We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay there again”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kihei
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kihei Sands Beachfront Condominiums
Ranked #6 of 60 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Resort was just like it was advertised on the web site. A short walk from your room you are at the pool and a few more and you are on the beach. We stayed in unit B12. Unit was basic and clean but in need of some upgrades.
Our unit was advertised as air conditioned but the only A/C unit is on the top floor and provides very little cooling for the lower floor and none for the main floor bedroom. Upper loft area where the master bedroom is, is open to the main area windows. Lights from the Sugar Beach complex's stairwell shine through screens at night. Not good if you are sensitive to the light when sleeping. A/C unit was right above the bed and found it cold and loud, had to turn it to fan only at night. The ocean breezes come through the lanai doors and keep the main level cool, but the 2nd bedroom was excruciatingly hot without A/C.
The kitchen was dated and in need of a remodel. One of the reasons for booking a condo was being able to cook and the dated stove made this a challenge. The on-site BBQs got a great work out because of the stove.
Other family members travelling with us had remodelled condos with multiple A/C units and modernized kitchens which we would look for next time we visit.
The complex is meticulously cleaned and maintained by on-site management and they were friendly and helpful. They even lent us coolers for our day trip to Hana.
No snorkelling was nearby but the water in front of the complex remains shallow for a good distance from the shore and the bottom is sandy with no coral or rocks.
Enjoyed watching the canoe boat racing every morning with the complimentary coffee by the pool. Plenty of lounge chairs by the pool and beach towels in the room to use at the beach.
An ABC store and a small farmers market was within walking distance of the complex but a car is needed for grocery shopping (Safeway).
Thanks to Maureen and Paul for all the hard work they put in, to make the Kihei Sands such a wonderful resort to stay at. Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Request a renovated room when booking. Buy groceries at Costco and Safeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheHappyTraveller16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (193)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

160 - 166 of 193 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2012 via mobile

Located on a beautiful Sandy beach called Sugar Beach. You can walk out your condo in the morning and jump right into the ocean. A lot of accommodations are on the beach but you can't swim there. The managers were friendly and helpful. Its a small complex so there are no crowds. Its also at the end of all the vacation condos, so it very peaceful. The condo wasn't fancy but i liked it that way...with traditional Hawaiian decor. I would stay there again in a heart beat!!!

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RomeosandJuliettes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We stayed here for 9 days in a 2-bedroom unit upstairs. The unit was nice, clean, and had many extras. Beach towels, boogie boards, floaties, beach chairs and an umbrella in a closet which we could use. The beach was right and in front of us and what a beach!! Beautiful sandy beaches that we would walk every morning.
Quiet and peaceful side of the island, yet very close to Kihei. (We like being away from the big hotels that are crowded, loud, and have lots of extra fees).
The managers were wonderful. If you have any questions, ask them, they know it all. I highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: The unit we stayed at was upstairs, on the right. Good AC, nice and quiet, and nice view from the t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Siempreviajo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2012

We stayed at the Kihei Sands in A6 for two weeks. The condo was well maintained, clean, beautiful flowers, and friendly staff. Great location right on sugar beach. Clean pool and patio area for bbqing. Loved evening socializing with other guests and sharing experiences on the island and watching the whales. Our suite was great, had everything we needed. The owner went above and beyond to help make our trip to Maui the best vacation possible. Very clean also, lots of extras provided by owner, and at a reasonable price. We highly recommend this suite and condo and definately plan to come back.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Megan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2012

We booked two nights here last minute just last week. Upon arrival the managers offered us cold beverages which were much appreciated after a long travel day. We were a group of 6 adults and 2 children in two units - B10 and B12. I personally stayed in B12 which had a king bed up in the loft, with a bathroom, and a queen in the bedroom downstairs. Plenty of space for us four adults and 2 kids in the unit. The unit was super clean and had everything we needed, just like it said it would. The only thing that we could have used was a cooler and upon asking the manager if they happened to have one, we were set. They were so very friendly and accommodating. The lanai was smaller than some I have had on the island, but still adequate and with a gorgeous view! I can easily say the pictures of this unit do not do it justice. We all agreed we would return to this place. The pool is small but who needs a pool when you have an ocean? There were plenty of lawn chairs for sunbathing in a grass area to the right of the pool. Our kids (almost 4 and 2) had an absolute blast on the beach in front of the condo. Sandy beach, small, gentle waves... great for kids! This was our first stay in North Kihei and we would definitely come back and stay here!
Unit B10 appeared to be just as great! I was just in it briefly, but it appeared to be just as accommodating and clean. A different set up - a king bed in the loft, and two twins in the downstairs. It must be sufficient because my dad has plans to come back in November :-)
I highly recommend Kihei Sands!

Room Tip: Just talk to the manager - Maureen. She will make sure all of your needs are met.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kaylacat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2012

I stumbled across Kihei Sands while looking to join up with the rest of my family on Maui. What attracted me was the location right on Sugar Beach. It's a small, 2 storey, 30-unit complex, with a beautiful, uncrowded, sandy, 3 mile long beach right out front. Each unit has a view of the ocean from the lanai, and the common patio area out front has loungers, tables with umbrellas, a pool and BBQs. When we weren't playing on the beach & in the ocean we spent a lot of time laying in the sun and reading. The grounds & common areas are beautifully maintained and the building managers (Maureen & Paul) are extremely friendly and helpful should you have any questions or need anything. Once a week they host a breakfast for everyone with delicious macadamia nut/banana pancakes - be sure to try the coconut syrup - and it's a great opportunity to socialize with everyone.
We stayed in unit A-12 and it had all the amenities that we needed, including a blender, coffee maker, toaster, fridge with ice maker in the freezer, stove, microwave, ipod dock & player, cable TV, a DVD player, a wall-mounted air conditioning unit, a king sized bed in the bedroom and a queen sized pullout in the living room. It was carpeted which surprised us at first, as most places in tropical locations seem to be tiled. Each unit is individually owned, so they will differ on the inside from one to another, with some being much more updated & nicer than others. I would say ours was probably middle of the road - it was clean and had everything that we needed, so we found it just fine for our needs. There is wireless internet available but we had trouble getting it set up as the password given didn't work. There was a cable to hook up to, but as we had a tablet we needed a wireless network. That was the only minor issue we experienced, and even once we got it up and running we didn't have a very strong signal.
The parking lots are quite small, with only one space per unit. They are separated by a boulevard in the middle, and so if you pull into one lot and there are no spaces you have to back out onto North Kihei Rd - which can be pretty busy. So just look before you turn in to make sure there is space to save yourself some trouble. The spaces themselves are quite close together and there is a stone wall on the end of each row, making parking challenging at times. Luckily everyone staying there at the time was quite considerate of the space and parked as best they could. Even so there were a few times I had to let the passengers out before I could park as there was such limited space on either side. Smaller cars would be a lot more suited to this lot as they would leave for more room on either side and have a better turning radius for getting in and out.
Kihei Sands' location in North Kihei makes it really convenient to get out and explore other areas of the island as it is right off several of the main highways. The further South you go, the busier & more densely packed everything is, so the more traffic & residential streets you have to drive through before you get to the highway. That being said, if you prefer a short walk to the stores and restaurants, you don't have that option unless you want to be walking for a while each way. Sidewalks are pretty non-existant in North Kihei - it's not until you're past the Craft Fair & the shopping centre with Long's Drugs that there are consistent sidewalks on both sides of the road.
We would definitely come back the next time we're on Maui. We really enjoyed the small, friendly atmosphere away from the hustle and bustle of central Kihei. Our experience here was exactly the one we were looking for when we first booked in and we couldn't be happier with our decision.

Room Tip: Each unit is individually owned, so they will all differ from unit to unit. Some of the units are l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chelizsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2012

We stayed at Kihei Sands condos for 9 days. The managers are super friendly. Our unit A10 was managed by another company. The unit was very clean and has everything you need!! We had a few things that needed attention and all were taken care of immediately!!!! Our unit was the 2nd condo back from the beach with a great view. You literally could sit on the patio and watch the whales in the ocean. We drove around the entire island and this beach was the best walking beach we found. The sand is clean, however the water is not the blue clear water you see elsewhere. Just down the beach is a canoe club. For $10 you can go out on the ocean with them, and is a very enjoyable morning activity. Also the location of Kihei is in the middle of Maui, so it is very easy to adventure in either direction.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank R B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kihei
4.4 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,190 reviews
7.8 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
7.3 mi away
Maui Beach Hotel
Maui Beach Hotel
#3 of 3 in Kahului
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Mana Kai Maui
Mana Kai Maui
#3 of 60 in Kihei
551 reviews
5.7 mi away
Days Inn Maui Oceanfront
5.5 mi away
Aston Maui Hill
Aston Maui Hill
#1 of 60 in Kihei
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kihei Sands Beachfront Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kihei Sands Beachfront Condominiums

Address: 115 N Kihei Rd, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-8828
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 60 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a beachfront condominium located 'Right in the Heart of Maui' where you can watch the sun rise over Haleakala, enjoy Maui's finest swimming beach, and have a front row seat in paradise to view our beautiful sunsets.From our oceanfront patio area and pool, you can practically touch the beach... clean, sandy, unpopulated ...stretching for miles in either direction. Kihei Sands opens to the calm waters of Maalaea Bay... breeding grounds for the humpback whale and a canvas for a fabulous sunset every night.Choose from our one bedroom/one bath condos and our two bedroom/two bath or two bedroom+loft with twin beds/two bath townhouse style condos.Each unit is individually decorated and has a fully furnished kitchen stocked with cookware, dishes & utensils. Units also include air conditioning, ceiling fans, cable television, DVD player, high-speed internet, linens and beach towels. Laundry facilities are available on-site.Each unit has a lanai for you to enjoy right outside your living room. We also invite you to enjoy our oceanfront pool and patio area equipped with tables, chairs and lounge chaises. A few short steps from there and you will be enjoying the soothing ocean waters. Ocean... pool... lounging in the sun. All within a few steps of each other. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kihei Sands Beach Condominium Hotel Kihei
Kihei Sands Beachfront Condominiums Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing