We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Kalua pig”

Moose McGillycuddy's
Ranked #30 of 177 Restaurants in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
92 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Excellent Kalua pig”
Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

This is my second visit to Moose McGillicuddy's in Kihei. Both times for dinner. Good cold beer, excellent tropical cocktails and and tasty local and Mexican food. Good place to watch sports.

Helpful?
Thank Jgmackay2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

988 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    324
    392
    183
    49
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gig Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
48 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good food and Football”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

What else do you need on a Sunday in November? We are in Maui for the Thanksgiving holiday and found this bar/restaurant to watch football last Sunday. Lots of tv's so you can watch all the games at once. I ordered the Loco Moco for breakfast and the fried rice and gravy were very good. Service was fair (busy) and cheerful.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Big C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Typical Moose Style”
Reviewed November 23, 2013

We went to Moose a few times as it was convenient to our location. The food was good as far as bar food goes. The atmosphere was lively and entertaining. We had good service if we sat close to the front but one day we sat at the back of the restaurant and we eventually had to move to get service as no one came to take our order. We would likely go back here again.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank SugarThom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best breakfast by far on maui”
Reviewed November 22, 2013 via mobile

On vacation we truly look for great breakfast spots and mooses will not disappoint. The pancakes are fluffy and hot, the eggs are done perfect and the corned beef hash is amazing. Plus for a few cents more on every plate, you can add a delicious banana muffin that is still warm. Enjoy this place.

Helpful?
Thank murphnj76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kihei, Hawaii
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“great view, good happy hour, you won't find a more reasonable place with a view to eat in kihei”
Reviewed November 19, 2013

I live in kihei and have eaten at moose's many times. i take my visiting family there and they always return without me when i am at work. There is not a better place to have a drink and some food then moose's if you want a view and don't want to spend a fortune. This not a fancy place so if that is what you are looking for there are a lot of places in kihei and especially in near by wailea.


A few things to know:

1. happy hour is from 4-7

2.they have a special every night of the week such as burger night where burgers are nearly 50% cheaper than normal.

3. Moose's is operated by they same people that own fred's mexican downstairs. Knowing this you can avoid the lines at fred's mexican downstairs on taco tuesdays by going upstairs to moose's and getting the same deal on tacos. Also moose does serve breakfast it is just served downstairs at fred's. you can find 2 for 1 breakfast coupons for moose's in the free "This Week Maui Magazine" found all over the island. you can't get a better deal in any place in town let alone in a place with as nice a view as these sister restaurants.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank christopher j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Moose McGillycuddy's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing