We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent! Best bang for the buck in Maui!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coconut's Fish Cafe

Coconut's Fish Cafe
Ranked #5 of 169 Restaurants in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $12
Cuisines: American, Soups, Hawaiian, Pacific Rim, Gluten Free, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Welcome to Coconut's Fish Cafe, located in the center of Kihei. Coconut's Fish Cafe serves up Maui's finest food with exciting dishes and unique ambiance. At Coconut's Fish Cafe, every dish is created using only the freshest, finest ingredients. We never use microwaves and everything is cooked to order. We serve only the choicest cuts of seafood. Whether you choose to dine at our one-of-a-kind surfboard tables or take-out, our authentic menu and atmosphere make us a must-stop dining experience.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent! Best bang for the buck in Maui!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Found this place randomly on our way to Wailea from the airport. The food is fantastic and the owner is an ex-bay area native that comes and says hi to everyone. I think it's the only good place to eat in Kihei.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HoodySF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,201
    696
    204
    30
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Woodland Hills, CA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Local Dive DeliversTaste Extrodinare”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stumbled upon this place while walking through town after miles of enjoying the local beaches. It looked like a nice place to grab a light meal and had a good fan base of customers. Turns out it has a great Zagat review and received local attention for the best tacos on the island for the past few years. Yum, we ordered a round of the fresh fish cakes with cold slaw and passed on the fresh fries. The flavors were fantastic....and the next day while we were planning our high end foody dinner, my travel companion was still looking for a way to have the tacos for dinner again! Will definitely come back and hoping for a smart franchiser to pick up on this for our area!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Travelinslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Fish Tacos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

These were really great tacos. Its a "takeout" kind of place. You line up to place your order, then grab a table or eat outside. Lots of options - and they also offered Gluten Free - the chicken on corn tortillas. Be forwarded - you will GET MESSY! There is no classy way to eat these. Staff was super nice as well!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Havekidswilltravel71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lived up to reviews”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Ate dinner here our first night in Maui. We ordered fish and chips and an order of fish tacos. Both were very good but we REALLY liked the fish tacos. First, they were made with a toasted tortilla then fresh fried fish, slaw, salsa--delicious! Planned to go back but ran out of time.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank travelingnana0806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great lunch spot ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

This is a great restaurant for lunch. We ordered the fish tacos and salmon burger/sandwich. Between the two of us, it was a lot of food!!! We also walked to the liquor store to pick up some beer because it is BYOB!!!

Helpful?
Thank Kristen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coconut's Fish Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Coconut's Fish Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing