We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Hale Pau Hana
Nearby Hotels
$600
$420
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$162
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$229
$179
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Andaz Maui At Wailea Resort(Wailea)
$508
$469
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
$449
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Residence Inn by Marriott Maui Wailea(Wailea)(Great Value!)
$369
$299
Residence Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
$497
$487
Waldorf.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$663
$649
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$259
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (296)
Filter reviews
296 results
Traveler rating
187
84
13
8
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
187
84
13
8
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsacross the streetthe kitchenamazing fishliving roomlawn chairsbedroom doorbeautiful beachamazing locationwouldn't stay anywhere elsekam iicondo resortfirst floorsliderssound of the waveskihei areaproperty managementgrassy area
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
184 - 189 of 296 reviews
Reviewed March 9, 2012

It really depends on the room you end up with as far as how nice they are. I stayed in an end unit that was not updated at all and Very pricey!! My sister and her husband had a room that was completely remodeled and it was the same price. I roomed with my cousins who had the bedroom on the street side of the condos and they said it was noisy. I got the hide a bed in living room. Very comfy for a pull out, plus the only noise was the waves. These are independently owned units and all decorated differently so it would be wise to browse the rooms on the website when making a decision to stay here. And be prepared to pay 2 to 3 hundred bucks a night. It's one of the only places right on the beach in Kihei so if that's a priority this place is great. My sis was getting married and wanted us all together or I probably could have settled for something more affordable.

Room Tip: make sure to look on website for a room that suits your needs. this place has a lot of older folks that live there permanently but all were very cool even when we were a bit noisy.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kmarsh9235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 29, 2012

Currently staying here...the unit is circa 1960--feels more like a Super 8 motel (and looks like it). The sofa or "sofa bed" is useless--the springs are felt while sitting on the cushions that list slumpl to the middle. I wouldn't even put a child on this bed. I did call the front desk and their suggestion is to write a letter so the owners will be prompted to upgrade. Irrelevant at this point. I understand the main beauty and draw to Maui is the beach, but it's equally important to feel comfortable, have a decent bed and have a clean unit. All of the furniture is low to the ground and hard (and very square). It's simply tired and outdated. Only wired Internet connections are available so bulky wires take up the precious dining room table space. The outdoors is fine and the beach is awesome...it is just unit #17.

Since everyone pays the same regardless of unit (and some are quite nice with upgrades, etc.)--keep looking. I hope this information is received as it is intended; updates are beyond needed.

MK Howell

Room Tip: Do not settle for unit #17
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank MKHowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2012

Not the smartest condo we stayed in during our Hawaii trip but it was probably our favourite mainly for the location. There was nothing wrong with the condo (#19) just not up to the same standard as some others. From previous comments posted here it seems that the standard is variable. However for us the beach, sea, snorkelling, views, BBQ, proximity to shops and restaurants all combined to make this a great place to stay.

The condo was equipped with all the necessary. Meals were mostly cooked on the BBQ and eaten outside on the lanai – cool and great views! Good walk-in shower. AirCon only in the bedroom with fans in the living room and bedroom. The AirCon was noisy so we just used the fan at night.

For the best snorkelling turn left from the resort and walk to the rocks at the end of the first beach.

There is some road noise which could be a problem if you’re a light sleeper but the resort itself was quiet.

Like: beach, sea. Dislike: road and aircon noise.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MushroomTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2012

Spent a week at HPH. Had a great room on the second floor of the low rise. Beautiful beach, warm ocean water. Well maintained facility, room is exactly as pictured on their web site.
The staff is very friendly and helpful. This was our second stay here and hopefully we will be back soon.
Took long hikes down the beach into other beaches and past other huge resorts, but the intimacy of HPH cannot be beat by what we saw on our hikes.

Room Tip: The web site has detailed info on each room,,I found this to be accurate.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Larry b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2012

I must admit, the resort is in an ideal location. Not only very beautiful beach, manicured yard and ocean front, but within walking distance to many activities. The overall living unit was lacking. The bugs found in the kitchen were a bothersome, as well as the refrigerator constantly leaked and was not cared for when brought to the attention of hotel management. Also, it turns out there may have been bugs in other places, as during the trip our family was bitten. It turned out to be bedbugs, which ended up coming home with us, costing us thousands of dollars for extermination.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank mj013112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews