We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location, "dog friendly", gourmet type breakfast, paper thin walls”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
What a Wonderful World Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 16 Kihei B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 11, 2009

We booked our room the "Master Suite" almost 3 months in advance. Upon our arrival we were told that our room had been given to personal friends of Eva, the owner. She allowed us to choose between two other rooms at no additional cost. I was taken back somewhat because I had done my research and specifically wanted the "Master Suite" due to it's privacy, larger bed, romantic shower, and overall attractiveness. With this being my husband's first time to Hawaii I did not want to cause a scene and demand the room that we originally booked. I was determined to enjoy ourselves and not make a big fuss over rooms. Looking back, I should have said something instead of harbouring disappointing feelings. On a good note, the coffee and breakfast were 1st rate, when Eva was there. The house is very charming. If you like dogs this is the place for you. Be careful though not to step in dog poop or urine on your way out to breakfast; watch where you step! The dogs are allowed free reign of the premises. At the time, Eva was also dog sitting for a friend. We ended up staying in the "Patio Suite". The walls are paper thin, so one can hear everything going on at all times in neighboring rooms, upstairs as well as downstairs. This charming spacious room has a comfortable queen size bed in it. I had requested the "Master Suite" due to it having a King size bed in it to accomodate my husband, being 6ft 2in tall. All the amenties mentioned are provided. Although I didn't mind finding my way around the house, it would have been nice if the owner had given us a tour. The rooms are reasonably priced. The house is in a nice subdivision away from the night life. For some reason a couple of times we were unable to find parking and had to park on the street. Some of the guests had taken up two parking spaces. Would we stay here again? Only if we were unable to find other accomodations and was 100% guaranteed of the room we booked. Would we recommend this B&B to a friend? Going with friends or if you have children, this place is for you. If you are looking for a quiet, romantic setting, then you might want to look alittle more.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greytab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (417)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

350 - 356 of 417 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2009

There are two types of accommodations I really like: a great charming room with a view, with bathtub in a charming hotel; and a nice spacious room in a B&B that has all you need to cook your meals, be independent and interact with your hosts only if you want to. This place obviously falls into the latter category. Eva was a great host: nice, talkative, helpful, but never crossed the thin line between being the owner of a B&B and the owner of the house where the B&B is located. It's easy to find people who forget they are running a business in their homes and put up a bossy atitude towards the guests. This is definitely not the case here. I got a very spacious room for a very good price even for pricey Maui, and was very happy to have chosen this location: Kihei is conveniently located next to several beaches and the pier from where diving excursions leave. If you're into big chain hotels with lots of room service and "no, sir, thank you, sir, welcome, sir", then this is probably not for you. This is almost like staying at a friend's place, except you're paying for it.
Free wi-fi, scuba and beach gear and lots of guides are available.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frederico N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2008

My husband and I wanted a place to stay on our first night in Maui. This was a great B&B. Eva wasn't around when we arrived but she left us little notes stuck to the front door, side door and our room door which was like a treasure hunt to find our key! The room was lovely and clean and the bed was very comfortable. The decking outside the room was being replaced so we didn't sit outside as there were workman's tool around but we had a super stay and Eva made a lovely breakfast. We found her little dog hilarous as he snored very loudy for such a small thing! The B&B is in a very quiet area and is close to the beach and I would definately recommend it.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank TheYellowBrickRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2008

A few days before we were to leave for Maui I contacted Eva to confirm our reservation. She said we were on the books, and that she would see us when we arrived. I had asked her when we originally booked if we needed to send a deposit of any kind, and she said we didn't. So we took her at her word. The website seems to have changed since we were there and now a deposit is required.

Our flight was delayed and we were forced to spend the first night on Kauai, so I contacted Eva to let her know we would be one day later. She said that was no problem. She gave me a number to call for lodging on Kauai. When I got in touch with that person, she said I needed to contact Eva right away, that there was a problem with our reservation.

I called her immediately and was told that we were nowhere to be found on the reservation book. She said that she would find us a place to stay - that the people across the street would have space, and that we would still be able to come over for breakfast i the mornings.

When we arrived we were taken across the street to a lower floor apartment, which was very nice. It had a full kitchen, bedroom, living room, and full bath. Unfortunately, it had no key for the door. It seems the prior renter took it with them and nobody had a chance to get a new one made. We spent two nights there and finally got the key on the morning we were to leave. The hostesses were great, though, and their dog was fun.

When we got ready to leave we went to settle up with Eva and found our room rate for two nights to be more than we were to have paid at her location. Rather than cause a scene in the middle of breakfast we contacted her when we got home and asked that at least a portion of our money be returned. We never heard a word from her.

On her behalf, Eva makes one heck of a breakfast, and is a very charming hostess. The location is good unless you want to be on the beach, which is within walking distance. She's in a neighborhood, so it's very quiet. Would we stay with her again? No. Would we recommend the B&B to friends? Probably not unless they had their reservation confirmation in writing and were ready to be very flexible in case they really didn't have a room.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NWWildTurtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2008

Eva (and Jack) couldn't have been more helpful and welcoming! They are a great resource for local attractions and restaurants, and Eva can make arrangements for you. We truly felt like this was "home away from home" during our stay - VERY comfortable! Great breakfasts: plenty to choose from and always delicious! Appreciated having wifi and printing (for boarding passes), free laundry, beautiful garden with fountain, outdoor table/chairs and gas grill, beach towels, coolers, books, DVD's, and the keyless, private entrance. Great location: a nice walk to the beaches and Kihei restaurants/shops; easy drive to other attractions. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank travelduo51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2008

If you enjoy fantastic breakfasts and beautiful gardens this might be the right place for you, but don't be surprised when you arrive with your tired toddler at 3 PM and your room is not ready. You also shouldn't mind a strong mold odor in the bathroom and sticky floors throughout the "suite". And be prepared to share your room with ants, cockroaches, and mice. It might happen to you, too... On a positive note, Eva is a friendly hostess and free beach gear is available for guests.

Stayed: August 2008
1  Thank traveler793
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2008

If you are going to Maui you have to stay here. Seriously. This place was amazing!!! We arrived and my first thoughts were that the pictures totally did not do the place justice. It was beautiful! We stayed in the Garden Suite which had nice gardens outside the patio window and the bedroom window. Our suite had a separate bedroom, living room with a couch and chair which were both futons, bathroom and a kitchen! Our experience here was everything I had hoped for and more. We had a delicious breakfast daily, and Eva (hostess) also had for our use free: washer/dryer, boogie boards, snorkeling equipment, beach chairs, umbrellas, wifi, and more! Eating breakfast on the lanai with the beautiful views was great! We had a 3yo daughter and this property was a perfect fit for us.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank nanu57v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kihei
1.2 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,174 reviews
19.4 mi away
The Plantation Inn
The Plantation Inn
#1 of 11 in Lahaina
466 reviews
0.6 mi away
Days Inn Maui Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
Old Wailuku Inn at Ulupono
1.6 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
16.2 mi away
Ho'oilo House
Ho'oilo House
#2 of 11 in Lahaina
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to What a Wonderful World Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about What a Wonderful World Bed and Breakfast

Address: 2828 Umalu Pl, off Keonakai St., near Hwy. 31, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-8504
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Kihei
Price Range: $181 - $257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — What a Wonderful World Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and Breakfast recommended by Frommer's, Lonely Planet, Paradise Family guides and many more, complete with all the amenities, including snorkel gear and beach equipment, BBQ grill, large DVD collection, cable TV and free internet, free laundry facilities, phone, and off street parking. Our goal is to provide guests with a Maui Home where we help create lasting memories over provided accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your What a Wonderful World Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
What a Wonderful World Hotel Kihei
What a Wonderful World b&b
What a Wonderful World Bed And Breakfast Maui/Kihei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing