We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and terrific owner”

Coconut's Fish Cafe
Ranked #7 of 177 Restaurants in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $12
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Takeout
Description: Welcome to Coconut's Fish Cafe, located in the center of Kihei. Coconut's Fish Cafe serves up Maui's finest food with exciting dishes and unique ambiance. At Coconut's Fish Cafe, every dish is created using only the freshest, finest ingredients. We never use microwaves and everything is cooked to order. We serve only the choicest cuts of seafood. Whether you choose to dine at our one-of-a-kind surfboard tables or take-out, our authentic menu and atmosphere make us a must-stop dining experience.
LAS VEGAS
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food and terrific owner”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We found this place through Tripadvisor under the seafood recommendations. It was a wonderful choice, and not overly priced. The owner was available and he assisted us in picking out what we had for lunch. He was also our cook. One of us was a vegatarian and she tried fish for first time, thanks to the wonderful recommendation of the owner. She really enjoyed it, and I definitely would recommend stopping by to eat lunch or dinner. You can also do what we did and order our dinner to go, so we could enjoy another wonderful meal that evening, after having such a great lunch.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OneMogul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,915 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,734
    871
    246
    38
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best fish tacos in Maui!”
Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

If you like fish tacos this place is a must! It's a little hole in the wall located in a strip mall but don't let that scare you away. The food is amazing and the prices are very reasonable, a welcome relief in Maui. I will definitely be going back on my next visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ashley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Fish Tacos”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We were told about this place after our zipline adventure. One of the guides said they have the best island style fish tacos, so I had to go try them. I got the fish tacos and my husband got the fish and chips. We both really enjoyed our meal (although the fries with the fish and chips weren't anything special). The portions were large, the fish tacos each take up their own plate because they are stuffed with so many ingredients. I don't normally enjoy coleslaw, but I really liked the coleslaw there. It was worth the trip to south Maui for sure!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
83 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“excellent fish, great deal”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Small place in a mall; looks like a fast food joint but quality of fish served way above fast food (though service is not slow); quite comparable to any local mid range restaurant (or better). Very inexpensive in otherwise pricey Maui. Very casual; only a few tables. Would be a great place for a family lunch or light dinner. Lots of locals eating here; obviously repeat customers and we will be too. Owner very friendly and informative; young staff nicer than lots of Maui restaurants.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great fish tacos!”
Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

Great local spot with low key atmosphere. The fish tacos were excellent. Everything made from scratch daily. Good value for the money. And it's BYOB which saves $$ too!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coconut's Fish Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Coconut's Fish Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing