We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kihei
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kihei Sands Beachfront Condominiums
Ranked #3 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
St. Albert, Canada
1 review
“Hidden Gem!”
Reviewed March 20, 2012

We stayed at the Kihei Sands in A6 for two weeks. The condo was well maintained, clean, beautiful flowers, and friendly staff. Great location right on sugar beach. Clean pool and patio area for bbqing. Loved evening socializing with other guests and sharing experiences on the island and watching the whales. Our suite was great, had everything we needed. The owner went above and beyond to help make our trip to Maui the best vacation possible. Very clean also, lots of extras provided by owner, and at a reasonable price. We highly recommend this suite and condo and definately plan to come back.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    34
    7
    2
    3
See reviews for
91
55
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, WA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2012

We booked two nights here last minute just last week. Upon arrival the managers offered us cold beverages which were much appreciated after a long travel day. We were a group of 6 adults and 2 children in two units - B10 and B12. I personally stayed in B12 which had a king bed up in the loft, with a bathroom, and a queen in the bedroom downstairs. Plenty of space for us four adults and 2 kids in the unit. The unit was super clean and had everything we needed, just like it said it would. The only thing that we could have used was a cooler and upon asking the manager if they happened to have one, we were set. They were so very friendly and accommodating. The lanai was smaller than some I have had on the island, but still adequate and with a gorgeous view! I can easily say the pictures of this unit do not do it justice. We all agreed we would return to this place. The pool is small but who needs a pool when you have an ocean? There were plenty of lawn chairs for sunbathing in a grass area to the right of the pool. Our kids (almost 4 and 2) had an absolute blast on the beach in front of the condo. Sandy beach, small, gentle waves... great for kids! This was our first stay in North Kihei and we would definitely come back and stay here!
Unit B10 appeared to be just as great! I was just in it briefly, but it appeared to be just as accommodating and clean. A different set up - a king bed in the loft, and two twins in the downstairs. It must be sufficient because my dad has plans to come back in November :-)
I highly recommend Kihei Sands!

Room Tip: Just talk to the manager - Maureen. She will make sure all of your needs are met.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaylacat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatchewan
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2012

I stumbled across Kihei Sands while looking to join up with the rest of my family on Maui. What attracted me was the location right on Sugar Beach. It's a small, 2 storey, 30-unit complex, with a beautiful, uncrowded, sandy, 3 mile long beach right out front. Each unit has a view of the ocean from the lanai, and the common patio area out front has loungers, tables with umbrellas, a pool and BBQs. When we weren't playing on the beach & in the ocean we spent a lot of time laying in the sun and reading. The grounds & common areas are beautifully maintained and the building managers (Maureen & Paul) are extremely friendly and helpful should you have any questions or need anything. Once a week they host a breakfast for everyone with delicious macadamia nut/banana pancakes - be sure to try the coconut syrup - and it's a great opportunity to socialize with everyone.
We stayed in unit A-12 and it had all the amenities that we needed, including a blender, coffee maker, toaster, fridge with ice maker in the freezer, stove, microwave, ipod dock & player, cable TV, a DVD player, a wall-mounted air conditioning unit, a king sized bed in the bedroom and a queen sized pullout in the living room. It was carpeted which surprised us at first, as most places in tropical locations seem to be tiled. Each unit is individually owned, so they will differ on the inside from one to another, with some being much more updated & nicer than others. I would say ours was probably middle of the road - it was clean and had everything that we needed, so we found it just fine for our needs. There is wireless internet available but we had trouble getting it set up as the password given didn't work. There was a cable to hook up to, but as we had a tablet we needed a wireless network. That was the only minor issue we experienced, and even once we got it up and running we didn't have a very strong signal.
The parking lots are quite small, with only one space per unit. They are separated by a boulevard in the middle, and so if you pull into one lot and there are no spaces you have to back out onto North Kihei Rd - which can be pretty busy. So just look before you turn in to make sure there is space to save yourself some trouble. The spaces themselves are quite close together and there is a stone wall on the end of each row, making parking challenging at times. Luckily everyone staying there at the time was quite considerate of the space and parked as best they could. Even so there were a few times I had to let the passengers out before I could park as there was such limited space on either side. Smaller cars would be a lot more suited to this lot as they would leave for more room on either side and have a better turning radius for getting in and out.
Kihei Sands' location in North Kihei makes it really convenient to get out and explore other areas of the island as it is right off several of the main highways. The further South you go, the busier & more densely packed everything is, so the more traffic & residential streets you have to drive through before you get to the highway. That being said, if you prefer a short walk to the stores and restaurants, you don't have that option unless you want to be walking for a while each way. Sidewalks are pretty non-existant in North Kihei - it's not until you're past the Craft Fair & the shopping centre with Long's Drugs that there are consistent sidewalks on both sides of the road.
We would definitely come back the next time we're on Maui. We really enjoyed the small, friendly atmosphere away from the hustle and bustle of central Kihei. Our experience here was exactly the one we were looking for when we first booked in and we couldn't be happier with our decision.

Room Tip: Each unit is individually owned, so they will all differ from unit to unit. Some of the units are l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chelizsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canton ohio
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2012

We stayed at Kihei Sands condos for 9 days. The managers are super friendly. Our unit A10 was managed by another company. The unit was very clean and has everything you need!! We had a few things that needed attention and all were taken care of immediately!!!! Our unit was the 2nd condo back from the beach with a great view. You literally could sit on the patio and watch the whales in the ocean. We drove around the entire island and this beach was the best walking beach we found. The sand is clean, however the water is not the blue clear water you see elsewhere. Just down the beach is a canoe club. For $10 you can go out on the ocean with them, and is a very enjoyable morning activity. Also the location of Kihei is in the middle of Maui, so it is very easy to adventure in either direction.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank R B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gresham, Oregon
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2011

My mom, two daughters and niece went for a week's vacation to Maui. This property is a little on the older side, but its homeyness makes up for it. The location was in the middle of the north and south halves of the island which made it easier to travel all around. The beach was steps away, not a snorkeling site, but fun for swimming and watching outrigger races. The managers are very friendly and eager to help in any way. They made you feel like family. We visited Kaanapali and it was so crowded and impersonal. It was a great trip and would definitely go back!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank flamingogirl16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
264 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2011

We were in b12 yes you can see the ocean but the deck is so small and rail right at eye level that it wasn't nice to sit at. The units closest to the ocean are great because you have the grass and tons more room with your place right there. The ground units also are better due to the grass area.

Our wireless Internet didn't work and we couldn't get extra housekeeping even with a $109 extra cleaning fee I think if you stay more than a week your towels should at the very least get swapped out.

The price was less than other places but more than Maui banyan. Unless you get the units on ground or the ocean end I would opt for something else. For $235 a night the sheets could have been better and the wireless should work.

This being said it would be a great place for families with very young kids 6 or under Ours are 8 and 10 and wanted a beach with bigger waves Mangers were very nice and even loaned us a cooler until we bought a larger one at Costco.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MomFromOrondo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Coquitlam, Canada
1 review
Reviewed November 19, 2011

The apartment A6 was ideal and in a fantastic location. How neat is that to have a gorgeous beach only steps from our door and what a beautiful patio (with BBQ's) and pool. It was so nice to not have to pack up everyday to go to the beach. The apartment was well equipped as we wanted for nothing. I was awake every morning early to watch the sunset and to enjoy the coffee served on the lanai. What I enjoyed the most was the camaraderie of all the owners and renters meeting outside on the lanai. We met and made many new friends. I hope that in the future you will give us the opportunity to revisit your condo. Two of us slept in the bed (very comfortable) and one on the pull out couch which was also comfy. The only issue was the one bathroom for three very vain ladies.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kihei hotels
4.4 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,114 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sugar Beach Resort
Sugar Beach Resort
#8 of 62 in Kihei
598 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kihei Kai Oceanfront Condos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Mana Kai Maui
Mana Kai Maui
#5 of 62 in Kihei
518 reviews
1.2 mi away
Kohea Kai Resort Maui, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
1.0 mi away
Nona Lani Cottages
Nona Lani Cottages
#16 of 62 in Kihei
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kihei Sands Beachfront Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kihei Sands Beachfront Condominiums

Property: Kihei Sands Beachfront Condominiums
Address: 115 N Kihei Rd, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-8828
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a beachfront condominium located 'Right in the Heart of Maui' where you can watch the sun rise over Haleakala, enjoy Maui's finest swimming beach, and have a front row seat in paradise to view our beautiful sunsets.From our oceanfront patio area and pool, you can practically touch the beach... clean, sandy, unpopulated ...stretching for miles in either direction. Kihei Sands opens to the calm waters of Maalaea Bay... breeding grounds for the humpback whale and a canvas for a fabulous sunset every night.Choose from our one bedroom/one bath condos and our two bedroom/two bath or two bedroom+loft with twin beds/two bath townhouse style condos.Each unit is individually decorated and has a fully furnished kitchen stocked with cookware, dishes & utensils. Units also include air conditioning, ceiling fans, cable television, DVD player, high-speed internet, linens and beach towels. Laundry facilities are available on-site.Each unit has a lanai for you to enjoy right outside your living room. We also invite you to enjoy our oceanfront pool and patio area equipped with tables, chairs and lounge chaises. A few short steps from there and you will be enjoying the soothing ocean waters. Ocean... pool... lounging in the sun. All within a few steps of each other. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kihei Sands Beach Condominium Hotel Kihei
Kihei Sands Beachfront Condominiums Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing