We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great shave ice anytime!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Local Boy Snack Shop

Local Boy Snack Shop
Ranked #8 of 14 Dessert in Kihei
Cuisines: Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
97 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great shave ice anytime!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

These are huge so go with the small unless you plan to share or are really hungry. The guava was the best!! Lots of free extras but you must ask so ready the sign for info on ice cream and toppings offered! Park across street at the park and the enjoy your shave ice and a beautiful sunset. Perfect evening in Kihei. Very affordable $4,$5 and $6.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DenverREO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    19
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best Shave Ice Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

This is a must on the island. Get the macadamia nut ice cream on the bottom and sweet cream over the top. You will be eating a little piece of heaven.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank WNELVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
70 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“SO ONO”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is the BEST and only place to get shaved ice! I lived on Maui for awhile and NOWHERE else on the island can compare to their shaved ice! THIS IS A MUST!!!! Warning once you try you will go back everyday for another one!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank blondecurlysue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice outdoor atmosphere right off the beach!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

Great size, great flavor! I've had shaved ice at 2 other places this was the smoothest and largest proportioned place I've been to so far. I enjoy the sweet cream on top, so that would be my only complaint here, the cream wasn't as sweet or thick. All in all it was pretty good since Hawaiian shaved ice is my new addiction. I had the patriot coconutty, pineappley, pleasure!! If your here shopping, why not try one?

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cherylx6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Best Shave Ice on Maui”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

The service was wonderful. The portions were generous, and the flavor was amazing. I highly recommend getting a scoop of ice cream on the bottom.

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank trevordj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Local Boy Snack Shop also viewed

 

Been to Local Boy Snack Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing