We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of What a Wonderful World Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
What a Wonderful World Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 16 Kihei B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mannheim, Baden-Württemberg, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

Everything was so easy (the arrival, the stay, getting information, the whole stay) and we enjoyed the time so much. Eva made us really feel at home and we loved to sit together with her and the other guests at the great breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roland K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    73
    12
    7
    5
See reviews for
38
261
24
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

When we planned our trip to Maui we were looking for a place that was in a good location, would be comfortable, and came at a good price. We looked at condos, hotels, and pretty much every option. What a Wonderful World was the best we found and turned out to be even better when we got there.

Eva is a wonderful host who really goes out of her way to make your stay pleasant. She sets out a great breakfast every morning with tropical fruit and sat with us, giving us great advice about what local sights to see and things to do. When the day looked like it was going to be chilly she offered my girlfriend her own wetsuit top. And when she found out that we would be flying out in the evening, she told us we could come back before our flight to use the shower and get our stuff. This basically gave us a full extra day on our vacation.

In sum, this is a place where the host really welcomes you into their home and makes your stay pleasurable. Totally recommended.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Guava suite and were very happy with it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FullOfAloha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

Our family truly enjoyed staying at this wonderful B&B! It went above and beyond my expectations! It was so nice to be out of the condo scene and yet be only a ten minute walk down the street to get to the beach. Breakfast was so delicious and yummy, especially the great coffee and fresh fruit! Ono-licious! Eva was such a gracious host and we will definitely be coming back soon!

Room Tip: Book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

I really don't know where to start.

When booking, Eva gave me whatever space she had left (suggestion: book early) and went out of her way to suggest a space in Hana for us to stay.

When we arrived, almost at 9PM, there were clear signs as to where we were staying (so we didn't have to call and disrupt her) and there were clear instructions on our bed as to where everything was.

The room was meticulous, I love the walk in shower. Breakfast was the best breakfast I had for the trip. Fresh fruit, good granola, your choice of milk, yoghurt, almond milk, and croissants, bagels etc. To top it off, you eat on a huge lanai with a view of the ocean.

She then gives a full tour of the space, offering free items to borrow for the beach.

Im a reasonably fit 31 year old guy. I dont need someone to carry my stuff Im borrowing for me. Heck, she did this too!

I will be recommending this place to anyone who visits Maui from Vancouver, which is about 25% of folks here..... :)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RowansEntourage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosemount, Minnesota
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

We had a comfortable room and a delicious breakfast of berries, pineapple, papaya, juice, cereal, toast, pastries, English muffin, etc on her deck. Eva was there and answered all of our questions. She suggested interesting places to eat, things to see and do. She even printed us directions. She is all that we like in a B and B hostess!!!!!!!!!! We felt like we were leaving a friend.

Room Tip: Mango room was the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maureen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

We stayed four nights at What a Wonderful World Bed and Breakfast and absolutely enjoyed it. Not only was our suite clean with everything you could possibly think of, our host exceeded our expectations by providing a sumptuous breakfast every morning and great tips for our adventure of the day. I was particularly impressed by the tiny details our host had thought about like having Q-tips, band-aids, neosporin, make-up removing sponges, shaving cream etc in the bathroom, as well as letting us make international calls from her landline coz anyone who has gone to Maui knows that cell-phone service can be very erratic. We were given guidance on how to manage our trip and get the most bang for our buck. She was our very own personal "trip advisor". We will definitely go back to her place and recommend this B&B if you want to have a great experience at Maui.

Room Tip: We stayed in the "Mango Suite" and it is like a whole apartment all to yourself. Definitel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anju L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

We stayed only two days between two other locations on the islands. Had we known how nice What a Wonderful World B&B was, we would have planned a longer stay. Eva is a very gracious host and helpful with suggestions of things to see and do in the area. Our room (Guava suite) had everything we needed and the setting is quite beautiful with mature tropical vegetation. The breakfast area on a covered balcony was especially nice. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kihei
1.2 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,066 reviews
2.4 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
1.4 mi away
Residence Inn Maui Wailea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
0.6 mi away
Days Inn Maui Oceanfront
2.3 mi away
Hotel Wailea
Hotel Wailea
#1 of 7 in Wailea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to What a Wonderful World Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about What a Wonderful World Bed and Breakfast

Property: What a Wonderful World Bed and Breakfast
Address: 2828 Umalu Pl, off Keonakai St., near Hwy. 31, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-8504
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — What a Wonderful World Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and Breakfast recommended by Frommer's, Lonely Planet, Paradise Family guides and many more, complete with all the amenities, including snorkel gear and beach equipment, BBQ grill, large DVD collection, cable TV and free internet, free laundry facilities, phone, and off street parking. Our goal is to provide guests with a Maui Home where we help create lasting memories over provided accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your What a Wonderful World Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
What a Wonderful World Hotel Kihei
What a Wonderful World b&b
What a Wonderful World Bed And Breakfast Maui/Kihei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing