We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent complex and suite - we stayed in H210 - Jan 10 -17th, 2012”
Review of Maui Banyan Condos

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Maui Banyan Condos
Ranked #29 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
Emerald Park, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent complex and suite - we stayed in H210 - Jan 10 -17th, 2012”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We have stayed up in Kaanapali a few times and wanted to try out Kihei. The Maui Banyan is excellent, close to beaches, restaurants and services. H210 was recently renovated with an excellent kitchen, laundry, king bed. The location is very quiet at night and we could sleep with the patio doors open and enoy the Maui breeze. We never used the air conditioner. Also lots of room to park. We went ro the beaches more than use the pool but the pools was and BBQ were great as well. I would recommend this location over the north part of Kihei.

Room Tip: I think the G and H buidlings would be the best choice but all the buildings would be fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank rickdeb1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    63
    29
    10
    8
See reviews for
63
70
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
British Columbia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Maui Banyon Condos are in a prime location across the street from Kam2 beach which is excellent for swimming & snorkelling. Also short walking distance to convenience stores and a nice selection of restaurants, including Bistro 808 and Fred's Mexican Cafe. The condo units have a nice layout, small but efficient with a reasonable size balcony. They need some TLC. Cabinet doors are somewhat grimy and need some fresh paint; mildew on tile around tub, and air conditioner unit is rusty and an eye sore on the balcony. These condos have potential if the management cleans them up. In addition, the exterior hallways & doors are badly in need of a fresh coat of paint. On the positive side, the landscaping and vegetation on the property are lovely.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoraDora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
214 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We traded a week from our usual place on the west side of the island because we wanted to learn about Kihei. We had no idea that we were taking a step way down with regards to lodging. For starters, the shower stall wasn't on its' tracks, the bed is so uncomfortable and the air conditioner is actually placed so that it blows air on our heads when we are trying to sleep.
I went to the front desk to ask about laundry facilities as we will be here for a week. After finding out what our unit number was, the clerk told me "for you, you have to go two miles down the road."
She said it very kindly, but come on!
This place is SO TINY that we hardly have room to put away our suitcases.
Another six nights. That's how much longer we are here. It is very uncomfortable.

Room Tip: I have no tip
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jclarremore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Canada
Level Contributor
179 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Fabulous Place, stayed in building P. Close to our beach, 5 minute walk! FRED's just around the corner for morning coffee, lunch or dinner! Clean, spacious double suite that we shared with another couple. Had a fully equiped kitchen, housekeeping weekly, laundry in a closet with laundry soap to start the 1st load!! One working pool with hottub. FreeWiFi. I would stay here again, if I came back!! Loved Kihei too!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WANDERLUSTinME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drenzi, Manager at Maui Banyan Condos, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Your informative review shows why it’s easy to have a “Blast at the Banyan.” Between our spacious units stocked with amenities and our proximity to the beach, we have everything you need to have a great time on Maui. Thank you for sharing your comments. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Kentucky, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 5, 2012

We spent two wonderful weeks at the Maui Banyan condos. Our unit, Q-201, had plenty of space and amenities for two people. We each had a bedroom and bath. The kitchen was supplied with dishes and cookware and had a nice dining area. Washer in this unit needed replacing,as well as broken stove burner. Location was perfect for beach activities, walking, shopping, and eating. It was only short distances to get most places for activities, scheduled by our concierge. The grounds were well kept, flowers and trees everywhere. Lack of handicap parking was a major problem,: had to park on 3rd garage floor.) Staff was very pleasant ad helpful. Suggestion: have beach chairs available in each unit.

Room Tip: Side in back, not next to pool was quiet. Nice breezes blow in units.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
92 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

First time in Maui Banyans, and took a bit of a gamble on this apartment as it had no reviews since it had recently been purchased and renovated, but we are very glad we did.

The apartment is a 2 bedroom, looking out onto the gardens rather than the car park (incidentally its nice to have a covered car park at MB rather than your car be parked in the roasting sun).
Each bedroom is quite separate either side of the large lounge and indeed one bedroom can be "locked off" to provide a separate studio apartment, so it was very handy from a POV of privacy and noise. I believe the lounge sofa also becomes a bed which would be suitable if you had children as well though we never tried that out.

The apartment has absolutely everything you'd want (though the boogie boards and beach chairs (Tommy Bahama no less) were somewhat hidden under the beds which luckily we found just before a shopping trip to Costco to buy some ! That includes 3 TV sets, a large computer, free wifi (and wired broadband), free phone calls (USA and Canada) , a fully equipped kitchen, all linen and towels (including beach towels), and a welcome pack of coffee and nuts and similar when you arrive.

The owner Jamie Lawrence lives on the island so that was very handy, we had to call him a couple of times for trivial stuff ("can you recommend a dentist" for example which he could) and he came over once to look at the Mac computer which was playing up, he was very helpful. One afternoon we went down to Stellas Blues Bar to see him singing, he is very good !

The apartment is just as good as the pictures (look on VRBO) and is also very handy for the top pool at MB, close enough to walk in perhaps 30 seconds but far enough away not to be disturbed by noise. Whilst we were there they were part way through renovating the pools so they should both be pristine now.

One other handy thing about the apartment was the key code on entry, no need to fiddle with physical keys, carry them to the beach or leave in car, and you could set your own code.

Lastly the security/cleaning deposit was returned promptly after we left and I suppose its worth adding that the whole admin/rental procedure was very easy,we paid by credit card (small surcharge) which is easier for me being overseas but Ia lso like the assurance it gives.

Would definitely stay again and I recommend both this apartment and also Banyans itself, which is well situated for a bit of incidental shopping and a few restaurants, Kam II & III beaches are walkable in a few minutes, and it is only about 15 minutes walk or less from the Boat Ramp - handy if you are a scuba diver and don't want to monopolise the car or have someone give you a lift at an unearthly time in the morning.

Can't think of anything else to add but feel free to pm me if you have questions.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joeintheuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drenzi, Manager at Maui Banyan Condos, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Aloha, and thank you for visiting Maui Banyan. Your generous and comprehensive review is much appreciated. We are glad you found our accommodations to your liking and hope you will consider us again. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerside, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

My husband and I stayed in G-310, which was a 2 bedroom rental condo with 2 bathrooms and a full kitchen. It was amazing! More than enough room for 4. Upon first glance, it was a bit dated compared to some hotels we've stayed in, but it had everything we needed, was clean and had a huge balcony to sit out on at night. Since it was a condo rental, they even had small bonuses in the room to use, such as beach chairs, a boogie board, a Road to Hana cd, etc. We were extremely comfortable there for our week stay!

The Maui Banyan itself I would definitely recommend. They had a well maintained property which was close to everything you'd need in Kihei, and it was extremely quiet. Within walking distance you had groceries (Foodland), restaurants (Moose McGillicuddy's) and shopping. There are normally 2 pools, but to our dismay, the one right outside our building was closed for renovation during our visit. But, there always seemed to be lots of beach chairs at the 2nd pool and it was never usually crowded. They even have a shaded 'picnic' area at the pool which was nice for those who wouldn't want to be in the sun all day, and bbq's for the public to use. The beach is directly across the street, a 3 minute walk max.

Overall, if we were to return to Maui, I'm sure we'd go straight back to the Maui Banyan. :-) Great spot!

Room Tip: G-310 (The Sugar Hut) from AA Oceanfront Rentals was a great space!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn1413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kihei hotels
0.2 mi away
Aston at the Maui Banyan
0.1 mi away
Kihei Akahi
Kihei Akahi
#28 of 62 in Kihei
304 reviews
3.9 mi away
Maui Beach Vacation Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kamaole Sands
Kamaole Sands
#14 of 62 in Kihei
927 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kihei Kai Nani
Kihei Kai Nani
#49 of 62 in Kihei
270 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hale Kamaole
Hale Kamaole
#26 of 62 in Kihei
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maui Banyan Condos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Banyan Condos

Property: Maui Banyan Condos
Address: 2575 S Kihei Rd, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-8697
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Maui Banyan Condos 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maui Banyan, across from Kamaole Beach Park, has beautiful one bedroom condos at affordable rates. Tennis courts, two pools, spa, walk to shops and restaurants. All condos fully equipped, clean and nicely remodeled. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maui Banyan Condos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maui Banyan Maui Condos Hotel Kihei
Maui Banyan Condos Kihei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing