We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Banyan” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maui Banyan Condos

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Maui Banyan Condos
Ranked #21 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Grande Prairie, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful Banyan”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2011

One more day at the Maui Banyan and we are sad to say good-bye! The pool and barbeques are great and everything is looked after very well. It is very clean. We rented through vrbo and our condo was excellent. The location is wonderful. You are right across from one of the nicest beaches on Maui and walking distance to stores and restaurants. It is a very laid back atmosphere here. There are two pools and barbeques throughout. The barbeques are very clean. There are workers around looking after the gardens and pool area. It was also nice to see security. We went to an all inclusive in Cuba last year and it doesn't compare to the quiet and peaceful setting here at the Maui, Banyan. We would definately returen.

Room Tip: Go through vrbo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank purplesunshine1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    63
    26
    10
    7
See reviews for
62
67
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Maui, Hawaii
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2011

we had a wonderful stay at Maui Banyan with my husb. and old mom. the unit G-409 is perfectly furnished, updated and well appointed. the bed is like a cloud! The partial view is more than partial, we saw whales fron our patio and enjoy afternoon sun...just wonderful :). all units are different quality though, good luck!

Room Tip: call desk and check with them if your unit will b.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lulugotoborabora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iron River
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2011

My husband & I spent a week in unit Q210A, a nicely decorated hotel-style room condo, during our week in Maui. While there was not much of a view from the little lanai, the location near several nice beaches, restaurants and shopping is a plus. It also isn't far from the boat ramp if you're into fishing or diving. Other than space to dry our wet gear, it had just about everything we needed for a comfortable week's stay. We didn't use the pools on the property (so many great beaches!) but they looked nice (and busy). It's a great way to visit Maui on a budget.

The parking across the street fills up late at night, and access to the building requires the key card to enter after 10 pm or so, so keep this in mind if you're out for the evening.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank razzle55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spearfish, SD
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2011

I thought I had done plenty of research on this resort but I was WRONG! We were supose to have a 1 bedroom Condo, King Bed and in one of 3 buildings. We got there and they put us in a hotel room with 2 double beds that was a DUMP! In order to make coffee in the coffee pot that was like the room out of the 70s you had to unplug either the Fridge or the TV (again out of the 70s). We were not in any of the buildings we had requested and when we talked to the management about it the soonest they could move us was 3 days later and we had to pay and extra $50 a night. There was No Way I was going to stay in that room for a week so we paid the extra. One evening we requested towels and a coffee because we would be leaving at 3am to go to Haleakala and they never did bring them. We met others at the pool that also had issues. One that had a timeshare and they got there and were told they had overbooked and they would have to send them to their other resort up in Kanapali area. Many told us to only book through the owners and to not use the property management. I cried the first night because I had planned for so long for this beautiful tropical vacation and it was starting out to be a disaster! Don't trust the website or any brochures for an idea of what you are getting because neither room we ended up in looked ANYTHING like the pictures. Honestly I felt like I was in a dumpy OLD hotel. I couldn't believe that the managment allows this to happen to people.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank SpearfishGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
123 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Maui Banyan condo Q407 for 12 days starting in November 2010. Our vacation goal was to sit on the lanai (balcony), have morning coffee, and read books with a great ocean view. We rented this 2 bedroom/2 bath directly from the owner located in Portland, OR. We put down half payment almost 1 year in advance based upon a great view and kitchen. My sister and husband joined us and they were not impressed with my choice based upon the price point and value received. We would not recommend this unit to someone interested in a great view. The promise was a great view of Molokini, Kaho'olawe and Haleakala. You can see the side of mountain but we were definitely interested in the beach view. If you stand out on the lanai there is a partial ocean view at best through palm trees. You have to walk 2 city blocks across a heavily congested road to get to the beach. The sin of omission is the construction trailer and empty lot with weeds that is the real view from the living room and the lanai. The current photo does not depict the black plastic leather sectional within the unit. Housekeeping standards sub-optimal with a complete re-cleaning of the tile floors required and bleach cycle of washing machine which has a mold ingrained into the metal. The sliding glass door latch unfortunately "latched" as were were outside on the lanai for coffee requiring plea to a neighbor to call maintenance to rescue us. We had an unfortunate Maui Banyan Condo Q407 experience with no response from owner after 2 inquiries in regard to partial refund for sub-par experience.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hystericalhappiness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2010

First of all I would have to put part of the blame on Interval International. We traded our 5 star luxury condo in Florida for a one bedroom with kitchen at the Maui Banyan Vacation Club. We had arrived into Kihei a few hours early and phoned ahead to see if our condo was ready. It was 11am and we were told the room wouldn't be finished cleaning until 4pm, check in time. Fair enough. We bided our time with activities and arrived at 3pm in hopes that it was ready. When we entered the "office", there was a couple checking in and the young lady dealing with them was so sugary sweet, really bragging up the place and gave them a book of coupons to use in Kehei while they were there. The young lady who dealt with us, handed us an envelope and said," your room is not ready, your keys are in the envelope, don't go in the room until 4." End of discussion. So, we waited again and at 4 pm, we finally were able to enter P108A.
Our mouths dropped and I was almost in tears. Our one bedroom with kitchen consisted of a bedroom with a bed. The "kitchen" consisted of a 2' wide counter with a coffee maker and toaster, microwave under counter and a beer fridge! A very small bathroom with shower only, a dinette table and 12" tv on top of a dresser. We immediately called the front desk and were told that they "don't deal with time share people, you have to contact the company yourself." It wasn't until the next day that we were able to finally get a hold of the time share company in Kihei and were immediately told that there was nothing else available..that took them all of 2 seconds to look up on the computer. So we were stuck in a tiny "hotel room" for 7 days.
Then the neighbours moved in! Our room was a lock-off, with extremely thin walls. We were bombarded nightly with loud music, cupboards slamming and other intimate noises! Every morning the woman would stand by the lock off door and listen to her voice mails on her cell phone...with the speaker on.....one time it was 30 messages!
According to the housekeeping chart, we were only to receive towel exchange on Thursday, after a Saturday check-in. Really? Why bother when we were leaving in 2 days. Needless to say, towels were brought to our door on Wed....no exchange was made, they just handed us towels and left without taking the dirty ones.
We couldn't figure out why it took housekeeping 5 hours to clean the room when it was filthy when we arrived. The plastic plant on the dinette table was covered in 1/4 inch of dust, and the plant was covering what looked like a milk stain from breakfast. In the so-called kitchen, there were 2 wine glasses in the cupboard with remnants of red wine still sitting on the bottom. When you reach up to the very top shelf to retrieve the cutlery tray, it's so full of heavy utensils, the corkscrew missed my head by mere inches.
Every time someone left the room on the other side of us, the room shook from the door being closed. Needless to say, we didn't realize that an earthquake was taking place on the 23rd, as we just assumed someone was leaving the building again.
We called the front desk on a few occasions just to ask a simple question and we were always told, "we don't have anything to do with timeshare people". We will never go back and I have read some reviews from Management of Aston @ the Maui stating that people should come back and experience the hotel side of the resort. I'm sorry, but if your staff treat people they way they did us because we we "timeshare people", then why would they treat "hotel" people any differently? Thank goodness it was our final week in Maui as it was ruined. We will stay in Ka'anapali and Napili next time...the resorts and the staff were awesome!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank km100503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Dalles
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2010

The family consisted of grandparents, daughter and her three teenage children. We only needed a place to stay for one night. The night before we went home. They gave us the nicest room for us six to use. It was perfect. The pool was great to swim in. The beach was across the street and it was very nice except when the win picked up in the evening. Reception was helpful. The room was owner owned. If we would have stayed longer there were beach toys in the closet, beach chairs etc we probably could have used. It would have been so convieniet. It was decorated and furnished beautifully and we even had a view. Right on the cornor. It was great. Free printing of airline ticket check in. Great service.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coleclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kihei hotels
0.1 mi away
Aston at the Maui Banyan
0.1 mi away
Kihei Kai Nani
Kihei Kai Nani
#50 of 62 in Kihei
4.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Hale Pau Hana
The Hale Pau Hana
#2 of 62 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kihei Akahi
Kihei Akahi
#27 of 62 in Kihei
4.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
3.8 mi away
Maui Beach Vacation Club
0.3 mi away
Kamaole Sands
Kamaole Sands
#14 of 62 in Kihei
4.0 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maui Banyan Condos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Banyan Condos

Property: Maui Banyan Condos
Address: 2575 S Kihei Rd, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-8697
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Maui Banyan Condos 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maui Banyan, across from Kamaole Beach Park, has beautiful one bedroom condos at affordable rates. Tennis courts, two pools, spa, walk to shops and restaurants. All condos fully equipped, clean and nicely remodeled. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Maui Banyan Condos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maui Banyan Maui Condos Hotel Kihei
Maui Banyan Condos Kihei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing