We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (200)
Filter reviews
200 results
Traveler rating
148
36
9
3
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
148
36
9
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sugar beach kings size bed the kitchen other guests water play small condo complex loft upstairs tourist activities morning coffee abc store haleakala national park farmers market oceanfront unit fresh pineapple watching the sunrise an easy drive these condos
Filter
Updating list...
170 - 175 of 200 reviews
Reviewed March 17, 2012

We booked two nights here last minute just last week. Upon arrival the managers offered us cold beverages which were much appreciated after a long travel day. We were a group of 6 adults and 2 children in two units - B10 and B12. I personally stayed in B12 which had a king bed up in the loft, with a bathroom, and a queen in the bedroom downstairs. Plenty of space for us four adults and 2 kids in the unit. The unit was super clean and had everything we needed, just like it said it would. The only thing that we could have used was a cooler and upon asking the manager if they happened to have one, we were set. They were so very friendly and accommodating. The lanai was smaller than some I have had on the island, but still adequate and with a gorgeous view! I can easily say the pictures of this unit do not do it justice. We all agreed we would return to this place. The pool is small but who needs a pool when you have an ocean? There were plenty of lawn chairs for sunbathing in a grass area to the right of the pool. Our kids (almost 4 and 2) had an absolute blast on the beach in front of the condo. Sandy beach, small, gentle waves... great for kids! This was our first stay in North Kihei and we would definitely come back and stay here!
Unit B10 appeared to be just as great! I was just in it briefly, but it appeared to be just as accommodating and clean. A different set up - a king bed in the loft, and two twins in the downstairs. It must be sufficient because my dad has plans to come back in November :-)
I highly recommend Kihei Sands!

Room tip: Just talk to the manager - Maureen. She will make sure all of your needs are met.
Date of stay: March 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kaylacat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2012

I stumbled across Kihei Sands while looking to join up with the rest of my family on Maui. What attracted me was the location right on Sugar Beach. It's a small, 2 storey, 30-unit complex, with a beautiful, uncrowded, sandy, 3 mile long beach right out front. Each unit has a view of the ocean from the lanai, and the common patio area out front has loungers, tables with umbrellas, a pool and BBQs. When we weren't playing on the beach & in the ocean we spent a lot of time laying in the sun and reading. The grounds & common areas are beautifully maintained and the building managers (Maureen & Paul) are extremely friendly and helpful should you have any questions or need anything. Once a week they host a breakfast for everyone with delicious macadamia nut/banana pancakes - be sure to try the coconut syrup - and it's a great opportunity to socialize with everyone.
We stayed in unit A-12 and it had all the amenities that we needed, including a blender, coffee maker, toaster, fridge with ice maker in the freezer, stove, microwave, ipod dock & player, cable TV, a DVD player, a wall-mounted air conditioning unit, a king sized bed in the bedroom and a queen sized pullout in the living room. It was carpeted which surprised us at first, as most places in tropical locations seem to be tiled. Each unit is individually owned, so they will differ on the inside from one to another, with some being much more updated & nicer than others. I would say ours was probably middle of the road - it was clean and had everything that we needed, so we found it just fine for our needs. There is wireless internet available but we had trouble getting it set up as the password given didn't work. There was a cable to hook up to, but as we had a tablet we needed a wireless network. That was the only minor issue we experienced, and even once we got it up and running we didn't have a very strong signal.
The parking lots are quite small, with only one space per unit. They are separated by a boulevard in the middle, and so if you pull into one lot and there are no spaces you have to back out onto North Kihei Rd - which can be pretty busy. So just look before you turn in to make sure there is space to save yourself some trouble. The spaces themselves are quite close together and there is a stone wall on the end of each row, making parking challenging at times. Luckily everyone staying there at the time was quite considerate of the space and parked as best they could. Even so there were a few times I had to let the passengers out before I could park as there was such limited space on either side. Smaller cars would be a lot more suited to this lot as they would leave for more room on either side and have a better turning radius for getting in and out.
Kihei Sands' location in North Kihei makes it really convenient to get out and explore other areas of the island as it is right off several of the main highways. The further South you go, the busier & more densely packed everything is, so the more traffic & residential streets you have to drive through before you get to the highway. That being said, if you prefer a short walk to the stores and restaurants, you don't have that option unless you want to be walking for a while each way. Sidewalks are pretty non-existant in North Kihei - it's not until you're past the Craft Fair & the shopping centre with Long's Drugs that there are consistent sidewalks on both sides of the road.
We would definitely come back the next time we're on Maui. We really enjoyed the small, friendly atmosphere away from the hustle and bustle of central Kihei. Our experience here was exactly the one we were looking for when we first booked in and we couldn't be happier with our decision.

Room tip: Each unit is individually owned, so they will all differ from unit to unit. Some of the units are listed on VRBO, allowing you to see the interior before booking. We had unit A-12 and were happy with it - we heard from some other renters upon check-in that it was the nicest unit of the 3 they had stayed in.
Date of stay: February 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chelizsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2012

We stayed at Kihei Sands condos for 9 days. The managers are super friendly. Our unit A10 was managed by another company. The unit was very clean and has everything you need!! We had a few things that needed attention and all were taken care of immediately!!!! Our unit was the 2nd condo back from the beach with a great view. You literally could sit on the patio and watch the whales in the ocean. We drove around the entire island and this beach was the best walking beach we found. The sand is clean, however the water is not the blue clear water you see elsewhere. Just down the beach is a canoe club. For $10 you can go out on the ocean with them, and is a very enjoyable morning activity. Also the location of Kihei is in the middle of Maui, so it is very easy to adventure in either direction.

Date of stay: February 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank R B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2011

My mom, two daughters and niece went for a week's vacation to Maui. This property is a little on the older side, but its homeyness makes up for it. The location was in the middle of the north and south halves of the island which made it easier to travel all around. The beach was steps away, not a snorkeling site, but fun for swimming and watching outrigger races. The managers are very friendly and eager to help in any way. They made you feel like family. We visited Kaanapali and it was so crowded and impersonal. It was a great trip and would definitely go back!

Date of stay: December 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank flamingogirl16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2011

We were in b12 yes you can see the ocean but the deck is so small and rail right at eye level that it wasn't nice to sit at. The units closest to the ocean are great because you have the grass and tons more room with your place right there. The ground units also are better due to the grass area.

Our wireless Internet didn't work and we couldn't get extra housekeeping even with a $109 extra cleaning fee I think if you stay more than a week your towels should at the very least get swapped out.

The price was less than other places but more than Maui banyan. Unless you get the units on ground or the ocean end I would opt for something else. For $235 a night the sheets could have been better and the wireless should work.

This being said it would be a great place for families with very young kids 6 or under Ours are 8 and 10 and wanted a beach with bigger waves Mangers were very nice and even loaned us a cooler until we bought a larger one at Costco.

Date of stay: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MomFromOrondo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews