We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plenty of food - but quite the handful” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coconut's Fish Cafe

Coconut's Fish Cafe
Ranked #8 of 176 Restaurants in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $12
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Welcome to Coconut's Fish Cafe, located in the center of Kihei. Coconut's Fish Cafe serves up Maui's finest food with exciting dishes and unique ambiance. At Coconut's Fish Cafe, every dish is created using only the freshest, finest ingredients. We never use microwaves and everything is cooked to order. We serve only the choicest cuts of seafood. Whether you choose to dine at our one-of-a-kind surfboard tables or take-out, our authentic menu and atmosphere make us a must-stop dining experience.
Dublin, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Plenty of food - but quite the handful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stopped by here for dinner and enjoyed the two fish tacos. Flavor was great but it was honestly too much food for one person. Also they piled it on high so it was more like a tostada than a taco. Service was great and fast. No need to order fries as you already have plenty on your plate.

Helpful?
Thank Brad B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,726 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,609
    824
    233
    35
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kihei, Hawaii
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“FISH TACOS!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2014

Don't bother with anything else just get the fish tacos. 2 large fish tacos with fresh cold slaw, mango salsa and some other secrete stuff they put on them. I enjoyed it a lot and wasn't able to finish my dish. Lunch time is extremely busy but I've notice dinner hours arent as busy.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good food but super busy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2014

We went to the place for a quick lunch, thinking that it will accommodate all of our needs (we have vegan and gluten-intolerant people with us). Well, since it wasn't at all gluten-free environment (to which I didn't care), we decided to get takeout since there was practically nowhere to fit us. I ordered a grilled fish (forgot what kind) with a salad. I remember the salad was GREAT. Fish was fresh and everything was great.

The only thing I felt icky about the place is how busy it gets. Not only did we not have a place to stand to wait for our food (yes, stand), but we had trouble finding ONE seat in the restaurants. And because it was really busy the service was mediocre...not for the quality of the food per se, but the girl who got our order was impatient.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hannah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good food and nice staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

The fish tacos were really delicious, but we think the fish burger is even better. We also tried calamari coconut shrimps as appetizers. Both of them were really good, too!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Allen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best fish tacos on Maui”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

Read about this place on trip advisor. Went for lunch. It was perfect. Tacos were full of flavor, and I loved the mango salsa. The bottom shell is grilled for a crunchy bite. We went back for lunch before going to the airport on our last day. If you're looking for a nice place for dinner, this isn't it. This is a casual place with great food.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 00LiaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coconut's Fish Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Coconut's Fish Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing