We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of 808 Deli

808 Deli
Ranked #4 of 176 Restaurants in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
118 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
Reviewed October 10, 2011

The 808 Deli is great. They have a huge selection and everything is amazing. They have a few tables, but you can get your food and eat it at the 808 Bistro in the same building. It's a great deal for a restaurant in South Maui.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lola_Von_Skilet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

707 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    484
    184
    32
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Toasty, fresh, deliciousness!”
Reviewed October 6, 2011

I ordered the Rippie to go and as I waited for it, I looked around at the drab decor and set my expectations low. My name was called, I grabbed my sandwich and brought it to my car. Instantly, my car was filled with an aroma that made my mouth water. The sandwich was as good as it smelled. Lots of avocado, tomato, and cheese on crispy panini bread. I need to replicate this sandwich at home or move out to Maui.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Nicole Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gig Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
279 reviews
231 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Average no grills deli”
Reviewed October 2, 2011

Chicken mango panini was tasteless but the Reuben was delicious! The dell is no frills, would get a higher score but the counter help was rude and never told us our order was ready so our hot sammies were lukewarm and borderline soggy :(

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
56 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great place for fast, delicious, inexpensive sandwiches”
Reviewed September 19, 2011

Came here twice for lunches during our trip. Delicious sandwiches with fresh ingredients. Especially liked the wasabi roast beef sandwich.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank miaaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maui, Hawaii
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“The best place for lunch”
Reviewed September 15, 2011

Wish they were open for dinner. Yes I realize it's a delhi, but we loved it so much we would have gone for a casual dinner meal there. They have quality sandwiches for a reasonable price and very friendly service.

For me, these would be enough to share. My husband always wanted his own because they are so yummy. We went back three times during our 9 days here. We both had the Porkie panini. The pulled pork was better than most other restaurants then had pepper jack cheese and a mango salsa. All the flavors compliment each other perfect, even down to the rye bread.

I also tried the Chicken with Mango chutney, totally rocked. You can tell they use fresh ingredients. Again the flavors going on worked well together and were so good!

You gotta try their breakfast sandwiches too! They all have egg then pick a bagel, croissant, or panini. Then pick a meat: sausage, bacon or ham and then pick a cheese: swiss, provolone, pepp jack, or cheddar. So fresh, warm and yummy.

Only down side is it gets busy some days during lunch and the line is slow moving. But that's partly because the staff is friendly and chatty with every guest then they take their time to cook to order every sandwich. It's all worth the occasional wait.

There is an 808 Bistro too, didn't go there but it's more restaurant style with a different menu, but it's BYOB which is nice. And you can take your 808 Deli food down the hall and use their outdoor tables.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kjlevitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 808 Deli also viewed

 

Been to 808 Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing