, which is nice for cooling off the condo, but not as nice for lying on the beach (unless you like getting sandblasted.) The sun went down rather early, around 6:45 in late April, and the complex really quiets down around 8, which was nice. We went to bed early, partly to keep our body clocks on time as best we could, and because the island has so much to offer during the day, we'd get up really early to start the day.

I'd highly recommend staying here!

Room Tip: High rise units with a lower number per floor (401 on the 4th floor, 701 on the top floor) have a mu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank cthenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2012

My wife and I have stayed here 2 times now. The staff is great, the grounds are beautiful, and the view is priceless! I wouldn't stay any where else in Maui!

Room Tip: We stayed in 504 the last 2 years now! We love it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pete M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kihei
0.4 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,103 reviews
3.0 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
0.9 mi away
Mana Kai Maui
Mana Kai Maui
#6 of 62 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
0.7 mi away
Maui Kamaole
Maui Kamaole
#3 of 62 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
0.8 mi away
Aston Maui Hill
Aston Maui Hill
#2 of 62 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hale Pau Hana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hale Pau Hana

Property: The Hale Pau Hana
Address: 2480 South Kihei Road, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-8630
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hale Pau Hana 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maui Condos on the Beach: No other south Maui condo offers vacation rentals that are right on the beach. Unlike other Maui vacation rentals in south Maui, our condo has direct access to the Kihei beach. Hale Pau Hana Beach Resort is right on Kamaole Beach Park II in south Maui. Every condo rental unit is beachfront and has an ocean view. Only a few steps over the manicured lawn to the soft sandy beach and blue ocean. We combine all the comforts of home and the services of a hotel to make Hale Pau Hana Beach Resort the best "Home away from Home" in paradise. Individually decorated, each condominium offers a complete kitchen, free WiFi, free cable TV and free domestic telephone calls. Vacation paradise on Maui! Experience why guests return year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Hale Pau Hana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hale Pau Hana Hotel Kihei
Hale Pau Hana Kihei
The Hale Pau Hana Maui/Kihei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing