We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Kihei
Review Highlights
Whales!!!!

Been to Maui several times but this was the first during whale season. Our guide, Russ, was... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
Fredandethe
,
Santa Rosa Beach, Florida
via mobile
Highlight of our trip

What can I say...this was one of the most exciting and memorable experiences of my life! Our... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
mjpavek
,
New Market, Minnesota
Read all 1,350 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Maui
from $115.60
More Info
from $75.62
More Info
from $151.67
More Info
from $149.73
More Info
Reviews (1,350)
Filter reviews
1,350 results
Traveler rating
1,328
21
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,328
21
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews outrigger canoe private kayak hawaiian culture sea turtles fish whale watching marine life kayak trip amazing pictures makena landing see whales great guide took pictures own pace highlight of our trip an amazing experience turtle town
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 1,350 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This was a life changing experience. Andrew was amazing. Don’t leave Maui without kayaking with the whales.

Date of experience: December 2019
Thank Mmcgooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2020

We had a terrific experience with Hawaiian Paddle Sports on our outrigger canoe/whale watching trip. Kia'i was an excellent guide, providing lots of direction and encouragement. We were lucky and saw lots of whales, including one that swam right by our boat. It was definitely a highlight of our trip.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank robertacP5123YS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2020

My sisters and I booked the whale watching kayak tour in Maui. This excursion was by far the best tour we have ever experienced! We went early on a private Kayak tour with Jason, he‘s awesome! He really told us a lot about fish, turtles and whales of course. We were lucky to see a few whales in the distance and then we got even luckier when some whales approached us to check us out. Remaining still and not moving we waited until these gentle giants realized we were not that interesting and so they moved on.
Afterwards we made a short stop to snorkel and we saw so many turtles and a ton of other sea life. Amazing!! Thank you!

Bonus: Jason took a bunch of pictures and send them to you via email at no extra cost! We received the link before we even got back to our hotel.

We can highly recommend this tour

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank N3256FIstefanieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2020

Had an amazing morning on the water with Cory from Hawaiian Paddle Sports. We almost cancelled due to a change in location due to high winds, causing us to start our day a little earlier than planned from our hotel location (6 am) to get to Makena in time. However, I am so glad we didn't. The timing was perfect to start the day early. Cory was very informative and passionate about the ocean and the ocean life. His care for the environment was really appreciated. We had 2 great snorkel stops. We saw starfish, turtles, and many eels. As well has some beautiful fish including a unicorn fish and some species that Cory took time to show us that are more unique. Good to have a little strength to get on and off your kayak in open water, but we managed okay. Also consider bringing a rash guard or wet suit top as one stop was a little cool at this time of the year (January). Also remember your reef safe sunscreen. Thanks to Cory and the HPS team for being so organized with the booking and location change. It's obvious this is a well run organization. Thank you!!! :-)

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank 784hollyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawaiianPaddleSports, Manager at Hawaiian Paddle Sports, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2020

Mahalo for joining us at Hawaiian Paddle Sports. Makena may be a bit of a drive from West Maui but it is worth it. The Makena area is usually better weather and conditions, along with great marine life amongst beautiful reef structures. It is important to our entire team here at HPS to provide the best possible experience for our guests. We are stoked you had an amazing morning and reservation experience. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2019 via mobile

Hawaiian Paddle is a great outfit for both sea kayaking and surfing lessons. We were able to see whales on our kayak tour and snorkel with turtles. The surfing instructors made it super easy to get up and actual catch a wave. On top of all of that they are a great eco friendly company. Mahalo to you all!

Date of experience: December 2019
Thank scottW2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews