We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“NO”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Monsoon India

Monsoon India
Ranked #54 of 176 Restaurants in Kihei
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Families with children, Special occasions, Scenic view, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Delivery, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Kulanihakoi
Description: Authentic Indian Restaurant located by the Ocean Side with a beautiful View of Sun Set
Maui, Hawaii
1 review
“NO”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

Ok I understand, people like Indian food. But is it as popular as local foods or burgers and fries and fish. The people are rude screaming at us. Food tastes terrible. This is one of the only water view locations in khei but they waste it on something not a lot lof people enjoy.

I will admit it some of the food was delicious. Most was bad but not all. If any1 didn't know Indian food also has a very strong smell. When this small is coming from something ur not fond of it sucks. I am on the comple other side of mehune shores and I smell it. Our family is trying to have a nice dinner on the rooftop. IT SMELLS TERRIBLE. We can't even go to the pool.

I really don't understand. Who doesn't like burgers fries or some fish tacos thts all I'm saying. Not many people want Indian food on maui unless they r craving it.

Do not recommend even if you are an Indian food liver I AM.
I have been there multiple times trying to have a good time. I have seen way to many walk out confused and ticked off then perfectly happy.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tprev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    130
    53
    22
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
michigan
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

Our kids wanted Indian food so we tried this restaurant. We wondered why there weren't a lot of tables on the main floor but when it began to rain through the mesh ceiling, we understood. They quickly moved our table - food and all- out of the rain. The food was very good. We shared several dishes family style and tried the nam bread. I liked the chicken dish with a coconut sauce the best.

Helpful?
Thank warywoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good, but could be better.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

Pros- nice atmosphere, beautiful view. Naan bread, Biriyani and Monsoon (mixed kebab) platter were great. Sauces for our Beef Korma and Chicken curry were delicious. Service was good.

Cons - the chicken and beef were both tough, and at this price point that just shouldn't happen. Also, the lamb on our Monsoon platter was under-cooked (beyond "rare") to the point we wouldn't eat it. We mentioned it to the waitress but nothing was done.

This is probably the best Indian restaurant in Kihei, but it's also probably the only Indian restaurant in Kihei . . .

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Glen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocklin, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Breathtaking Ambience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

Open-air windows facing the beach and the mountains behind, to the soft and mesmerizing music and burning torches, enjoying exotic food is a great way to spend an evening on vacation. Prices are predictably high for a high-tourist area (it's in a large hotel) but the portion sizes are large enough to go with it. Good cocktails too!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Adam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Delicious Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

Nice atmosphere with good food but very expensive with small portions. They sometimes offer a buffet dinner on Fridays but with an "open roof" they had to cancel it due to rain when we were there.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Beachbum2635
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monsoon India also viewed

 

Been to Monsoon India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing