We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Magical Place Jaw Dropping Beauty”
Front of property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of property
Daytime view of Pacific Ocean from house Dining Room and Ocean View
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
Front of property
Daytime view of Pacific Ocean from house
Dining Room and Ocean View
Living Room with Pacific Ocean View
Dining-Kitchen
Beautifully renovated Bedroom with ocean view and private bath.
Newly Renovated Bedroom Sitting Area
Newly Renovated Bedroom with ocean view and private bath.
Newly Renovated Bedroom with ocean view and private bath.
Newly Renovated Bedroom Sitting Area with ocean view and private bath.
4th Bedroom with ocean view and private bath. Newly renovated with trundle beds.
Pacific Ocean view from property
Aerial shot of Property
View from driveway to property
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 11
Kihei, Maui, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
DayTrip80...
Moorestown, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Magical Place Jaw Dropping Beauty”
Reviewed July 29, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Seven of us ages 18 to 69 stayed at this wonderful property to celebrate my upcoming 70th birthday. While the website pictures were beautiful, they didn't do justice to the actual beauty of the property. We were blown away by the reality of what we found when we arrived. Even before we unpacked the car, we went down to the water and there were two large turtles swimming right in front of us to greet us! Although we had lots of activities scheduled during our week stay, we hated leaving the house. Our favorite activity was spending time on the stone terrace starring at the view in front of the house. Watching the surf crash on the rocks was mesmerizing. We loved sitting on the porch or on the terrace eating our meals or having a beer or glass of wine. The house is very well outfitted, the Lu'uwais thought of everything a family would need to enjoy themselves and be comfortable. There is a beach literally next door and probably five others within five minutes away. They are all set up with a big grill outside and the kitchen is also well equipped. The only problem is that all our family keeps asking when we can go back. The Lu'uwais are great hosts.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location/view
Liked least: Having to leave
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Reviewed June 2, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hawaii
Reviewed November 15, 2012 for a stay in October 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
San Francisco
Reviewed October 17, 2012 for a stay in September 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
San Francisco
Reviewed October 17, 2012 for a stay in September 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Upngone
Seattle, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Perfect family reunion”
Reviewed June 14, 2012 for a stay in May 2012

My family enjoyed a perfect family reunion at Makena Landing. The house was clean and comfortable and easily accommodated all seven of us. We enjoyed sitting out on the patio by the ocean, sipping coffee and watching the dawn, and sipping wine and watching the sun set. We snorkeled every day right in front of the house, seeing sea turtles and lots of colorful fish. We also rented four paddle boards for the week and had them delivered to the house. It was just a short walk over the the adjacent public beach to launch them. When a plumbing issue arose, Helen's handyman promptly fixed it (he also gave us some good tips on where to snorkel). It was a very relaxing week for my family, which was just what we were looking for. Perhaps the best recommendation is that everyone in my family wants to go back. We have already recommended it to several friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location was perfect
Liked least: The driveway is steep with a turn. Just take it very slowly, and use a spotter.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside
Reviewed May 25, 2012 for a stay in March 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing