We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“James and Ka'anapali Kruise”
Review of Maui Kayaks

Maui Kayaks
Book In Advance
More Info
$74.00*
and up
Makena Turtle Town Eco Adventure in Maui
Reviewed December 8, 2013

My girlfriend and I took this tour out of a random search on Google and we couldn't have been more lucky. James our guide was awesome. Extremely laid back and down to earth while knowing so much about the islands history and attractions. He took us to a secret spot off the shores of Ka'anapali where we dropped anchor and jumped in! My girlfriend was extremely nervous at first, but James made her feel so comfortable. Also once we got in the water, it was just phenomenal! So many fish and numerous Green Sea Turtles.

When we go back, we are definitely going to use this company and request James as a guide again!

Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
social m, administrator at Maui Kayaks, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to give us such a favorable review! We are happy you enjoyed your tour and we look forward to seeing you again. Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (358)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

241 - 245 of 364 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2013

We had a great time kayaking with Maui Kayaks. Our guide Kale'o made the entire experience for us. While we saw lots of other guides just sitting in their kayaks while their group snorkeled aimlessly around he jumped in right with us.

We saw many great things, starfish, octopus, sea turtles, many many type of fish, and even a white-tipped shark.

This is where your guide makes all the difference, without Kale'o knowing what to look for on the bottom and then diving down and bringing it up for all of us to see and hold we would of missed so much. The shark i mentioned, he went into an underwater cave and coaxed it out for us to all see, rather amazing. He also brought up a small octopus (which we would of never seen, great hiders) and we each took turns holding it, great experience all around.

Book with these guys, they know what they're doing and put forward a lot of effort to make sure you have a great time.

Thank Matt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
social m, Administrator at Maui Kayaks, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2013

Thank you so much for a really great review! We pride ourselves on having the very best tour guides and are happy that you had such a great experience with Kale'o. Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

very enjoyable experience. John (our guide) was friendly and knowledgeable and took us to some good snorkeling spots. I would highly recommend this activity. 5 years ago we did a snorkeling tour by boat and I felt that this tour was far better as there was more time snorkeling and a lot less people.

Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
social m, Administrator at Maui Kayaks, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2013

Thank you for your very positive review! we are happy that you enjoyed your experience with us. Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We had a fabulous time. Saw lots of marine life. Our guide was great, very knowledgeable. I am not a strong swimmer and have a bit of a bad shoulder but the kayaking was easy, not strenuous at all and wore a life jacket so the snorkeling was easy as well. Will go again next time we visit Maui.

Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
social m, Administrator at Maui Kayaks, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Thank you for taking the time out to give us a review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your trip and had such a good experience with us! Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Had a great kayak trip with John! He was very good with the instructions for our mixed 6 couple group (3 pairs of strangers). Everyone had a great time. The weather was fantastic, but knowing where to go to get the "friendly" turtles was key to our trip. Plus having the star fish brought up to our attention was more fun. Lunch was great, too!
Mahalo

Thank ENone99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
social m, administrator at Maui Kayaks, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2013

Thank you so much for your review. We are glad that your group enjoyed the tour and that everything went so well! Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maui Kayaks also viewed

 

Been to Maui Kayaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing