We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Viewing Humpback Whales from a kayak

Kris did a great job launching our double kayak and keeping track of the group tour. She gave us an... read more

Reviewed 6 days ago
Beverly H
So many whales!

Katie did an awesome job guiding us to see these majestic animals while keeping us safe and showing... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Elbert C
Read all 1,377 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Maui
from $98.00
More Info
from $119.50
More Info
from $159.95
More Info
from $84.14
More Info
Reviews (1,377)
Filter reviews
1,377 results
Traveler rating
1,354
21
2
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,354
21
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews outrigger canoe private tour fish whale watching kayak trip amazing pictures curtis paddling photos whales guide company hawaii snorkel adventure surfing board
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
62 - 67 of 1,377 reviews
Reviewed August 20, 2019

I had so much fun! Enzo is a fantastic teacher! He taught me lots, was patient and had a personality that made you feel relax and really enabled me to have a lot of fun. Definitely the best instructor I’ve ever had!

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank brittlock
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 31, 2019

We booked a private kayak/snorkel adventure with Hawaiian Paddle Sports in late July. We were a family of 7 (ages 15-49) and Curtis was our guide. We immediately appreciated his care and concern for the environment, the ocean habitat and the Hawaiian culture - e malama ana i ka honua! Curtis was awesome, the equipment was great but the water was not kind to four individuals in our party as motion sickness set-in rather quickly. We hoped that jumping in the water to snorkel would help with the sickness and nauseau but it only made it worse. Had I anticipated that motion sickenss might be an issue, I would have grabbed our dramamine and ginger tablets. Our experience with motion sickness alone would be one of my strongest recommendations for booking a private tour with HPS rather than a large-group, large-boat excursion. Curtis knew some of us weren't feeling well and there was no guilt, no pressue to continue our excursion - rather we returned to land a bit earlier than expected. We were disappointed to see only one swimming turtle and one turtle resting on the ocean floor during our excursion. The fish were not nearly as plentiful as they have been in other locations that we've snorkeled (Cayman, Belize, Mexico) and so we'll chalk it up to bad luck but we are still grateful to Curtis for his efforts in finding marine life as well as the awesome pictures he captured. Don't let our experience with motion sickness stop you - just pack something as a precaution. Great company. Great mission. Great employee.

Date of experience: July 2019
1  Thank MamaBuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HawaiianPaddleSports, Manager at Hawaiian Paddle Sports, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2019

Aloha,
Mahalo for joining us at Hawaiian Paddle Sports. We are sorry to hear you experienced some sea sickness. It can certainly happen to those that may be prone to it. Booking a private tour does allow our guides to care for you and give you the necessary attention. The coral reef systems and fish species vary by geographic regions based on nutrients in the water, water temperature and different marine life. For example, Hawaii has hard corals versus the many soft colorful corals you see in the Caribbean which provides a much different snorkeling experience. Thank you for sharing in our appreciation, care and respsect to the ocean here in Maui. We hope your experience with us allowed you to know a bit more about our Hawaiian culture.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2019 via mobile

We had a great time today with Curtis from Hawaiian Paddle Sports! Did some kayaking and snorkelling and saw lots of fish, turtles, and also an eel and octopus. He had lots of great information for us during our tour and he took amazing photos! Was a great morning out on the water!

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank Tracy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 28, 2019

This was our second outing with Hawaiian Paddle Sports in two years. Both times we've done the Outrigger Canoe Trip which was one of our best experiences in Maui. This time, Tim, the owner took us out. We love the small group (no more than 5 customers at a time), personal attention and experience and the unique cultural learning experience. The guides are very knowledgeable of Hawaiian culture and history which they are proud to share. This is a hands-on experience with getting the canoe ready, pushing it into the surf, and paddling off shore with some of the best views of the islands. We learned about the various islands, sea life, language and culture of the native peoples. Stopped for snorkeling where the coral, fish and turtles don't disappoint. The guide joins in snorkeling, and points out specific fish and coral. The great bonus is the guide takes lots of amazing pictures both above and below ocean level, and sends you a link to all the photos. Amazing keepsake. We love this tour and like to do it each time we visit Maui.

Date of experience: July 2019
1  Thank adfefewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 22, 2019

Our family of five, with three teenage boys, hit the jackpot with HPS. First we took surfing lessons with Enzo & Greg. Both guys were friendly, fun, knowledgeable and total professionals. They gave us excellent tutorials on how to surf (first time for all of us) and got EVERY one of us up! We had a blast. The next day was our kayak & snorkel trip in Makena Cove with HPS and imagine our delight when we pulled up to the truck and discovered Enzo would be our guide! Enzo is so knowledgeable with the bay and it’s creatures and has strong family connections to that special place. Enzo helped us discover beautiful reef fish, an eagle ray and lovable turtles in his special spots. We give high praise to HPS, Greg and to our special new Ohana member, Enzo.

Date of experience: July 2019
2  Thank Tara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews