We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy!!!”

Coconut's Fish Cafe
Ranked #7 of 178 Restaurants in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $12
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Takeout
Description: Welcome to Coconut's Fish Cafe, located in the center of Kihei. Coconut's Fish Cafe serves up Maui's finest food with exciting dishes and unique ambiance. At Coconut's Fish Cafe, every dish is created using only the freshest, finest ingredients. We never use microwaves and everything is cooked to order. We serve only the choicest cuts of seafood. Whether you choose to dine at our one-of-a-kind surfboard tables or take-out, our authentic menu and atmosphere make us a must-stop dining experience.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Yummy!!!”
Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

These are the best fish tacos ever!!! Can not even compare them to anyone else!!! Cool design inside, small tables, not many seats if busy :(... But good food... It was hard to find... We had to call and ask where it was and what it was beside.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tonya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,963 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,769
    882
    247
    38
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
516 reviews
209 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 679 helpful votes
“Good value, tasty food”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We visited Coconut's on a Sunday night, and couldn't believe how many people were eating there. That's always a good sign. There were lots of tables inside and outside, so we had no problem finding a seat. You order at the counter, receive a number and drink, and then find a table to sit. They deliver the food to your table.

We tried the fish tacos, and they were delicious. I didn't realize that the order included two tacos. They were very filling and I could have easily split it with somebody.

The staff was very friendly. They were constantly going around asking if anyone needed anything. The owner was chatting with the customers.

The whole place had a good vibe, and very tasty food. I would highly recommend it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KLM1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Awesome fish tacos and more”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Coconuts is an informal, family run café which highlights fresh fish cooked perfectly tender. The fish tacos are worth going to Kihei for in themselves. They are huge and messy and tender and I wish I were back in Kihei again to have more. The others in my party raved about the fish and chips (lots of fries) and even the non-fish lovers praised the mac and cheese and steak tacos. You order from the counter and then wait at one of the indoor or outdoor surfboard themed tables. The service is quick, friendly and helpful. They will tell you about what fish you are eating and even share tactics for eating the mountainous tacos with a minimum of mess.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Get the Fish Tacos”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

It's a little touristy and a lot expensive, but the fish tacos were really good. The ahi burger was included a huge piece of fish and was also a hit.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank MikeFFromNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookeville, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Worth a side trip to Kihei”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Coconuts is a little hard to find, set in a strip mall that our GPS didn't recognize, but it is worth the effort to seek it out. No pretense here--you order at the counter, eat at picnic tables, and have to go outside and around the corner to find the restroom. But the fish--aahhhh! My husband is not a fish lover, but even he is still craving a return trip. We shared a fish sandwich (you pick your fish and preparation--we had blackened ono) and an order of fish and chips (you get two kinds of fish in this--ono and mahi mahi). Everything was fresh, well-seasoned, and delicious, including the fries and slaw. My mouth waters even thinking about it. Definitely worth returning to Coconuts again and again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Biffer7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Coconut's Fish Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing