We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“AWESOME PLACE !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taqueria Cruz

Taqueria Cruz
Ranked #59 of 176 Restaurants in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $10
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Established in 2008. Taqueria Cruz is a fourth & fifth generation family-owned and operated business which was first established by our great-grandparents in the beautiful Wine Country of the Napa Valley. Our family got into the restaurant business in 1951, building a warm and successful eatery from the ground up, and we are willing to bet that they never imagined all of their hard work and love for cooking would one day reach beyond the vineyards and blossom on the beautiful island of Maui. We are very proud of our family history as well as our culture, and we know you will taste the love in our food. So please come and let us share with you what they have shared with us. From our family to yours, the love and aloha of Taqueria Cruz.
Wailuku, Hawaii
Level Contributor
52 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“AWESOME PLACE !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

What a great casual place to hang out! Awesome food, the owner and his wife worked "hands on" in the kitchen. If you're looking for a fast food drive-in........ don't go to Taqueria Cruz. The food was made fresh and the prices were resonable. On Friday night the live music was really good! Laid back 60's, 70's, classic rock, acoustic style music & alot of laughter! The songs brought back alot of memories. I would definately visit Taqueria Cruz again! It was BYOB...... I loved not paying high priced drink prices!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank musicbyellisayres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    52
    15
    2
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great food, value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

Little hole in the wall place with quick service, great tacos (5-6 to choose from) and live music on Tues and Sat.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SeaBiscuit13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
117 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great Find!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

Some of the best Mexican food we've come across in the islands, especially for a small fast type of restaurant. It's in the back of a strip mall, not many seats but hey the beach is right across the street! These guys are a family from Cali, and we California people know our Mexican food. Tacos were delicious and the rice and beans were better than many in CA.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ohanatravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great casual dining!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

This place has great fish tacos, burritos, taco salads, quesadillas and more! Tucked into the corner of a long strip of businesses, it's set back from all the hubbub of S Kihei Road. Order inside, sit at tables outside, and hopefully catch some good live music! They have people play music a couple days of the week; both musicians we caught were a great accompaniment to a delicious meal. And the people that run the place are a lovely bunch. Skip the overpriced tourist-laden restaurants on the main drag and enjoy a nice casual meal at Taqueria Cruz.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JauntyAlouette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“sorry to the owners”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

after reading some positive reviews about this restaurant and the fact they offer byo we decided to give them a try..

We would never go back...bad food ,bad value ,bad atmosphere etc..

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TGP19977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taqueria Cruz also viewed

 

Been to Taqueria Cruz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing