We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food - no frills!”
Review of Home Maid Cafe

Home Maid Cafe
Ranked #68 of 178 Restaurants in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Diner
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Maui, Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Good food - no frills!”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Stopped in here for a late morning breakfast and we were pleasantly surprised. Stepping into the place you wonder, but the lack of decorating does not impact the food. It is small. There are some 4 person and 2 person booths and a couple of tables outside. Breakfast seems to be one of those meals that can easily get messed up. I admit that I am a breakfast potato snob. I really like hash browns which are grated potatoes with a nice crunchy top and bottom, and that is exactly what I got. I had the corn beef hash which is a choice as a "meat" which I really liked because I do not eat much pork, eggs over easy, and hash browns. Everything was cooked very well. My husband had the French toast, which looked like it might be challah or sweet bread, and a friend also had French toast with extra crispy bacon which was also perfectly cooked - not a burnt edge anywhere. If you want juice, or something cold to drink you choose it out of a cooler. Prices are reasonable. I am told that the Masalas are delicious, we will try those next time. We would definitely go back.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Canrej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    48
    17
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
SF Bay Area
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Filthy and Slowww....”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Small menu, lack of imagination, and the whole establishment was FILTHY! This restaurant needs an F rating from the health department!

When we walked in the door, our red flags immediately told us to walk away, but so many reviews gave this local eatery high marks. We waited to order, sat down with our coffee, and regretted our choice to stay. We observed very little food coming out of the kitchen. We waited 30 minutes before we gave up and approached the staff to see if we could cancel our breakfast. No problem, they hadn't even begun cooking it. After taking our order 30 minutes ago, they told us it would be at least another 30 minutes or more to get our order to us. We took our money and ran!
We witnessed staff rubbing nose, then touching food items and prep area without washing hands! Disorganized family Mom and Pop operation with Pop at the griddle! It was obvious he had no ability to multi-task to get more than one person's order out at a time, let alone a table of four. He also had to stop cooking in order to mix pancake mix. Took 4-5 minutes away from griddle. Home Maid Cafe needs serious help. I'd suggest you go to Kihei Cafe a mile up the road.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HossSFBayArea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupertino, California
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Great little hole in the wall”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

We had a wonderful brunch at this mom and pop diner. The loco moco was hearty and tasty. And the malasada was heavenly. We also enjoyed the customer service here. The guy behind the counter was very friendly and helpful. Also, the price was reasonable. Our bill averaged out to around $9 per person.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gaakin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria BC Canada
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good, reasonable breakfast. Lacking in decor.”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised by our breakfasts on last day of our vacation. Very good bacon and eggs, cooked just right. Great hash browns. Toast could be better with a choice of local jam. Some local choices for breakfast which was nice. Portions not overwhelming. Good Kona coffee. Next time we will go back for the malasadas and breakfast.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BCroadtripper1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escondido, California, USA
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice hole on the wall”
Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

Excellent malasadas; I recommend the cream filled. We had the French toast platter with the Portuguese sausage. The French toast was delicious and cooked perfectly. The sausage was well seasoned and perfectly browned. No complaints about the eggs over easy. We didn't have to wait long for our food but since everything was made to order, we expected it to take at least the 10 minutes that it took.

Helpful?
Thank Trinni S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Home Maid Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Home Maid Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing