We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fresh and satisfying”

Coconut's Fish Cafe
Ranked #7 of 177 Restaurants in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $12
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Takeout
Description: Welcome to Coconut's Fish Cafe, located in the center of Kihei. Coconut's Fish Cafe serves up Maui's finest food with exciting dishes and unique ambiance. At Coconut's Fish Cafe, every dish is created using only the freshest, finest ingredients. We never use microwaves and everything is cooked to order. We serve only the choicest cuts of seafood. Whether you choose to dine at our one-of-a-kind surfboard tables or take-out, our authentic menu and atmosphere make us a must-stop dining experience.
ohio
Level Contributor
140 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“fresh and satisfying”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Loved the fish tacos and were very surprised at how dang good the fries were. A must if your in Kihei.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank plan09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,915 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,734
    871
    246
    38
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
SeaTac, Washington
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Not as good as expected”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

The food was ok, not what I expected, but good. The fish looked like it had been cooked too long instead of looking golden brown. It tasted fine though. Fries were excellent almost as good as McDonalds! The help was friendly and patient with our group as we had several friends with us. I'm glad I went, but probably wouldn't make a special trip to go back.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank roch2772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granby, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“very large tacos”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

we stopped for lunch at coconuts and the food was very good. we had the fish tacos that they are so famous for. they are definatly a two hand meal. the fish was good tasting and the filling was plentiful. we ate out on the patio and although it is in a strip mall it was quiet. the owner, who has an insignia on his shirt that says "Coconuts Dad" was very friendly and out and about with his customers making sure everything was all right and we were happy. will go back for more.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lovesmexfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great Tacos”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stopped here to try their fish tacos and they were very good. Fresh and flavorful. It is in a strip mall in south kihei. We would definitely recommend it to others. We met others who eat here frequently and also highly recommend it. The tables are shared tables with 6 chairs per table. The staff were very friendly.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank limeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma, California
Level Contributor
405 reviews
275 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Example of doing one thing very well, over and over - Fish Taco”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Other recent reviews have described the food very well. If you are in Kihei and would like to have a fine experience eating a well made fish taco, Coconut's is the place.
The chef, wanders around asking about your experience and the service people explain everything and get the order to your table without any fuss. Clean, well lite tables with surf board benches. If you want water, pull down the despenser handle so you don't get the lemonade.

Don't stress about the portions, just purchase one order for two people as they arrive on individual plates. Get another order, if needed, after your two plates are clean. The Maui IPA goes well with the food too.

No worries, just good food.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BoulderNut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coconut's Fish Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Coconut's Fish Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing