We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Shop Great Staff”

Maui Dreams Dive Co.
Certificate of Excellence
Lynnwood, WA
Level Contributor
95 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great Shop Great Staff”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We first discovered Maui Dreams a few years ago...and we have never looked back. We not only buy our diving gear here and do shore dives with the staff (scooters are AMAZING), but we have done advanced certifications with them, and I know when the time comes, my husband will do his Dive Master work here.

While keeping in mind that we are customers, the staff works to make sure you are treated as a friend.

Why go to dive shops that treat you with disdain or go to the super big dive shops that have staff not nearly as well trained or invested in YOU the customer. MD knows our vacation time is precious...they work hard to make sure you get the most out of your time on Island

Thanks Rachel, Teri et al for another amazing experience
Kate and Corey and Kari

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank notsochubby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    277
    20
    7
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Rijnsaterwoude
Level Contributor
201 reviews
74 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Good diving outfit, eye for detail”
Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

Had a great dive at Molokini crater and Stone Wall. Crew is nice and knowledgeable, food and free to use cameras on board. All gear they have at the harbour or on board so no time is wasted fitting stuff in a shop. Not cheap, but good

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joeri E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great dive - great staff”
Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

This was the Best dive i did in Hawaii. The sights were great, unfortunately the weather condition were Not perfect so we were not able to dive at Molokini. The staff was very friendly, helpfull and skilled. Their equiptment was very good and professional. It was a little pricey but we it was well worth the money!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Linhoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glocester, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Dives, Great Staff”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Maui Dreams Dive Co. (diving shop and shore dives) and Maui Diamond Sea Sports (boat dives) are sister companies in Kihei on the island of Maui in the state of Hawaii. However, you can book the boat dives from the Maui Dreams Dive Company web site (mauidreamsdiveco.com), in person at the shop, or by phoning the Maui Dream Dive Company.

Their shop in Kihei is well equipped for the diver and both the in house staff and the dive masters/instructors are a bunch of great people who show their happiness working in the diving business. Their boat, the Maui Diamond, is comfortable and is also staffed with fun loving and expert diving folks. However, their fun loving is secondary to their concern with safety both on the boat and in the water.

Last year I took the peak buoyancy course with Charlie and he was extremely knowledgeable and patient. While my buoyancy isn’t perfect (yet) it is greatly improved.

Two of us divers signed up for a two tank scooter dive on Wednesday July 16, 2013. Charlie was the dive master and he also had a student that was taking a course to become a dive master. We went out about 50 feet from the shore, dropped down and began to scooter out to the dive site. After a few minutes, Charlie and I lost visual contract with each other since the visibility was poor. After one minute or so of not being able to locate each other, all four of us surfaced and I was only separated by about 15 feet from the others. Since safety is a primary concern by Maui Dreams Dive Co., (and this is important to divers) the dive was called. Back at the shop, we were given the option of getting our money back or rescheduling. Being a relatively new diver (35 dives) I really appreciated this concern for safety.

In place of the scooter dives I took a two-tank dive from their boat on Monday July 22, 2013. The first dive was at the Molokini Crater, and the second was at the Stonewall Dive site. Captain Chris captained the boat and the two dive masters were Ben and Rob. All three were extremely helpful, friendly, and experts. And it showed that they loved their “jobs”. BTW I found Captain Chris’ jokes funny.

At the crater dive site Ben pointed out a resident 5 foot Barracuda. The water was at least 100 feet visibility, maybe even 150 feet. The coral was interesting and several of the other divers saw a few white tip sharks (or were they black tip?). Our dive master for our group of six, Ben, made sure that he tested any currents, and kept us clear of the current. That was really helpful, since diving against the current, even a slight one, can use up the air quite fast—as well as making the dive tiring.

Several of us liked the second site, the Stonewall dive site, more than the crater. I would assume that what you see on any given day at a site is subject to chance. Ben found an octopus, and coaxed it out of its hiding place. It was great to see it scamper from its first hiding place to another hiding place. The best view I’ve had of an octopus in my 40 dives. One of the divers spotted a really large eel hiding in a hole under some coral. Ben came over and confirmed, using his underwater slate, that yes it was huge. BTW the dive master using a slate to help communicate what was being seen and other communication was a definite plus on the two dives.

During the intervals of diving, pastries, fruit, water, and soda was available—however, the biggest surprise was several types of sandwiches that were also available after the first dive—sandwiches available was a first for me on a boat dive.

I met Don and Rachel (owners) and it seems that there good nature and wit is contagious to the staff—and this good feeling is passed onto the customers.

All in all I had a good time, the crew was great, and both Maui Dream Dive Shop and the Maui Diamond dive boat is highly recommended

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
108 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Top class - what a great set up!”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We have been diving all over the world and have come across many operations - the good, the bad and the ugly. This operation is excellent. What a great bunch of people! We had a fantastic captain and crew - really helpful and friendly. We had a 10 year old diver and he was made to feel comfortable and at home. He had the best dive of his life and got to see two white tip reef sharks. The briefings were excellent and the guides were great. A truly pleasurable experience with a well run organisation.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank janjanvanman059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maui Dreams Dive Co. also viewed

 

Been to Maui Dreams Dive Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing