We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A highlight of our trip” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maui Beach Boys

Maui Beach Boys
Ranked #6 of 79 Tours in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Locally owned, Maui Beach Boy's is a fully licensed and insured operated Maui Surf school Based in Kihei Hi. We also offer surfing tours.Also serving the Lahaina area.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
96 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“A highlight of our trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

Our kids were booked in the 8AM time slot to enjoy thier first experience surfing in a slightly tamer surf. The Maui Beach Boys instructor was calm and confident which transferred to the kids as they first enjoyed "on-land" training, and then headed out to the waves. Equipped with good surf shoes and a rash guard shirt, close to two hours were spent learning how to surf. And amazingly, all participants were up surfing within their first or second try! The kids enjoyed it so much that we all rented boards again further down the beach for a day.

Of note though - you have to have surf shoes and the rash guard. It is a very shallow, rock and coral-laden area and it would be very easy to injure yourself falling. Maui Beach Boys was kind enough to provide us surf shoes as well for the two hours so that we could get out and take all the pictures!

Thanks again for a great experience!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Water F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBMBB, Owner at Maui Beach Boys, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Mahalo for the kind review...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

872 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    813
    44
    10
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pella, Iowa
2 reviews
“Great surfing for a 40 year old!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

I went surfing with Lu on an individual lesson and had a great time! I had been surfing once before 6 years ago and Lu was very patient and really helpful. He had me paddling and jumping up on my own by the end of my lesson. Bonus-sea turtles kept popping up literally 10 feet away from us while we waited for the perfect wave. Overall simply awesome!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank QueenValerieJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBMBB, Owner at Maui Beach Boys, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Mahalo for the kind review.........
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“We had such an amazing time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

For the second year in a row my family chose to take surfing lessons with the Maui Beach Boys. Our instructor was Carlos and he was incredible. Super positive with a focus on safety and of course fun. The two hours flew by. We absolutely loved it. The personal touches of the whole team were what sealed the deal for us. Drinks, granola bars and friendly outgoing team members is what brings the customers back. I liked the photographer who personally asked us before surfing if we were interested in having pictures. We agreed and with no pressure after our surf we were given an opportunity to see them in private. Nice touch.
If you're going to try surfing, these are your boys and girls.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank janis g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBMBB, Owner at Maui Beach Boys, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Mahalo for that nice review......
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“PHENOMENAL EXPERIENCE!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

Last year our family of three took two sessions of surfing lessons and they were amazing, they were personable and offered advice when needed. Coming back this year, we had it in mind that we absolutely had to do it again. This trip we came with a group of 11 and were a little worried about having the same experience last time. This time was even better! We all got out of the cars and Carlos was there to greet us. He was so funny, personable and knew as soon as we were in the water what we could handle and how to push us. We also had La who was amazing, super nice and knew, like Carlos, what we could handle. Both were AMAZING instructors and would recommend the both any time.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank AnnalisaTurner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBMBB, Owner at Maui Beach Boys, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Mahalo nice review......Have fun in the water
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
1 review
“Awesome Instructors”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

Had a really great time surfing!! Price for group instruction is good, and employees are very friendly. They offer you drinks and granola bars, and provide you with a rash guard, board, and shoes. I had Carlos as my instructor, and he did a GREAT job!!! Got up on my board almost every time, and same with the rest of my group. He was very friendly, and has had over 40 years of surfing experience. I would highly recommend Maui Beach Boys for surfing!!!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank GNis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBMBB, Owner at Maui Beach Boys, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Mahalo for the nice review...................We love the feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maui Beach Boys also viewed

 

Been to Maui Beach Boys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing