We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem in Kihei”
Review of 808 Bistro

808 Bistro
Ranked #16 of 177 Restaurants in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $32
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: American Style bistro serving refined comfort food for dinner, prices under $22. Full bar, Open air dinning, ocean view, and natural air conditioning. Now open for Breakfast, 7am to 11am, Brunch 11am to 3pm and dinner 5pm to 9pm.
Kihei, Hawaii
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hidden gem in Kihei”
Reviewed August 19, 2014

My husband & I took my sister here for her Bday which is 8/8 so we thought it was fitting. She was on vacation, and we'd been wanting to try it. We enjoyed the whole experience! We knew it is BYOB, so we brought a nice bottle of wine. We split a large salad which was very nicely presented on 3 plates. We all chose the seafood entrees, Ahi & mahi which were both delicious and came with a few nice sides. We all cleaned our plates, everything was superb. The atmosphere is lovely and not as closed it as it would appear from the street. We could see out to the ocean. We will definitely be going back soon!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GBGal12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,336 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    801
    382
    105
    30
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maple Ridge, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Best Sandwich on the Planet!”
Reviewed August 18, 2014

We eat here at least 5 times every visit (or more!) and have had just about everything on the menu. Nothing is below 5 star. We even pre-order a sandwich for the place ride home. Pudding is amazing as well. A MUST do on Maui

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stacey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
69 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Just as good the second time around”
Reviewed August 13, 2014 via mobile

We visited this restaurant back in 2013. We picked it based on reviews we found here and on other review sites. We were glad to see they were still open and the reviews were just as good as before.

We came in for dinner. I had the stuffed chicken, husband had the short ribs, and son had the pot pie. Everything was awesome. Wish we had more time to come back another night but we were on Maui just a few days.

The one thing that stood out for us was the service. Not just one person, but it was a team effort. They really seemed to care about and appreciate you as a customer. Looking forward to coming back on our next trip.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lvtolvlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
319 reviews
240 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“disappointed”
Reviewed August 8, 2014

We went there for breakfast and the curry omelette, although it sounds interesting, doesn't work at all. It is swimming in a curry sauce that doesn't seem to be prepared fresh and it ruins the entire dish. The banana bread French toast is good, however. Service is fine but the check was presented to us right after the entrees arrived... A little too early to continue eating with ease. Restrooms in serious need of cleaning.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good Sandwich Spot”
Reviewed August 8, 2014

The sandwiches were great but the service was a little show. Not so friendly but the food was good. It is tiny. Note, that there is additional seating outside.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Marnie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to 808 Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing