We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great tacos and pupuus!”

Three's Bar and Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Three's Bar and Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #23 of 176 Restaurants in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Asian, Hawaiian, Japanese, Bar, Sushi, Polynesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Bar scene, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Keala Pl.
Description: Chefs. Surfers. Friends. Travis Morrin, Cody Christopher, and Jaron Blosser discovered they share a fanatic enthusiasm for surf while working together at a top local restaurant six years ago. While surfing together around Maui they dreamt up the idea to start their own catering business using their regarded culinary school training and experience so they could surf whenever they wanted. Three's Catering was launched in 2009 using a rented warehouse and their old trucks. In a few short months, their unexpected success had them looking for permanent kitchen space, and they opened a restaurant in the current Three's Bar & Grill location in Kihei's Kalama Village where their menu has evolved incorporating the three chefs' three cuisines - Hawaiian, Southwestern and Pacific Rim. Three's is all about great food with locally sourced ingredients, creating memories, and the casual island lifestyle that these friends enjoy everyday.
Midlands, UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great tacos and pupuus!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

We stopped for lunch, they had two guys playing the guitar which were fantastic, the coconut prawns for starter were just heavenly and the fish tacos just perfect.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank ldw000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,277 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    583
    435
    154
    68
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aurora, Ohio
Level Contributor
107 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Worst meal on the island”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

Part of the reason we love Maui is the food. That being said this was our worst meal on the island. We started with crab cakes which were good but you couldn't taste the crab, then my flat bread salad had way too much unflavorful dressing and the flat bread was burnt, my husband had the ribs which were OK but he felt very sick after the meal, the bread pudding was the smallest portion I've ever seen of bread pudding literally a 2" x 3" square serving and one scoop of ice cream for $ 13 it was way overpriced. The live music was the best part of this tasteless over priced meal.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank luvinature
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waialua, Hawaii
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Food was very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

I had a great Mohito- well two it was sooo good and my salad was awesome- Was not very hungrey when I was there- nice selections to choose from- atmosphere- so so, we did not eat in bar area as live entertainment was loud- lots of dancing going on-

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Liz W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
72 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“this is a great night spot, and has good breakfast too!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

I got tickets to see David Nelson Band on the 26th of Jan and flew to Maui to see the show, best decision of the year so far! Three's was packed but we were able to get good drinks, fast, and the rest room is always clean and well kept. The food is good and my friends were eating up oysters like there was tomorrow... I had a loco moco which was really good with a mushroom ragu with fresh maui mushrooms and it was enough for two meals. A good time was had by all! Danced the night away and enjoyed every aspect.... but then again.. you are in Maui... so whats not to love? I always frequent Three's when on island, and i recommend you all check it out too! Cheers!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank 1Goddessgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Washington
Level Contributor
323 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Good food, so so service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

First tip - don't eat outside! The outside seating is on a parking lot and has no real view of the ocean or street scene. Also the guitarist, while pretty good, never stops playing and depending on where you are sitting his amp can be a little loud.

Now the food. I had the mixed grill and the beef tenderloins, coconut shrimp and macadamia chicken were delicious. The meal came with Kimhi as the vegetable and it was WAY too spicy hot. Well past my level of tolerance which is usually one chili max. There was no warning that I could see either from the server or the menu that it was spicy at all. After one bite I spent the next 15 minutes trying to cool my tongue down.

There is no way spicy food should be served without letting the customer know.

My partner had the stir fry, again very spicy, and rated it so so.

Second tip. Make sure your server tells you all about the meal you are ordering.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Don T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Three's Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing