We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An absolutely awesome starting point for surfing!”
Review of Maui Beach Boys

Maui Beach Boys
Ranked #6 of 82 Tours in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Locally owned, Maui Beach Boy's is a fully licensed and insured operated Maui Surf school Based in Kihei Hi. We also offer surfing tours.Also serving the Lahaina area.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“An absolutely awesome starting point for surfing!”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

This was our first time surfing and the Maui Beach Boys made it an unforgettable experience. We had a fantastic day and by the end were riding waves on our own thanks to the lesson and help of one of the surf instructors "Roy" who was an absolutely awesome guy with a very chilled out and friendly nature. It really made the day very relaxing and enjoyable.

By the end of the session we were completely "surfed out" and didn't realise how much of a work out surfing was! Great fun though and very good value.

To sum up the guys, they are all a bunch of very nice people - extremely friendly and make you feel very comfortable from the moment that you arrive in the car park and wonder over to their surf vans.

There is also the option to have photos takes by one of the team whilst you're out on the waves and a few as you head out with the boards which is highly recommended, it was $35 and we ended up leaving with a cd with around 30 - 40 great photos and we are extremely happy with the quality of them.

For anyone beginning surfing, we highly recommend using the Maui Beach Boys, great crew and an awesome time out!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank andyphillips27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBMBB, Owner at Maui Beach Boys, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Aloha, Thanks for the nice review..Roy has been on the water a long time a veteran...Mahalo and will see you in the water...........................JB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

909 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    848
    46
    10
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tipperary, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
71 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fun, Fun, Fun”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

First time surfing was a great time with Carlos. He was patient and encouraging. Safety was a priority as well as having a great time. Next time to Maui will include a lesson with Maui Beach Boys. Highlight of my trip. Thanks for the awesome time.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank ironhrse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBMBB, Owner at Maui Beach Boys, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Mahalo for your review......We loved having you and loved your review....Thankyou sooooo much............JB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Surf with MBB!!”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We wanted to learn to surf on our honeymoon but didn't get around to it. When I told my husband about it for our first anniversary he was wary and was nervous (more for what could be in the water below us). We signed up for group lessons at 8am and lucky us, no one else had signed up and we had the instructor (Dylan) all to ourselves. Right from the beginning, Dylan was super nice and helpful. After 5 minutes of instruction, we were in the water and my husband was already up! Took me a few more times and a change in which foot was in front, but once I got up it was so much fun. Dylan was very encouraging and seemed to genuinely enjoy his job and see others succeed. He also gave us a few suggestions on what else to do while in Maui which was nice. Also, we enjoyed the CD of pictures (extra fee for this) and they turned out great!

This was the highlight of our trip thanks to Dylan and MBB! We hope to be back!!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Julie_T1515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBMBB, Owner at Maui Beach Boys, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Mahalo for your review...We love that this was the highlight of your trip ..Aloha abd well see you in the water.............JB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“Great Surfing Experience!”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I was a bit apprehensive, but Dylan was patient, encouraging, and professional. For the first timer the instructor makes all the difference and Dylan was great. He made you feel like you really accomplished something once you were able to stand and surf. I also observed some of the other instructors and, where DO you get such nice guys?!
Sarah was also very nice and professional. She must tell people the same thing several times a day, day after day, but she made you feel like you were her very first with an enthusiastic smile on her face.
The area where you take the lesson is fairly calm (compared to other areas) and shallow and a great place to learn. I would go back in a heart beat! Just know they only take cash or checks in payment so go prepared!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBMBB, Owner at Maui Beach Boys, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Aloha glad you had a great time in the water with us...................Mahalo for your review...JB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Best Surfing Experience on the Island!”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

My husband and I took a surf lesson with Carlos and had the time of our lives! He was helpful and encouraging throughout the entire lesson. He also individualized his teaching when we were out on the water making sure each of the six people in our group had a fun and successful surfing experience. After only two tries we were riding waves all the way into the shore! Everyone in the group got to ride MANY waves each and my husband and I got to ride a few together which was really fun. Also, thank you to Sarah for recommending that I get some long board shorts to cover my upper legs so u don't get board rash from surfing! Great tip! (and thanks for keeping our belongings safe while we enjoyed our time on the water!)

Helpful?
Thank cordnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBMBB, Owner at Maui Beach Boys, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Mahalo for your review...................Sarah is my best beach girl and Karl is my best beach boy.............Aloha for now .JB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maui Beach Boys also viewed

 

Been to Maui Beach Boys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing