We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh Yummy Fish Taco”

Coconut's Fish Cafe
Ranked #7 of 178 Restaurants in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $12
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Takeout
Description: Welcome to Coconut's Fish Cafe, located in the center of Kihei. Coconut's Fish Cafe serves up Maui's finest food with exciting dishes and unique ambiance. At Coconut's Fish Cafe, every dish is created using only the freshest, finest ingredients. We never use microwaves and everything is cooked to order. We serve only the choicest cuts of seafood. Whether you choose to dine at our one-of-a-kind surfboard tables or take-out, our authentic menu and atmosphere make us a must-stop dining experience.
Livermore, California
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fresh Yummy Fish Taco”
Reviewed February 26, 2011

This was our first meal while in Maui and I kept thinking about it our whole vacation. My husband had the fish and chips which did not look like anything special but the fish was fresh, not greasy, and just the right amount of breading. I ordered the fish taco and was so pleased. If you don't like mango salsa it might not be for you but I enjoyed it like you would not believe. We arrived around 5:30 and was surprised to see 6 local police officers enjoying fish and chips.

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank love2snorkel17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,960 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,766
    882
    247
    38
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great fish tacos!”
Reviewed February 21, 2011

We ate there twice in 3 days. The first time I had a mahi-mahi dinner, and my wife had deep-fried shrimp. My fish was good, but she thought her shrimp was greasy. But we saw others order the fish tacos, and they looked good. We returned and ordered them, and they were worth the trip! They advertise 17 ingredients in the topping. Some are in the 2 salsas, which were very good. My wife can't have onion or garlic, and they prepared hers accordingly. The tacos were very fresh and had great flavor. We envoyed Coconut's so much we bought a gift certificate for the friends we were staying with.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BillandPatinDuluth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walla Walla
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A unique dining experience at a fair price!”
Reviewed February 20, 2011

Looked at reviews on Tripadvisor for dinner in Kihei while visiting. Outstanding fish tacos! Large plate portions at a fair price. Owner and staff want you to love their food. Great Hawaiian fish.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stonecreekmanor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UT
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“It is worth it!!”
Reviewed February 19, 2011

The guy who gave it a terrible review must have been reviewing the wrong restaurant. It is a small "strip mall" type restaurant but the food is worth it. The manager/owner took our ordered and even helped serve us. He gabbed with me about baseball and football (he has pictures of him at the World Series and the Superbowl this year AND he is a Giants and Packers fan...lucky year). I kind of rolled my eyes when he bragged his food up but let me admit...I was wrong. Fish tacos to die for and my wife got the blackened fish sandwich. Damn good.!!! We just sat outside on the patio and took in the Hawaii night. The downside- no sides are included in the meals. I got fish tacos for $11.95 and that is all you get: 2 messy tacos. A side of coleslaw (highly recommend) is $2.00 and the fries $2.00 also. We found a coupon for free fries which made it a little better
They are also VERY eco friendly and healthy. 100% cannola oil that is recycled when done. Recycled paper products, etc. They are a company I would support. Like one of the other reviewers we went next door for dessert (Peggy Sue's Restaurant- old school style).

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nymetsfanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Too die for fish tacos”
Reviewed February 17, 2011

We picked up fish tacos here to bring back to our condo. They were so fresh and the flavors were delicious. I was full and very happy we stopped here. If you dine in, there are cool surfboard tables to sit at.

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fast72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coconut's Fish Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Coconut's Fish Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing