We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I've never surfed before!”
Review of Maui Wave Riders

Maui Wave Riders
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: MWR is a family owned and operated business dedicated to providing surfing lessons to each student with a fun, safe and unforgettable surf experience. We adapt our style of teaching to the ability of each student. We will go that extra mile to make your surf experience the most memorable highlight of your vacation!
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Okay my husband and kids had gone surfing already up in Lahaina, so my daughter thought this would be a really fun mother-daughter activity to do just us two. She is a snowboarder and took to surfing - well - like a fish to water (sorry!). She talked me into it and I'm glad for it. I'm almost 50 and my caught a wave (with the instructor's help of course) on my first attempt. Maui Wave Riders is a really well run organization, very friendly, and very knowledgeable. They'll make sure you have a good time! Pre-water instruction was helpful (though half of it forgotten once you;re in the water). The water was warm and shallow so relatively easy to get off and on as needed. the Kihei site is pretty rocky though so the water shoes are a must. Kihei was our instructor and he made the morning all the better. Indeed it was a fun mother-daughter thing to do, but honestly would be fun for any age. Seriously. You get a free board rental with your lesson, so my daughter went back and did some surfing on her own. Yes, she's hooked!

1  Thank aig63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maui W, Manager at Maui Wave Riders, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Thank you for the review! We are happy to hear that you had a great time surfing with Kihe in Kihei! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (673)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

530 - 534 of 673 reviews

Reviewed January 22, 2013

What a great experience the wonderful Maui Wave Riders staff provided for the two teenage girls we brought to them to learn to surf. They are very fun and relaxed yet professional. Even the photographer was great fun and took lots of photos for the girls to have as mementos of this great experience. Thank you to the wonderful staff at Maui Wave Riders.

Thank lightlysalted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maui W, Manager at Maui Wave Riders, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Thanks so much for the great review and the compliments. We appreciate it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

These guys are legit! We had a great experience. My Dad, girlfriend, and I took a lesson this past Wednesday afternoon with Todd in Lahaina. With Todd's instruction we all got up, rode multiple waves and had a blast! I took lessons from another joint at Kaanapali beach the last time I was in Maui and these guys were night and day, hands down BETTER without question or hesitation! Highly recommend!!!

The guy from "New York" who wrote the bad review in December either took a wrong turn or works for the competition...LOL!

Thank Dustin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maui W, Manager at Maui Wave Riders, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Haha! Thanks for the great review! We agree with you about the review from NY :) So happy you guys had such an awesome time with Todd--come back and surf with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Awesome company. Our instructor Andrew was wonderful. He was very attentive and patient. We went twice and would go back again. Go early in your trip because you will want to go again.

Thank cowgirl49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We were a group of 3 adults and 2 kids and I have to say I was impressed by the instructors at Maui Wave Riders. They want to make sure that everybody can get up on the surf board and we all succeeded, after being encouraged and supported in a friendly matter. Also, by the end of the lesson, we were told that we could use the surf board for the rest of the day, but we declined as we were all too exhausted from our hard work

Thank AdventurerLinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maui Wave Riders also viewed

 

Been to Maui Wave Riders? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing