We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 stars out of 5”

Three's Bar and Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Three's Bar and Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #24 of 177 Restaurants in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Keala Pl.
Description: Chefs. Surfers. Friends. Travis Morrin, Cody Christopher, and Jaron Blosser discovered they share a fanatic enthusiasm for surf while working together at a top local restaurant six years ago. While surfing together around Maui they dreamt up the idea to start their own catering business using their regarded culinary school training and experience so they could surf whenever they wanted. Three's Catering was launched in 2009 using a rented warehouse and their old trucks. In a few short months, their unexpected success had them looking for permanent kitchen space, and they opened a restaurant in the current Three's Bar & Grill location in Kihei's Kalama Village where their menu has evolved incorporating the three chefs' three cuisines - Hawaiian, Southwestern and Pacific Rim. Three's is all about great food with locally sourced ingredients, creating memories, and the casual island lifestyle that these friends enjoy everyday.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“4 stars out of 5”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

First off, their online menu did not match up in prices as the real menu. Downgrade for this. The water was tap and bad tasting. Another downgrade for this. The appetizer was a great salsa and good chips and was free. High points for this. When my wife and I just ordered two less expensive plates with water, the waitress sneered at us. Downgrade for this. They had a guitar player serenading with our dinner. Up points for this. And then we got our food. Outstanding. The food was five stars. The price for this quality of food was a bargain. Since it's all about the food.....four stars.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Al E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,323 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    603
    453
    158
    71
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
175 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Excellent Happy Hour”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We enjoyed the outside patio at happy hour with live music. Food was really great and drinks good too. Servers not overly friendly but we went back to sample another evening and were not disappointed. Food is tasty and reasonable at happy hour.
We also tried breakfast and were not disappointed.
We will go back again!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KitKat_1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casper, Wyoming
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent atmosphere food was hit and miss though...”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We went here to eat twice during our stay in Maui. The first time I ordered their coconut crusted fish sandwich...it was to LIVE for! I would order that again and AGAIN, my friend ordered a salad of some sort and said it had a bad taste and was too spicy to eat, it wasn't mentioned on the menu that is was spicy. The brunette female waitress did not offer to make things right only made some comment about how that was the first negative comment she had heard in all her time working there. Not the sharpest reply, so that was reflected in her tip. Our second visit we ordered fish and chips it was a TINY portion of fish and overcooked (if you are looking for great fish & chips go to Buzz's Wharf in Wailuku, it was the best I've ever had) so anyway the live music and the waiter from California made up for the sub par fish. The service was outstanding that day.I will definitely return for the coconut crusted fish sandwich and atmosphere (outdoor seating and outstanding live music) and request one of the male waiters, they were great. I'm a little hesitant to try any of the other dishes...I hope they improve on the portion sizes with the protein and the little details on some of the dishes.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank amcken3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
central florida
Level Contributor
75 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“A little out of the way but worth the effort.”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stumbled onto this restaurant. it is down a side stree around the corner from the kihei cafe on south Kihei road. very interesting - great food - a little pricey but lunchtime specials were incredible! We ate there three times during our visit and enjoyed each and every time. We sat outside and were entertained by an guitarist and the maui atmosphere - fabulous !

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank jimbonnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Food was great, so so service”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We had a party of 6 at happy hour and were seated right by the bar so you would think our server would have been back more than once to check on us. This was not the case. However the food was wonderful. The only complaint would be the size of the side fries my husband had with his coconut shrimp.......this meal would not fill him up. All the sushi we had was delicious though. Well worth going at happy hour for half price.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank L L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Three's Bar and Grill also viewed

 

Been to Three's Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing