We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Hale Pau Hana
Nearby Hotels
$479
AscendHotels
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$600
$420
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$166
Travelocity
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Andaz Maui At Wailea Resort(Wailea)
$589
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
$409
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Residence Inn by Marriott Maui Wailea(Wailea)(Great Value!)
$364
$319
Residence Inn
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
$488
$419
Waldorf.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$699
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$259
Travelocity
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$179
Agoda.com
View Deal
Average 3/5
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (296)
Filter reviews
296 results
Traveler rating
187
84
13
8
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
187
84
13
8
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsacross the streetthe kitchenamazing fishliving roomlawn chairsbedroom doorbeautiful beachamazing locationwouldn't stay anywhere elsekam iicondo resortfirst floorsliderssound of the waveskihei areaproperty managementgrassy area
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
193 - 198 of 296 reviews
Reviewed January 11, 2012

This location is amazing in every way! We have watched whales and sunsets from our balcony every day except today. We stayed in 21 and 26. Room 21 was a little dated but the bed was new and comfy. 26 on the other hand needs some serious updating. Room has carpet in the living room and bedroom and it feels like it's been here since the building went up. Location is a 10 but scrutinize the pictures online when you're choosing for yourself. The property is also smoke free.

Room Tip: Of course the best pictures are taken, scrutinize every picture because there are some units that have been renovated and some that are still in the 80's
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2012

We stayed in the low rise, 2nd floor, unit number 21 and found it very comfortable. Had picked it from the website and lucky for us it was available the first week in December. The kitchen was small, but who goes to Maui to cook? Because it was an outside unit, there was an additional window over the snack bar that made it extra bright and spacious. There was a very comfortable murphy bed in the living room, which was so cool, that I had to use it and listen to the waves at night.

I hesitated at the thought of going up and down steps many times a day, since I don't do them well, but it wasn't too bad, they had good handrails, and we had guys to drag the bags up and down. Next time I will opt for a ground floor unit, it looked like fun being able to walk out on the lawn and have coffee in the morning and pretend this is mine, all mine, as far as the eye can see! Beautiful.

Every thing was nice and clean, the housekeeping ladies work hard and have some long days. Grounds are kept up nicely and there's a little guy who lines up the lounge chairs every day just so. The small pool was nice and clean and had a handicap chair lift for entrance and exit which I thought was a great thing for those that need it.

I was able to see a few other units, wow, some are remodeled and decorated beautifully. A few were pretty tired and needed some flooring and fixing. The back windows facing the street were pretty much all in need of replacing I noticed.

Used the laundry facilities down by the office and visited with Melissa one day, Nice to meet somebody you had only talked to by phone. She said we could make a reservation a year out, and we'll be ready to go back .

It was easy to go out the keyed gate and cross the street to Denny's, Moose McGillacuddy's or Fred's Mexican Restaurant. They have lots of coupons in the brochures, so pick them up at the airport, There are some down by the office and across the street too. whaler's general store is good for anything you forgot to bring and ABC store is just down the street. The bus stops across the street, take it up to the big mall at Kahalui .it's only 2 bucks for a day pass, lots of stops, but fun.

We were with a group of 4 couples, 3 couples had never been to Maui, we were able to show them places and get them doing some of the fun things that are so accessible from the Kihei area. Only missed the sunset from the lawn or lanai one evening, this place has THE best view of the sun setting and you have to hear the conch, you know you are in Paradise for sure.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank montana-Gma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2011

We stayed at Hale Pau Hana for two nights in December 2011 and had a very enjoyable stay. First off, the hotel was probably built in the early 70's and the look of our room certainly reflected that, as it appeared the room hadn't been updated much since, in fact the bathroom was small and very basic. However, what makes up for the older decor is the view. Amazing ocean views.

My other negative is that there was no washer and dryer in the unit, although there is paid wash room near the management office. Also, the walkway goes right by the window of the bedroom so you can't open the window, or you'll hear people walking by all night. In fact, our window had been rusted shut. The only way to get fresh air into the room is to keep the door open. The unit also did not have a screen door, so we had to keep the front door fully open sometimes, which was annoying at times.

The location of this property can't be beat. Very easy access to the beach, and you can walk across the street to some great restaurants and bars. There is also plenty of parking in the parking lot, and we even had some guests visit and they had no problem finding parking.

The property seems to be very well managed and the housekeeping staff did a wonderful job making sure our room was in tip top shape every day.

Finally, the pool is tiny and the water seemed like it was salt water, although I'm guessing that it was because so many people would go into the pool after swimming in the ocean. There are also a ton of chairs and chaise lounges on the lawn and pool available for guests.

Finally, it was nice to see that the unit had free Wi-Fi available, which worked very reliably.

Overall, we had a very pleasurable stay at Hale Pau Hana and we would definitely return.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank volkswankin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2011

Mexican resorts may have a bit of gun fire but but at least it's not the constant Hammering Drilling and Construction noise we have experianced at Hale Pau Hana on Maui. We have made over a dozen calls and two emails trying to get a cleaning ( Day 15 ). And the treat for today is NO Water. If you want a truly third world experiance try this resort. Hale Pau Holiday ( House of no Holiday)

Room Tip: Wait till they get their act togeather It used to be good has a nice location but is a mess right now
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Taggish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2011

These condos are like going on vacation, and coming home. Not great if you want spring break party, but full of families and those who have had a lot of birthdays pass. Very relaxing. Perfect location and views

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sliguori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews