We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing crew and relaxed diving!”
Review of Maui Dive Shop

Maui Dive Shop
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Maui Dive Shop offers small group SCUBA diving trips to at least two different destinations every day of the week. Maka Koa, our Pro 48' V-Hull, twin-engine, jet driven dive boat, takes up to 24 divers out of Maalaea Harbor, providing comfortable seating and amenities for a quick, safe, convenient ride to each dive location. The boat is equipped with a marine head (bathroom), fresh water shower, padded seating, and all necessary safety equipment. Knowledgeable crew members will provide an on board briefing to familiarize you with the boat, our equipment, and the spectacular marine life. A full breakfast and deli lunch, as well as refreshments, will be served on board. Free transportation from the South & West sides of the island is also available. NOTE: We do offer Introductory Dives from the beach for anyone interested in trying SCUBA diving.
Reviewed August 20, 2014

We went with Maui Dive Shop on a 2 tank afternoon dive. The boat was big and the crew amazing. Our daughter could snorkel during the time we were diving. Our dive guide Kyle was great. He pointed out all the nice marine life and he knew where to find the stuff. The safety briefings were outstanding. The rental equipment was in perfect condition. All in all we enjoyed a perfect day diving with Maui Dive Shop. The crew made it very relaxing and snacks and drinks were always available during the trip.

Thank Markus H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg S, Manager at Maui Dive Shop, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2014

Aloha Judith
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and to recommend us to your friends. There is no better review to trust us with your friends.

Mahalo and A hui hou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (977)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

391 - 395 of 977 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2014

We took the six hour snorkeling tour with Maui Dive to explore Molokini and the Pali coast. The trip featured a catered breakfast and lunch, and the two snorkel stops mentioned above. Our sailing vessel was the Alii Nui, a newer catamoran in excellent condition. Captain Morgan was very professional and instilled confidence, and the large number of support crew took good care of us and knew their jobs very well. There were about 60 people along. With the large number of people, as one could imagine, we were bumping into each other while snorkeling quite a bit. When a turtle or interesting fish was seen, our snorkeling group would swarm the site. During snorkeling, there were always crew lifeguards in the water to assist or rescue if necessary. All that said, it was a great trip and the cruise to the island and back was enjoyable with good music and conversation with the other snorkelers. We are not rating five star because the crew spent too much time cheering each other, trying to cross sell other services, and pressuring personal and group photograph sales by running around with a camera. The food was just average, and for the price they could have done better. So, an upscale, low key, relaxing snorkel cruise with no mention of purchasing additional products or services, with high quality food (seafood), would have been appreciated.

Thank Travel21st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg S, Manager at Maui Dive Shop, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2014

Travel21st,

Mahalo for taking the time to write us this excellent review! We're glad to hear that you had an enjoyable experience aboard the Alii Nui and that you felt very well taken care of by our knowledgeable crew. Please note that the on board photographer is not a true Alii Nui crew member but part of a separate company who runs the photo/video program. We are sorry to hear that you found his sales techniques to be too overt and we will certainly address this concern. Hopefully we'll see you back snorkeling with us again soon!

A Hui Hou,

Greg S

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2014

Very professional and the crew of Mike, Wayne, Kyle & Gill were fantastic. Vis was average and worked very hard to make sure everyone had a great time. Highly recommended!

Thank ChrisMizner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg S, Manager at Maui Dive Shop, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2014

ChrisMinzer,

Mahalo for taking the time to write us such a great review! We're glad to hear that you all had tons of fun diving with us and that your dive crew was fantastic. Hopefully we'll see you back underwater with us again soon!

A Hui Hou,

Greg S

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2014 via mobile

We went Scuba Diving, Snorkeling and took a class at the Maui Dive Shop. I can't say enough about how nice, helpful and knowledgeable all of the divers are. You will not be disappointed with these guys. All of our family loved the snorkeling on Four Winds ll boat trip. For diving, we usually use Pro Diver because of the small groups, but their boat was out of commission. We gave the Maui Dive Shop a try as we have rented gear from them on a prior trip and we kept coming back for more and more fun! The food was great on all of the trips. The crew was passionate about diving. They were happy to help anyway they could, from getting our gear on to helping us in and out of the boat. I was even given helpful tips on how to keep my mask from fogging and they really worked. The dives at Molokini were awesome. We saw a pod of dolphins on the way there. In the water, we saw a giant turtle, tons of fish, eels, snake, frog fish, big sharks, octopus and so much more. A special thanks to John and Kat for making our dives a vacation so spectacular and memorable.

Thank boise14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg S, Manager at Maui Dive Shop, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2014

Thank you so much for such a great review, We are very happy you decided to give us a try. We hope that we have you for a lifetime customer.

A hui hou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2014

We book 3 trips with this dive shop, and every one was excellent! All of the staff were friendly and excited about their jobs. They loved to tell stories about their dives and also made time to visit with all the guests. A huge bonus was having breakfast and lunch served on the trip (hot bacon and eggs!) They are laidback and have a lot of fun but also maintain the upmost level of safety. I was unable to scuba dive this trip but they were able to accommodate me as a snorkeler. Everyone was so kind and after 3 days together they felt like family.

Thank Rudy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg S, Manager at Maui Dive Shop, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2014

Aloha Rudy
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a great review. We try and treat everyone like friends out diving. We hope to see you again soon on the Maka Koa!

A hui hou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maui Dive Shop also viewed

 

Been to Maui Dive Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing