We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“On the beach but small space”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Maui Schooner Resort
Ranked #12 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“On the beach but small space”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

The Maui Schooner is in South Kihei which we love for its variety of small restaurants and shops that we can walk to. Accomodations are clean, not luxury and functional. Pictures of the outdoor pool make it look larger than it really is but with the beach who cares. Staff was curteous and helpful. When just my husband and I are vacationing on Maui the Maui Schooner is an option but when with larger parties we stay else where to have larger units that can accommodate more people for dinner and just hanging out.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Debra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TradingPlacesTPI, Manager at Maui Schooner Resort, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Schooner! We appreciate your time in giving us valuable feedback. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    76
    32
    13
    4
See reviews for
74
86
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

We've been staying at the Schooner for over 20 years and each time we go back we have a great experience. The resort is well maintained and clean. It's convenient to beaches, shopping and local restaurants and while it's on the southeast side of the island, Maui isn't that big and you can get anywhere from there in a reasonable time. Being a smaller resort it's quiet and restful...just what you want from your vacation experience. The Schooner continues to be our "home away from home" on Maui!!

Room Tip: While there are no "bad" units at the Schooner, the "A"building is always prefer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TradingPlacesTPI, Manager at Maui Schooner Resort, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you for reviewing the Schooner! We love it too and will welcome you back to your "home" soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmira, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

The Schooner was everything I had hoped for. I stayed here while in Maui for a wedding, and the Schooner was never too far away from anything. I showed up during one of their more full times of the year, and they were great with every request. The only bad thing I'd have to say, was that the computer lab's printer was down, and there was no other option as far as printing boarding passes, tickets or directions.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexC609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TradingPlacesTPI, Manager at Maui Schooner Resort, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Schooner! We're sorry to hear about the lack of computer use during your stay, but hope that didn't deter from your wonderful vacation! We hope you will visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeville, Hawaii
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

We arrived on a Sunday and the staff knew we would be late because they checked with American Airlines to find the flight from Dallas was delayed because of weather and there was a downpour to greet us at the Maui airport. Fortunately, the Schooner is no more than 15 minutes from the Maui airport.

Our two bedroom suite was beautifully furnished, with artwork, floor to ceiling mirrors, King size and queen sized beds with new mattresses. The kitchen has more appliances, pots and pans, kitchen gadgets, 18 cu ft fridge, and a smooth top stove than we have at home.

There are three flat screen tv's, a combo CD/Radio, and a DVR available plus free wireless.

Both bedrooms and the living room have ACs that can be individually controlled.

There is a major upgrade on-going and the refurbished units will have granite counter tops, new appliances, furniture, baths, and showers. Complete refurbishment will be completed in September 2013.

The front office staff is very responsive to your needs and the activities director has rated activities and chosen only the finest for the Schooner guests. There are two computer stations available for guests and wireless connectivity in all units.

There is a nice pool area which includes a hot tub, covered cabana, shuffleboard, putting green, and tennis courts.

The outstanding landscaping will make you think you are in a botanical garden.

The area is conveniently located on a large park on the ocean and a great place for guest to watch the sunset and hopefully see the green flash.

There are numerous restaurants, convenience stores, grocery stores, gas stations, golf courses, the three finest beaches on Maui, and churches minutes from the resort.

We will return again and especially looking forward to a vacation in the beautifully refurbed units next whale season.

SHH from Texas

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank sterling h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TradingPlacesTPI, Manager at Maui Schooner Resort, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Mahalo for taking time to write a review for Maui Schooner! We hope you had a lovely time and will visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
221 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

I exchanged into this complex through my interval points. When you exchange you will be at the bottom of the totem pole for units, owners get the first set of units then renters then exchangers so do not expect to get the best units on the ocean.

We had a two bedroom loft unit. The loft is classified as the master and has no privacy even the door to the bathroom is one of those slotted doors. It also has a very narrow staircase so beware if you have people that may struggle with that. The units are also very small for 2 bedrooms and the balconys are as well there is barely enough room for 4 people to sit out there.

The resort in general is dated and there are no facilities on site. The median age would be 60-65 so if you are looking for a happening resort do not go here they like to keep things quiet even going so far as not allowing cell phones in the pool area.

You are mainly paying for the location here not the unit itself.

Room Tip: Building A is the best building but the owners usually have that one booked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JFEARN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TradingPlacesTPI, Manager at Maui Schooner Resort, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our resort. We hope you will stay with us again next time you visit Maui. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
105 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

We stayed at the Maui Schooner Resort the last week of January 2013. It was a nice hotel with a two bedroom, two bathroom and kitchenette. The rooms were nice, nothing special. The pool was very simple, not very large. The hot tub was WAY too hot most of the time. It was located near the water (walk past the tennis courts, over a grass area, so no ocean view). The beach was not a swimming beach and fairly rocky. The hotel grounds were nice, well kept with trees and flowers. Most of the guests were older (55+). The location was nice for travel around the island. We didn't spend much time at the resort but went north on the road to Hana, sunrise on Haleakala, over to Lahaina and to the nice resorts and beaches south of us. So a nice central location. There are many shops, bars, restaurants along the road a few miles south of the hotel. If you're looking for a nice central location and not a resort to spend most of your time at this is a good hotel for you. I do not know how it relates in price to other hotels in the area since we were staying on a friends timeshare.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
10 Thank lcstine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TradingPlacesTPI, Manager at Maui Schooner Resort, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our resort. We appreciate your comments and hope you travel back to Maui Schooner soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blind Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
219 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

We have been owners here for many years and so this review may be a bit biased. The Schooner is a small resort located right on the beach except for a wide green space and tennis courts between the resort and the beach. What attracted us in the beginning is what keeps us coming back when we could easily go elsewhere - the size and location. This is a relatively small resort and you are not overwhelmed by a huge number of guests. The grounds are exceptionally neat and well kept. The complex is made up of two buildings, A and B. The B building, which has a restricted view of the ocean and overlooks the swimming pool, has been totally renovated. The units are now modern, and well designed. The kitchens are very well equipped compared with most other resorts where we have stayed. Every unit has microwave, oven, range, fridge/freezer, etc. The unit has a/c and a TV in the bedroom. Every unit has a cooler, beach chairs, and beach towels. Cleaning is provided once a week but the units are immaculately clean. The pool has an ample number of chairs, lounges and tables and a nearby hot tub. The activity person is there through the week and the staff are friendly and accommodating. Lots of books and videos are available for free and parking is easy. Each night folks gather along the beach to watch the sunset, away from the traffic and noise and each night a conch shell announces the end of another day. One downer is the Wifi that is not robust enough to handle the traffic in the evening.

Room Tip: The A building has a better view. The B building has been renovated
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Brienbut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TradingPlacesTPI, Manager at Maui Schooner Resort, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Schooner! We're glad you love your home resort and look forward to welcoming you back to our Ohana soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kihei
2.4 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,084 reviews
5.8 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
0.1 mi away
Maui Sunset Condos
Maui Sunset Condos
#7 of 62 in Kihei
4.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Sugar Beach Resort
Sugar Beach Resort
#10 of 62 in Kihei
4.0 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
3.0 mi away
Aston at the Maui Banyan
3.8 mi away
Days Inn Maui Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maui Schooner Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Schooner Resort

Property: Maui Schooner Resort
Address: 980 S Kihei Rd, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-9151
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Maui Schooner Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maui Schooner Resort is a beach-front property with sprawling ocean views and charming Aloha hospitality. The resort boasts a tropical, Hawaiian resort atmosphere. Relax in your one, two or three bedroom suite, spacious enough for a couple on a romantic getaway or for the family. Unlike the typical hotel room, The Schooner's condominiums are equipped with a full kitchen, separate living room and all the amenities necessary for a comfortable stay in Maui. Enjoy beach side tennis courts and a an expansive scenic stretch of Maui sand and surf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Maui Schooner Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maui Schooner Hotel Kihei
Maui Schooner Kihei
Maui Schooner Resort Kihei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing