We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fun and incredibly informative.”
Review of Maui Kayaks

Maui Kayaks
Book In Advance
More Info
$75.00*
and up
Makena Turtle Town Eco Adventure in Maui
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We have done the snorkel kayak tour with Maui Kayaks and guide Kileo (sp) on our last two trips to Maui and each time it has been incredible. You tell Kileo what you want to see and if that creature is off of McKenna Landing he will find it. This last time it was sharks and an octopus. Kileo points out the fish/critter to you then tells you the name of the creature in both English and Hawaiian as well as some additional info about behaviors etc. And you will see more turtles then you can count. if you only do one tour on Maui this should be it.

Thank RSFWILDCAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
social m, Administrator. at Maui Kayaks, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2013

Thank you for your very positive review! Kileo is one of our most popular guides and we will make sure that he reads your review. Looking forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Maui. Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (383)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"guide john"
in 24 reviews
"octopus"
in 68 reviews
"makena wailea"
in 13 reviews
"eco adventure"
in 11 reviews
"great guide"
in 30 reviews
"sea life"
in 35 reviews
"turtle town"
in 35 reviews
"fish"
in 74 reviews
"kayak trip"
in 22 reviews
"matt hudson"
in 5 reviews
"honolua bay"
in 10 reviews
"experienced kayakers"
in 5 reviews
"take photos"
in 8 reviews
"his enthusiasm"
in 4 reviews
"green sea turtles"
in 11 reviews
"snorkel spot"
in 7 reviews
"great morning"
in 11 reviews
Filter

275 - 279 of 383 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2013

We decided to book with the Honolua Bay ocean kayak/snorkeling excursion and it was probably one of the best trips we've ever taken.

James our guide was fantastic. Extremely personable, funny, and made sure that we were all ready for our trip and had all our supplies.

The ocean kayaking was just exciting! Loved exploring the NW part of the island. The snorkeling at Honolua Bay was some of the best snorkeling I've ever had, and I've snorkeling throughout Hawaii and the Caribbean.

James was always around to make sure we were safe and I saw him go out of his way to take a picture of a family of four so they could have a lasting family photo.

Highly recommend this trip! Thank you Maui Kayaks!

Thank rjl3045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
social m, Administrator at Maui Kayaks, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us a review! We aim to give our guests a really good experience and our guides are amongst the best on Maui, so it really makes us happy to know we are on the right track! Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Upon our arrival at the shop we found out we were the only ones signed up for that particular tour. No problem. A private kayaking adventure! Our guide, Noah, was terrific. He quickly and accurately assessed our skill level and what we would be capable of doing. As we were only interested in kayaking - not snorkeling - we wondered whether we'd be able to fill up two hours. We could have stayed out for four hours, there was so much to see. We paddled and paddled and paddled, visited spots we felt completely comfortable visiting under his watchful eye, and ended up having a wonderful adventure. A great morning! So much fun and so relaxing, too, being out on the water.

Thank starkfarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
social m, Administrator at Maui Kayaks, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Thank you for giving us such a positive review! We are glad our tour lived up to your expectations and we hope to see you again soon. Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We've Been vacationing in Maui for more than 15 years and Maui Kayak has been one of the things we've done repeatedly... Both because it is a great experience and because it can be as similar or different than the previous trip as you would like.

The last two times John has been our guide and he has been fantastic. Not only is he a great guide but also extremely knowledgable about underwater photography (so a two-for-one) and to top it off, they put together an excellent lunch with fresh meat, fruit, etc.

And finally, the review wouldn't be complete without saying 'aloha' to King Kamayomayo! ;-)

Thank Travelbum2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
social m, Administrator at Maui Kayaks, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Thank you so much for your great review! We love to hear about return clients and to know that we are doing a good job. Your opinion is very important to us. Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed July 24, 2013

The guide that we had was wonderful. I am not able to spell his name, although he told us to call him Mr K. At launch he wanted to know what we wanted to see. We told him an octopus and shark. He found us an octopus amongst a ton of other amazing creatures he brought up to show us. He was very knowledgeable and very fun to be around. Even though I now know where to go to see snorkel and see sea life I would still book another trip with Mr K cause he makes that extra effort to make sure you see what you want to see.

Thank Blisle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
social m, Administrator at Maui Kayaks, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Thank you for taking time out to write a review! We are so glad you enjoyed our "Mr K (Kaleo),we will let him know. Our guides are among the best you will find on Maui, always ready to go the extra mile to ensure happy customers and you are proof that we are on the right track. Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maui Kayaks also viewed

 

Been to Maui Kayaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing