We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of the Best”
Review of Scuba Luv Maui

Scuba Luv Maui
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: PADI Dive Resort,established in 1970; small groups offer personalized service with aloha ( "We know where the critters are!"); Daily Introductory Dives (Intro dives count toward certification); guided reef dives; PADI certifications; underwater scooter dives on the the "hands free" Apollo AV2 Scooters; Night dives and boat dives too. We are at a beachfront location on the border of Wailea and Kihei. The waters here are calmer and clear; the inside reef is excellent for beginners and the outer reef makes for epic scooter diving! We are also mobile and can dive up to six different sites including Keawakapu Reef, Turtle Town, Five Graves, Wreck of the St. Anthony, Maluaka Reef, The Landing Craft and The Tank! Owned and operated by Diana & Steve Madaras from Catalina Scuba Luv. Check website for weekly "Critter of the week report".
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Chesterfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best of the Best”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We have been diving 10 years with over 40 dive shops throughout the world. That said, DI, Pat, Matt and Steve made our trip to MAUI truly memorable. I m deep water certified, but we had our two grandsons 10 and 14, and their dads who are not certified along on the trip and desired to make a family dive.
Di set it up for us so I could accompany the kids and their dads on the resort dive. Neither of the boys had tried scua before the trip.
Pat did an outtanding job on the predive instruction, in water familiarization and guide throughout the dive. He was friendly yet professional in his teaching.
He took pictures of the boys swimming alongside a Hawaiian Sea Turtle and several other critters. He got a lot in on the 50 minute dive and the boys were estatic for the rest of the trip with their experience and photos.
They are truly friendly and enjoy their clients and as a diver and grandpa, you can feel it.
Thank you all for the best experience ever. Yes, we have dove wrecks, deep and with sharks but the experience that day with you all cannot be compared.
Best of luck in the coming years and thank you one last time.
Jim Lambert
ps BTW the shirt I bought actually beat me home by two days. Wearing it to the lake tomorrow.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank jiml333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    8
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Awesome dive experience”
Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

As new divers we were looking for a personalized, high quality dive company. We used Scuba Luv and highly recommend them to all. Di, one of the owners, was quick to reply to my email inquiry. We spoke on the phone to firm up my reservation and give me the chance to ask many questions. Di was friendly and helpful and not worried about taking out new divers as other companies were. They schedule their groups carefully to make sure everyone gets what they need-new or experienced divers alike. Our dive master, Pat, was patient and helpful. During our second day diving with Scuba Luv, we used the power scooters-what a great time that was! If you are looking for a shore dive company, give them a try.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Janet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Time”
Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

In our group we had an experienced diver, two adults who had done one or two resort dives, and two young first-timers. Pat, our instructor, did a great job. He learned and remembered all of our names. He made learning fun for the kids, but still impressed upon everyone the seriousness of the skills we'd be learning. We did a show dive right off the beach, and found some great underwater sea life, including a beautiful sea turtle. Pat also took some amazing photos. Great place to dive with.We made the trip from Ka'anapali, and it was well worth it.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank ChrisSTL2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Level Contributor
406 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Great people, great dive, best in Maui”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

My eleven year old daughter and my wife and I wanted to dive while visiting Maui on a family vacation. We are all certified, but the youngest can only dive to 35 feet. We called two other dive shops that were recommended to us, but they didn't want to deal with us because of the depth limitation. They said all of their dives were to a greater depth and they weren't willing to modify things.

I called Scuba Luv Maui and was immediately impressed with the woman on the phone (I later met her - it was Diane the owner and she was awesome). We arranged a shore dive for the three of us with Pat.

The site was just down the street from our hotel (Grand Wailea). The equipment was in good shape, the location was perfect for us and Pat was really great with my daughter. We saw huge turtles, beautiful coral, some cool fish, eel and more.

We liked it so much we went back the next day and Pat came in on his day off to dive with us.

He also took tons of pictures and spent a great deal of time touching them up and emailing them to us. There was a charge for it, but considering how much everything in Maui costs, It was reasonable.

The cost of the dive was less than all of the other shops by quite a bit and we got a discount for our second dives.

If you are looking for SCUBA in Maui, you're crazy if you don't call Scuba Luv Maui.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Danield528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
107 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great experience”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We did our open water certification dive 1 & 2 with Pat. Overall it was a good experience, but due to the weather our dive had to be moved and when we did dive the visibility was about 10-15ft. Pat was great at reviewing all the skill we would be doing in the water and it was a good experience to dive under not ideal conditions. Diane was very attentive to all my emails and coordinating everything up until the very last day. The service was excellent. I believe all the dives are shore dives just an FYI.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank MikeSmith43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scuba Luv Maui also viewed

 

Been to Scuba Luv Maui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing