We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so good”

Three's Bar and Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Three's Bar and Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #24 of 177 Restaurants in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Bar scene, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Keala Pl.
Description: Chefs. Surfers. Friends. Travis Morrin, Cody Christopher, and Jaron Blosser discovered they share a fanatic enthusiasm for surf while working together at a top local restaurant six years ago. While surfing together around Maui they dreamt up the idea to start their own catering business using their regarded culinary school training and experience so they could surf whenever they wanted. Three's Catering was launched in 2009 using a rented warehouse and their old trucks. In a few short months, their unexpected success had them looking for permanent kitchen space, and they opened a restaurant in the current Three's Bar & Grill location in Kihei's Kalama Village where their menu has evolved incorporating the three chefs' three cuisines - Hawaiian, Southwestern and Pacific Rim. Three's is all about great food with locally sourced ingredients, creating memories, and the casual island lifestyle that these friends enjoy everyday.
Calgary
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not so good”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We had lunch @ Three's Bar & Grill. Lunch included fish & chips and 2 lettuce wraps. Fish good, chips greasy (very greasy). As for the wraps, the lettuce was dirty and limp. The waitress was not to overly concerned about this. I did ask her to bring me new lettuce that was clean & she brought one piece @ a time for clean lettuce . I would not go to this place again. Maybe someone will get better food than we did.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 747Karen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,323 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    603
    453
    158
    71
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food at a good price”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We liked everything about this restaurant and plan to go back while we are here. Food was great service was average. Casual atmosphere but great items on the menu. We all had something different and all raved about our meal. We also had a coupon for free appetizer with two entrees so that was an added bonus.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Suniskies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“4 stars out of 5”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

First off, their online menu did not match up in prices as the real menu. Downgrade for this. The water was tap and bad tasting. Another downgrade for this. The appetizer was a great salsa and good chips and was free. High points for this. When my wife and I just ordered two less expensive plates with water, the waitress sneered at us. Downgrade for this. They had a guitar player serenading with our dinner. Up points for this. And then we got our food. Outstanding. The food was five stars. The price for this quality of food was a bargain. Since it's all about the food.....four stars.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Al E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
175 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Excellent Happy Hour”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We enjoyed the outside patio at happy hour with live music. Food was really great and drinks good too. Servers not overly friendly but we went back to sample another evening and were not disappointed. Food is tasty and reasonable at happy hour.
We also tried breakfast and were not disappointed.
We will go back again!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KitKat_1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casper, Wyoming
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent atmosphere food was hit and miss though...”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We went here to eat twice during our stay in Maui. The first time I ordered their coconut crusted fish sandwich...it was to LIVE for! I would order that again and AGAIN, my friend ordered a salad of some sort and said it had a bad taste and was too spicy to eat, it wasn't mentioned on the menu that is was spicy. The brunette female waitress did not offer to make things right only made some comment about how that was the first negative comment she had heard in all her time working there. Not the sharpest reply, so that was reflected in her tip. Our second visit we ordered fish and chips it was a TINY portion of fish and overcooked (if you are looking for great fish & chips go to Buzz's Wharf in Wailuku, it was the best I've ever had) so anyway the live music and the waiter from California made up for the sub par fish. The service was outstanding that day.I will definitely return for the coconut crusted fish sandwich and atmosphere (outdoor seating and outstanding live music) and request one of the male waiters, they were great. I'm a little hesitant to try any of the other dishes...I hope they improve on the portion sizes with the protein and the little details on some of the dishes.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank amcken3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Three's Bar and Grill also viewed

 

Been to Three's Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing