We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (93)
Filter reviews
93 results
Traveler rating
68
24
0
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
68
24
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the kitchen ocean front within walking distance pots pans watched the sunset every evening great view of the ocean abc store condo complex turtles lanai snorkeling unit island maui beach cooler
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 93 reviews
Reviewed April 28, 2018

Stayed here for two weeks in April 2018. This condo complex is a real gem and right on the ocean with a small pocket beach. It is also close to several lovely beaches and great food trucks! The view from the lanai is breathtaking! We spent as much time as we could enjoying the view and the sunsets! This unit, #302, has been tastefully updated. It has one of the most comfortable king size beds we have slept on! The building is very well managed. They are currently updating the landscaping in front of the condo.

Room tip: Loved #302!
Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank barbielily2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2018

We stayed in unit #203, second floor. Great view of the ocean, particularly the sunset in the evening. Went to the Snorkle Store, rented gear, did a walk to the beach and got in with snorkle gear, and saw the tropical fish just in front of the condo on the reef. Only turtle was on the beach, sunning himself. Condo was clean but a little dated, but hey, we were on the beach overlook, view was awesome.

Room tip: get the rooms, second floor and up
Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
punahoabeach, Manager at Punahoa Beach Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2018

Aloha, Ron
Mahalo for staying with us at Punahoa Beach Condo. It was our pleasure having you as our valued guest. We look forward to your next stay and promise that your accommodation will be more updated to standard. Mahalo nui for your review.

Sincerely,
Zaldy Ugalino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2018

Punahoa is a nice place, small and intimate with only 15 units in the complex. It is an older building but has been very welll kept up with a steady group of owners over the years. Sunsets from here are divine, no question that you are in paradise when staying here. Much quieter than other condominim properties in Kihei and while no pool on site, a lovely quiet beach is steps away.

Date of stay: January 2018
Thank Travelsak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2017 via mobile

Stayed in 401 first two weeks of December. Whales breaching 1/2 mile away the first morning and multiple days after. Multiple turtles while snorkeling in back and next to Charle Young Beach. Loved the “The Cove” on the other side as well as the Punahoa Beach Cove directly behind. Those two are hidden jems. The unit is very well equipped with beach chairs, umbrella and binocs. We brought our own binocs and really used them for whale watching there and at Big Beach. Zaldy was great as well as Rolex the gardener/maintenance guy. Parking for this unit is covered, good for spray and when raining.

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank ranny2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
punahoabeach, Manager at Punahoa Beach Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2017

Aloha, George
Mahalo nui loa! It was great having you as our valued guest in our unit 401. I am looking forward welcoming you back to Punahoa Beach Condo. Happy Holidays!
Sincerely,
Zaldy Ugalino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2017

My husband and I recently stayed in unit 401 in early July for 10 days. The unit is within walking distance to Foodland, an ABC Store, and many restaurant options. We spent a majority of our time on our lanai enjoying the beautiful ocean views and people watching.

Prior to our arrival, we read a recent review regarding cockroaches in one of the units. We were hoping we would not have the same experience. However, on our second evening in the unit, we found a cockroach in the hallway. We did not alert the property manager as it was only one cockroach and we did not see any additional cockroaches during the remainder of our stay. We also understand that Maui is a tropical environment. We just hope that the property is being treated for cockroaches on a regular basis.

In addition, one afternoon while sitting on the lanai, we saw a mouse run along the wall of the building and into the gutter. Just like the cockroach situation above, we did not contact the property manager as it was only one mouse, it was outside, and we did not see another mouse for the remainder of our visit.

Parking is extremely tight, even with a compact car.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank piney35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews