We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, Private, and Quiet - Very Quiet” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kihei Sands Beachfront Condominiums

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kihei
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kihei Sands Beachfront Condominiums
Ranked #6 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Clean, Private, and Quiet - Very Quiet”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

Kihei Sands on the North side of Kihei is a great little (20 unit) property. Great beach access, clean, and great bang for the buck. We've stayed here a couple times before. Nice overall experience, except that many of the units are occupied by full time owners/tenants now. As you can imagine, there is a difference between 'vacation' mindset and 'day-to-day living' mindset. A few too many rules and people watching your every move. "Don't run, wash your feet, quiet down". Usual stuff that goes on at resorts, it just doesn't fly at this condo. Our bad, but we're pretty easy going, and it got old real quick. But hey, you get what you pay for.

Also, construction was going on in two adjoining units the entire time. It was limited to 8-5 pm, but at 8 sharp, you can bet the tile saw was going off!

I'd recommend for couples. Families might want to look elsewhere.

Room Tip: The upstairs units along the beach looked very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim54545345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgrkihei, Public Relations Manager at Kihei Sands Beachfront Condominiums, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Aloha! Thank you for your comments and we are glad you like our easy beach access and quaint tidy place. We're sorry to hear you didn't feel like you could really enjoy yourself the entire time, it is important to us that our guests of all ages have a great time. We do have some owners who come for extended stays, they too value your opinion and want you to enjoy the premises while you're on vacation. Please feel free to express your concerns to them or to our property managers, we'd love the opportunity to make you feel more comfortable while you are here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    31
    7
    2
    3
See reviews for
86
52
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Winnetka, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

My wife and I stayed in unit A8 this past February 2013 and really enjoyed our stay. This condo has recently been updated and it's location beside the pool is wonderful plus you get a view of the ocean as well. The kitchen is well stocked with all the essentials and a new flat screen HDTV along with a DVD player was installed. The TV is on a swivel so that it can even be viewed from the bedroom as well as the living room. We have been coming to Kihei Sands for 3 years and plan on coming for many years to come. Many people come here year after year and it's easy to see why. Everyone is friendly and will give you tips on the best restaurants and local attractions. We have made good friends with other guests and some have even come to visit us in Chicago. Maureen and Paul are the managers along with Jill and they are most welcoming and truly want your stay to be an enjoyable experience. The location of Kihei Sands is perfect for your stay on Maui as nothing is more than a short drive away whether you are interested in West Maui, Upcountry and Haleakala National Park and even the road to Hana.
There are 2 good size grills available for guests to use and we made good use of them. You can take long walks along the beach literally for miles and the sand is excellent for walking. There are plenty of chaise lounges and chairs available and you are only 23 steps to the beach (yes, I counted them).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jcharatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

First, the practical basics: Beautiful, clean and comfortable. Unit B-2 is updated, well kept, with clean floors and bathrooms as well as a nicely appointed and clean kitchen. The unit has lots of light, operable windows and effective AC units that cool the condo very well. The beds are comfortable, king bed in the loft and two singles in the bedroom, linens are good quality and fresh upon arrival. 2 bathrooms both with showers. A nice open living room, with large couch, not cramped feeling at all in the bedrooms or living areas. Closets are spacious, lots of hangers provided. Extra linens, blankets and tons of towels both for the beach and for shower.
Second, the fun details (to us): This condo complex has 2 large grills on a beautiful (and clean)back veranda that looks out over the ocean and beach. The soft sand and warm surf are just steps away from the complex. This stretch of beach allows you to jog or walk many miles in either direction. If out for a morning jog, try heading South to the Kealia Coastal Boardwalk and Bird Sanctuary for something special! Running shoes optional, the sand is SO SOFT for miles and miles (boardwalk, not so much). The view is beautiful in either direction, no matter how long your jog! Sit for coffee and breakfast at one of the tables and see the turtles swimming and watch the Kihei Canoe Club training and racing their outrigger canoes. Grill your dinner and listen to the surf and see the moon reflecting off the water. Also, share your table because the "locals" who live in the complex part or full time are kind people who are generous with their knowledge about the island (and life in general). The other guests were fun and pleasant to get to know! I felt that this location in Kihei was the perfect area to be in for travel all over Maui both on foot and by car. Close enough to walk to many places but outside the resort areas enough to feel like we were “at home.” In the water just outside the condo you will see Sea Turtles and, if you are as lucky as we were, possibly a whale and some Manta Rays. Kayaks and SUPs are a great idea to have delivered to your door at Kihei Sands Condos, its simple to carry them a few feet to the water and paddle to your heart’s content! The water is not as crystal clear here as it is in a mile either direction, but if you have snorkel gear you will be able to use it and be delighted.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank JustCBE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgrkihei, Public Relations Manager at Kihei Sands Beachfront Condominiums, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Aloha. Thank you for your lovely and detailed narrative on "Life at Kihei Sands" while you're on vacation! We hope other TripAdvisor visitors read your review because you offered some great tips on what to do and see and how to maximize your experience while you're on the island... from sun up to sun down. Sounds like you had a great time here and we're happy you chose to lay your head at Kihei Sands at the end of each beautiful day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Langley, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

A6 is the best! It was our 2nd time staying here and Elen the owner, and Gina the housekeeper couldn't of provided us with more. The condo is clean, cozy and has everything you could possibly want. It's those extra touches like the Kona coffee at hand and the delicious pineapple, housecoats, and even warm sweaters if you need them. Wish we could of stayed longer! It's a home away from home.
We also stayed in A3 and it was lovely and clean.

Fort Langley, BC

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wendy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

We stayed in unit A6 and had a great time in Maui. The biggest pro of the condo complex was the great beach. It was perfect for for swimming and walking. Our unit was clean, spacious VERY well stocked with kitchen supplies, boogie boards and towels. The owner, Elen, was extremely helpful and responsive to questions about the island. We enjoyed that the condo was centrally located, so we could easily drive to a variety of beaches and mountains. It was perfect for touring the island.

We traveled with our 3-month old son. While the condo was very family friendly, it was an older crowd the week we visited. The biggest con was the very busy road in front that did not allow for good stroller walking options.

Overall, the kihei sands was a great value and wonderful beach location. If you want to walk to bars or restaurants, I would look further south in Kihei. If you want a quiet beach, this is perfect! I recommend A6, because of the friendly owner and well stocked kitchen. It does not have a direct beach view.

Pros -
Owner of A6 is the most helpful person we have ever rented from - she was super helpful and answered all of our questions very quickly.
The unit was really clean.
Lovely, walkable beach that is shielded from the wind and sandy to swim
Great value!
Central location that is easy to drive anywhere on the island

Cons -
Too far to walk to the bars, restaurants and activities of S. Kihei
Right on a main highway, so not a good place to walk strollers
The pool is small and cold
Older crowd of guests. They were very friendly and loved seeing our young son, but it was definitely not a youthful complex
The condo was loud a few nights - we did not complain, but others did and the the property managers were very nice and handled the situation quickly

Room Tip: A6 was clean, well stocked and the owner is awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

I live in California and have travelled to Hawaii for vacations at least a dozen times. I've been to Oahu, Maui and Kauai, each several times. Most of the times I've rented a place through VRBO.com and have generally been really pleased. I found a unit in Kihei Sands that looked pretty interesting on VRBO.com, and booked 5 nights to go with my fiance.

Oh
My
God

First, let me just say that this place is sandwiched between the beach and a busy highway. Not one of the nicer places on the island. The bay is calm, but it's just not nearly as nice as further north near Lahaina, or Napili, or south towards Wailea. Not nearly as nice.

Then you get into the unit. I was shocked at how run down and poorly kept it was. It was DIRTY. As in filthy. Hopefully you'll be able to see the pictures I upload. Again, I've stayed in several VRBO condos and cottages, and I know that these are often older places, with decor and furniture that's seen a little wear and tear. But this place was unacceptable. I didn't want to sit on any of the furniture. The baseboards were covered in dust. The bathroom was not clean. I'm NOT a neat freak, but it was really bad.

Then, look out the window. Directly into a parking lot of the huge condo building next door. And some crappy things left in the yard by the neighbor / manager. It was depressing. So much so that even though I spent $1200 on 5 nights, we left after one night, and stayed in Napili. The gladly gave up $1000 to avoid spending 4 more nights here.

We did that even though we were supposed to move to the ocean front unit, directly on the water. It's just a dumpy place. Depressing.

Take a look at the pics. They are worth 1000 words.

So incredibly disappointed.

I cannot believe that this place got 4.5 stars. My fiance and I spent a lot of time talking about how this place could possibly get decent reviews.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank TIM c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgrkihei, Manager at Kihei Sands Beachfront Condominiums, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for looking at the responses on Trip Advisor. Unfortunately, this one requires more explaination. Recent construction of a new office at Kihei Sands did leave the yard outside the unit uneven and in need of attention therefore the orange cone was placed to warn of the uneven grounds. Since occupancy was in February in the heart of busy season, there has been no opportunity to make the necessary repairs. As for the condition of the unit A13, be sure to contact me for pictures of the unit because it is a lovely unit in so many ways. Taking a picture inside the owner's closet was not necessary as it is really not part of the guest portion of the unit. It is left unlocked as the electrical box is inside. The guests told me they have stayed in Napili and really like that area. At no time did they express a distaste for the unit. They did ask for their monies back knowing that a refund is not given within 60 days of the arrival date. I let them know if it was able to be re-rented a refund would be given. They did receive back the cleaning deposit for the ocean front unit that was not used.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

We stayed in Unit B14 during our recent trip to Maui. The complex itself is wonderful. Quite small and quiet. Perfect for a relaxing vacation. The pool area and patio were excellent, as well as the access to the beach. Unit B14 itself was in very poor condition. Very dated and in need of major renovations. The bathtub on the main floor was rusting (Yuck). Our friends stayed in a 3 bedroom unit which was renovated 5 years ago and was very nice. It would have been nice when we made reservations that we were told of the condition of our unit. I feel that the price to rent the unit should be much less then the other, much nicer units. We will definitely stay at Kihei Sands again but definitely not in Unit B14 again.

Room Tip: Definitely do not stay in Unit B14, but many of the other units were lovely. When you call to make...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stella204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgrkihei, Manager at Kihei Sands Beachfront Condominiums, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for the review written for unit B14 at Kihei Sands. They are correct the unit is in need of a full remodel. The owners have ordered their new kitchen and other items. A total remodel of the unit will start in April and should be finished in June complete with all new funiture. It will be like new. Feel free at any time for any of the units to ask for pictures.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kihei
4.4 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,067 reviews
7.8 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
0.1 mi away
Sugar Beach Resort
Sugar Beach Resort
#10 of 62 in Kihei
4.0 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kihei Kai Oceanfront Condos
5.7 mi away
Mana Kai Maui
Mana Kai Maui
#8 of 62 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
2.1 mi away
Maui Sunset Condos
Maui Sunset Condos
#5 of 62 in Kihei
4.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kihei Sands Beachfront Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kihei Sands Beachfront Condominiums

Property: Kihei Sands Beachfront Condominiums
Address: 115 N Kihei Rd, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-8828
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a beachfront condominium located 'Right in the Heart of Maui' where you can watch the sun rise over Haleakala, enjoy Maui's finest swimming beach, and have a front row seat in paradise to view our beautiful sunsets.From our oceanfront patio area and pool, you can practically touch the beach... clean, sandy, unpopulated ...stretching for miles in either direction. Kihei Sands opens to the calm waters of Maalaea Bay... breeding grounds for the humpback whale and a canvas for a fabulous sunset every night.Choose from our one bedroom/one bath condos and our two bedroom/two bath or two bedroom+loft with twin beds/two bath townhouse style condos.Each unit is individually decorated and has a fully furnished kitchen stocked with cookware, dishes & utensils. Units also include air conditioning, ceiling fans, cable television, DVD player, high-speed internet, linens and beach towels. Laundry facilities are available on-site.Each unit has a lanai for you to enjoy right outside your living room. We also invite you to enjoy our oceanfront pool and patio area equipped with tables, chairs and lounge chaises. A few short steps from there and you will be enjoying the soothing ocean waters. Ocean... pool... lounging in the sun. All within a few steps of each other. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kihei Sands Beach Condominium Hotel Kihei
Kihei Sands Beachfront Condominiums Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing