We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“what a wonderful way to experience Maui, and a great work out to boot.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hawaiian Paddle Sports

Hawaiian Paddle Sports
Ranked #1 of 79 Tours in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Private Kayak and Outrigger Canoe Snorkel Tours. Surf Lessons, SUP (Stand Up Paddleboard) Hawaiian Paddle Sports offers a private alternative for Ocean Activities on Maui! If going out on crowded, diesel burring boat isn't your idea for ocean activities and you'd rather avoid going out with one of Large Kayak Companies or Surf Schools perhaps we are what you are looking for! We focus on attention to detail and the over all guest experience. Guide operated, Hawaiian Paddle Sports sets the bar for ocean activities on Maui. Whale Watching and Sea Turtle Snorkel Tours on Hawaiian Outrigger Canoes, Ocean Kayaks. We also offer "Guaranteed To Surf" Surfing Lessons or Stand Up Paddle Boards. All of our tours/lessons are Private.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
New Hope, PA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“what a wonderful way to experience Maui, and a great work out to boot.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2012

My husband and I took the outrigger excursion to track whales but also to try an outrigger canoe. Tim is an instructor as well as a competitive paddler, and I had not the slightest doubt that we were with a consummate professional. The whales were a little elusive but it wasn't for lack of trying! We learned a lot about them and Hawaiian culture and got a fantastic workout. A wonderful morning.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank mspossum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

986 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    972
    13
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Scituate, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Absolutely the highlight of our Maui Vacation!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2012

We went on a 6-person canoe and paddled with Tim and Jane--two very enthusiastic and fun guides....paddled to Molokini and back.....saw several whales--one group came within 20 feet of our canoe!!! It was amazing!! Tim was very knowledgable about the whales as well as Maui. So glad we did this trip....it was well worth the money!! This was by far the most enjoyable excursion we had on Maui!!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank laf81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
“Unforgettable experience interacting with the whales”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2012

A definite must when visiting Maui! Whether you're an experienced or inexperienced paddler, it is awesome paddling in the beautiful oceans of Maui. This is your own private tour and our guide, Tim, was very charming and patient! He shares his knowledge of the Hawaiian culture and the sea life. We followed a baby, mama and escort whale for a couple of hours. The baby was so curious that it came right up to the boat! At one point, we looked down in the water and noticed they were sitting below us! A very memorable experience and we will definitely do it again!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2012

Outrigger paddling, whale sightings, and snorkling all in a few hours with a guide well versed in Hawiian history, language and knowledge of the sea. We paddled out almost 2 miles from shore headed in the direction of the whale spouts. The whales didn't dissapoint us, we saw tails, dorsal fins, and even a breach. On the way back we snorkled in a coral reef with an array of beautiful fish and sea turtles. Tim is an excellent guide, and made the experience well worth it.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank michael60763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wailuku, Hawaii, United States
1 review
“Mind blowing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2012

So awesome! The tour guide knows exactly what he's doing.. Knows exactly where and how to visit with the whales. An unforgettable experience.. Not to be missed..for those who live on Maui or not. I actually live here, and I have been out whale watching before .. On a large commercial boat. Wow.. It's a completely different experience.. Way worth it to be in a canoe and get your paddling on. I highly suggest this for all!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jackie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hawaiian Paddle Sports also viewed

 

Been to Hawaiian Paddle Sports? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing