We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GOOD RESORT FOR THE RIGHT PRICE”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Maui Schooner Resort
Ranked #10 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
INVERNESS, ILLINOIS
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“GOOD RESORT FOR THE RIGHT PRICE”
Reviewed May 21, 2012

Just returned from a week stay at the Maui Schooner Resort located in Kihei. My wife and I had a one bedroom unit with bath, fully equipped kitchen, washer and dryer in unit, living area with a dining table, 2 TV's, and balcony overlooking a garden and pool area. We rented this timeshare stay for a week on line for a great price and it was worth every penny of it. I have to say that if I paid a lot I would have been disappointed due to the age of the buildings, location of building B close to the road noise. The beach is about 200 yards away from the nearest building and not really good for swimming. The pool area is small but very nice with 3 gas BBQ grilles and vending machines which make cooking for kids very easy and inexpensive to stay. The area is cleaned daily including the grilles. Rooms, the grounds, and general grounds are very clean.This is a bargain at the right price, but don't expect luxury if that is what you are used to. I definately would return again for the right deal. Tip for light sleepers, get building A if possible since it is farther away from road traffic noise. Daily maid service available at extra cost.

Room Tip: Try to get room in building "A" if you are a light sleeper with a view of the water and it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank UICHVAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    78
    32
    13
    4
See reviews for
75
87
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
103 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2012

We had a group of 6 adults and most of our activities were away from the resort. We found this resort to be a great middle point on the island, which enabled us to easily visit everything around.

As far as the condo is concerned, we had a 2 bed-room place, which fit our group perfectly. The loft was a little less private than what we would have liked, but we didn't have any problems with it. Even though there isn't a swimable beach, there is still a beach that you can go walking around during sunset.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pvtmulholland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2012

Loved the 2 bedroom condo. We had a view of the ocean from the 3rd floor. Pool /jacuzzi was very nice. Loved the shuffle board and being able to walk to the beach. Gardens are beautiful! Will definitely return!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SueVAEagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
106 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2012

Camw with my wife two daughters son-in-law and grand daughters. They loved the time. Units large spacious well equipped. Will return

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BarryL798
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2012

Wonderful, quiet resort. Cleanliness is very good and the grounds are impeccable. It's a dated condo but the upkeep is impressive - upgrades are underway. Staff are very "accommodating". Have stayed there a couple of times and would definitley return.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank RickLJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
345 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2012

We have stayed here multiple times. Lots of repeat guets,so that should tell you something. Located at the North end of Kihei, this resort is a good central location from which to visit any attraction on Maui. Units have completely equipped kitchen, plus Bar B ques by pool. Mostly timeshare owners here, but rentals often available. Restaurants and grocery store nearby.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank charlesodonnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minot, North Dakota, United States
Level Contributor
46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2012

We arrived Christmas day and left New Years day. These are older units but kept up and they are in the middle of a remodel project. Th e staff are very helpful and appreciated that the resort has a room where we could come back to shower and clean up after checking out as check out time was 10am and we did not fly out till 11pm. I had requested a third floor unit and we were able to get that and we also were ablt to see the beach from the side view of our lanai. Also had a great view of the pool. We were able to grill many of our meals as they had nice weber grills by the pool. It was also nice rto have washer and dryers in all the units. Hopefully we will be able to return here many timesin the future.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Jacqueline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kihei
2.4 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,116 reviews
5.8 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
0.1 mi away
Maui Sunset Condos
Maui Sunset Condos
#6 of 62 in Kihei
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Kohea Kai Resort Maui, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
3.8 mi away
Days Inn Maui Oceanfront
3.7 mi away
Mana Kai Maui
Mana Kai Maui
#5 of 62 in Kihei
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maui Schooner Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Schooner Resort

Property: Maui Schooner Resort
Address: 980 S Kihei Rd, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-9151
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Maui Schooner Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maui Schooner Resort is a beach-front property with sprawling ocean views and charming Aloha hospitality. The resort boasts a tropical, Hawaiian resort atmosphere. Relax in your one, two or three bedroom suite, spacious enough for a couple on a romantic getaway or for the family. Unlike the typical hotel room, The Schooner's condominiums are equipped with a full kitchen, separate living room and all the amenities necessary for a comfortable stay in Maui. Enjoy beach side tennis courts and a an expansive scenic stretch of Maui sand and surf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Maui Schooner Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maui Schooner Hotel Kihei
Maui Schooner Kihei
Maui Schooner Resort Kihei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing